wazua Thu, Jul 31, 2025

Price Controls in the Banking Sector?
the deal
#1 Posted : Monday, June 20, 2011 9:45:10 PM

josiah33
#2 Posted : Monday, June 20, 2011 10:21:51 PM

i just hope treasury reigns in the high interest rates on loans. i really am fed up with the banks boasting that they are able to post great returns because they have got cheap money(read customer deposits) which they pay zero interest rates for, money which, they in turn lend at very high interest rates. and they are not ashamed to say this when they announce their billion shillings profits.
#3 Posted : Tuesday, June 21, 2011 3:16:24 AM

VVS, you now got your wish. BOTH the oil and financial sectors will be regulated.
Seems 'The Economist' believes they both hold equal weight in terms of importance to the economy
Cde Monomotapa
#4 Posted : Tuesday, June 21, 2011 4:29:36 AM

In the event controls are set then we will hail banks with regional presence as we do KK over Total Ke.. !! youcan'tstopusnow !!
hisah
#5 Posted : Tuesday, June 21, 2011 9:55:25 AM

the deal wrote:

The twin global financial institutions have however more recently built new bridges with Kenya and kept their cool late last year when the country passed a law to regulate petroleum prices.

Early this year, the IMF gave Kenya a sweet surprise when it announced a $509 million aid programme only weeks after the law regulating petroleum prices came into force.

What does that tell you about fuel prices? Learn to read the news...

$15/barrel oil... The commodities lehman moment arrives as well as Sovereign debt volcano!
#6 Posted : Tuesday, June 21, 2011 7:16:07 PM

Hee hee... I might as well sell ALL my Financials then load up on KK!!! I would not mind 'price controls' on Lending Rates since other sectors are being 'controlled' too!
#7 Posted : Tuesday, June 21, 2011 7:34:56 PM

Hee hee... I might as well sell ALL my Financials then load up on KK!!! I would not mind 'price controls' on Lending Rates since other sectors are being 'controlled' too!

Price controls on banks rates??? I'll go skiing and ice skating in hell before that can ever come close to happening..
#8 Posted : Tuesday, June 21, 2011 8:01:52 PM

Cde Monomotapa wrote:
In the event controls are set then we will hail banks with regional presence as we do KK over Total Ke.. !! youcan'tstopusnow !!

...and just like KK is pissing on the price controls, I see a couple of banks doing the same and reporting what Impunity likes to call STELLAR results.
Cheaper credit will men more people taking up loans. The sheer volumes will be a boost to the banks.
Lakini I hope haitakuwa as cheap kama ile ya America where the 'average' household has 13 credit cards!!!
#9 Posted : Tuesday, June 21, 2011 8:14:39 PM

@YCSUN,Wacha siasa wewe,STELLAR results speak for themselves...LMAO.

Cde Monomotapa
#10 Posted : Tuesday, June 21, 2011 8:39:22 PM

youcan'tstopusnow wrote:
Cde Monomotapa wrote:

...and just like KK is pissing on the price controls, I see a couple of banks doing the same and reporting what Impunity likes to call STELLAR results.
Cheaper credit will men more people taking up loans. The sheer volumes will be a boost to the banks.
Lakini I hope haitakuwa as cheap kama ile ya America where the 'average' household has 13 credit cards!!!

Eish! 13 cards is too much. Hapana taka. Infact Obaks has vested interests..anataka tukope toka Deacons Laughing out loudly
#11 Posted : Tuesday, June 21, 2011 11:49:07 PM

A Lifetime of Debt: The
Average American's
Financial Journey
http://visualeconomics.c...cans-financial-journey/
This one mentions an average of 5 or more credit cards and a total of 13 credit card obligations

Subprime mortgage crisis
http://en.wikipedia.org/...ubprime_mortgage_crisis This says that during 2008,
the typical USA household
owned 13 credit cards
jasonhill
#12 Posted : Wednesday, June 22, 2011 3:55:40 AM

youcan'tstopusnow wrote:
Average American's
Financial Journey
This one mentions an average of 5 or more credit cards and a total of 13 credit card obligations

Subprime mortgage crisis
owned 13 credit cards

It won't be long before debtor's prison is brought back to the US.

http://www.nakedcapitali...ult-pushback-watch.html

Best,

Hill
Cde Monomotapa
#13 Posted : Wednesday, June 22, 2011 5:13:08 AM

youcan'tstopusnow wrote:
Average American's
Financial Journey

Subprime mortgage crisis
owned 13 credit cards

Aicaramba!!
mufasa
#14 Posted : Wednesday, June 22, 2011 7:58:18 AM

Price controls are Necessary. Our revenues are declining due to low rainfall, while spending, on stuff such as MPs salaries is on the increase, not to mention a bloated cabinet. Can't see a better way to economic ruin. Vision 2030 seems so distant.
Do it today! Tomorrow is promise to no-one.