wazua Mon, Sep 22, 2025

ratios
mzee mzima1
#1 Posted : Saturday, June 18, 2011 5:19:32 PM

hello wazuans i was requesting for ur due indulgence on the current stock splits on the nse we have had 1.scangroup 1:5 2. dtb 1:5 and now centum 1:10 does it mean one share for every 5 held(for scan group) or 10 shares for every one held(for the centum split) clarification on this issue will be exponential as a guide for stock analysis
#2 Posted : Sunday, June 19, 2011 8:54:24 PM

1:10 means 1 share for every ten held
And I believe they were bonuses as opposed to splits. Big difference brother
lovely2010
#3 Posted : Sunday, June 19, 2011 9:12:52 PM

youcan'tstopusnow wrote:

Mwambie...split ni kugawa, bonus ni kupewa...
#4 Posted : Sunday, June 19, 2011 10:02:54 PM

lovely2010 wrote:
youcan'tstopusnow wrote:

Mwambie...split ni kugawa, bonus ni kupewa...

Split ndio hii. Chungwa bado ni nzima
bird_man
#5 Posted : Sunday, June 19, 2011 10:20:53 PM

Youcantstop.....that's a killer!Haha!You would make a great primary/secondary school teacher!
My question....on splits,take an example of CIC shares which are traded OTC.They currently sell at between 80-100sh.If a split of 20:1 was done,would new price be 4sh,4.5sh or 5sh?What or who determines?
Formally employed people often live their employers' dream & forget about their own.
#6 Posted : Sunday, June 19, 2011 10:27:29 PM

bird_man wrote:
Youcantstop.....that's a killer!Haha!You would make a great primary/secondary school teacher!
My question....on splits,take an example of CIC shares which are traded OTC.They currently sell at between 80-100sh.If a split of 20:1 was done,would new price be 4sh,4.5sh or 5sh?What or who determines?

The board determines the share split ratio and the market/manipulators determine the share price
bird_man
#7 Posted : Sunday, June 19, 2011 10:59:59 PM

Thanks @Guru.The BOD has already proposed 20:1...I wish I knew how the market/manipulators would price it.I wouldn't want to buy at 80sh for it to be valued at say 3sh ex-split.
Formally employed people often live their employers' dream & forget about their own.
#8 Posted : Monday, June 20, 2011 12:00:04 AM

birdman, hehe. Thanks. It good to put things in a nice and clear way for easy understanding.
CIC likely to rise in the run up to the final days share will be trading cum split just like many before it, as people anticipate more demand post split due to the share becoming 'more afffordable' After a short while, share will stabilise. It will though be difficult for you to benefit from this phenomenon as CIC is not listed thus very difficult for you to find a buyer for a quick exit
#9 Posted : Monday, June 20, 2011 12:23:41 AM

bird_man wrote:
Thanks @Guru.The BOD has already proposed 20:1...I wish I knew how the market/manipulators would price it.I wouldn't want to buy at 80sh for it to be valued at say 3sh ex-split.

If it is cum split den pay 80bob if its ex split then buy @ 4bob..
It is paramount that you know the books closure date.
Aguytrying
#10 Posted : Monday, June 20, 2011 8:22:16 AM

@birdman. Splits are predictable and opportunities to make money. First the share will rally on the run up to the book closure, it is a good time to sell. Then immediately after the split the share will trade at an even higher price than the rally before the split. Another good time to sell, though less predictable and smaller window. After this the share will plumet and gradually rise to pre-split price, may take long. May be catalysed by ipo. Your welcome
The investor's chief problem - and even his worst enemy - is likely to be himself
bird_man
#11 Posted : Monday, June 20, 2011 9:45:32 AM

Much appreciated Youcant,Guru & Aguy....