7 Pages«<23456>»
USD at 90.00
kizee1
#61 Posted : Friday, June 17, 2011 4:17:50 PM

kizee1 wrote:
Tanzanian Shilling also not doing too well against the dollar. Has slid from 1200ish to 1500ish.

yes 1583*1593...if u wanna raid a ccy this is the one! 2pct onite rates, its now the fundin ccy for the african carry trade

All good in theory but when you go trading, see what BOT does to your position...you'll get a call to offload before closing!

Or else....Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you

BOT BOT BOT...kwani ur trading in TZ? if ur onshore ni shida ndio lakini if ur not...fire away
#62 Posted : Friday, June 17, 2011 5:01:59 PM

I'll be flooding the australian dollar to get gold exposure and mitigate against the coming storm..
PINCHEZN
#63 Posted : Friday, June 17, 2011 5:08:40 PM

I agree that one shd put sum money in the agriclturals e.g coffee,tea,flowers which stand 2 benefit 4rm the weak dollar.
#64 Posted : Friday, June 17, 2011 5:29:36 PM

PINCHEZN wrote:
I agree that one shd put sum money in the agriclturals e.g coffee,tea,flowers which stand 2 benefit 4rm the weak dollar.

I think you man weak shilling not dollar
Sufficiently Philanga....thropic
#65 Posted : Friday, June 17, 2011 5:50:10 PM

Currency depreciation is one of the many conditions to be fulfilled before the Bretton Wood institutions can release cash money. Thus far, they are one happy lot. And interest rates will baloon further, another condition! Remembe r the SAPS of the early 90's!
Only wish we had a liquid bond market. There's money to be made here!
@SufficientlyP
#66 Posted : Friday, June 17, 2011 6:11:04 PM

guru267 wrote:
PINCHEZN wrote:

I think you man weak shilling not dollar

Applause Applause
@guru expect that from young and upcoming investors, the business language is different you know.

Wa_ithaka
#67 Posted : Monday, June 20, 2011 2:47:30 PM

Staying stubbornly over 90
I reckon things will change once “Uhuru the muratina imbiber” realises this thing must cost him the erections
The Governor of Nyeri - 2017
kizee1
#68 Posted : Monday, June 20, 2011 2:54:08 PM

so

market has frozen again after Ndungu states that if he intervenes it will worsen matters...last time the market froze was during PEV, this thing is deteriorating fast, 91.00 has just been paid(bought) meaning market is now above 91...liquidity is thin meaning importers cant get sufficient supply at these levels...vision 2030??
Cde Monomotapa
#69 Posted : Monday, June 20, 2011 3:05:25 PM

In other news..oil is on the way down. Brent @110, Nymex @93
jerry
#70 Posted : Monday, June 20, 2011 3:12:32 PM

Wa_ithaka wrote:
Staying stubbornly over 90
I reckon things will change once “Uhuru the muratina imbiber” realises this thing must cost him the erections

@Wa_ithaka. I wonder what's worth the erections! Wewe kweli unatoka central.
The opposite of courage is not cowardice, it's conformity.
#71 Posted : Monday, June 20, 2011 3:14:43 PM

90's? Applause Hoping it falls to 80's d'oh! very fast! Otherwise, some people might get 2012 election slogans!!!!! Liar ?

Cde Monomotapa
#72 Posted : Monday, June 20, 2011 3:23:54 PM

Cde Monomotapa wrote:
In other news..oil is on the way down. Brent @110, Nymex @93

Now for KK to prove its salt with the August load!
#73 Posted : Monday, June 20, 2011 5:29:36 PM

Dollar 91 and we are just about to import maize to bring down the price of unga from kshs 150Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you

This is a real joke .Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you

Wakenya will we(I) survive ?

An intervention by CBK is a MUST NOW
2012 is here.Kenya is Ours.Be Part of The Peace Keeping Mission To Protect Our Motherland.Say No To Violence and Tribal Hatred .If you can read this,wewe ni mtu amesoma, usifikirie kama mtu hajaenda shule .Ni Hayo Tu
tonicasert
#74 Posted : Tuesday, June 21, 2011 12:28:27 PM

Isn't it interesting the Kibaki is calling for banks to reduce lending rates, while Central Bank on the other side is tightening cash that banks are holding (Repo mop-up, CBR Rate hikes & CRR hikes) in the name of managing the currency situation!
Genghis Khan
#75 Posted : Friday, June 24, 2011 10:16:17 AM

http://www.businessdaily.../-/3tm9f2z/-/index.html
Mr Razia Khan, the head of Africa Research at Standard Chartered Plc, said during a visit to Nairobi that CBK needed to raise the CBR which is now at 6.25 per cent, about a third lower than the 91-day Treasury Bill of 9.02 per cent.

Off topic abit but this merits attention... again I say CBK are clowning around... any bank can "borrow" from cbk to invest in T-Bill... its free money. Do these guys really know what they are doing??
"I'd rather be lucky than clever... every time!" - ME
"The problem is not what we don't know... it's what we know for sure that just ain't!" - MARK TWAIN
"Space we can recover... time never!" - NAPOLEON BONAPARTE
RVP
#76 Posted : Friday, June 24, 2011 11:50:12 AM

Interesting how the USD has been pounded 30% over 52 weeks by the CHF even as the KES has been losing.

http://www.xe.com/curren...F&to=USD&view=1Y
the deal
#77 Posted : Friday, June 24, 2011 12:07:03 PM

I listened to him for a few minutes and then got bored...chap is full of talk no action...i have no confidence at all in him.
#78 Posted : Friday, June 24, 2011 12:11:26 PM

CBK is lost....this problem is so easy to solve, just jack CBR to 10% and watch all those dollar longs get shaken out!

Easy peasy...
SokoAnalyst
#79 Posted : Friday, June 24, 2011 12:24:42 PM

this forex issue is purely political. the arbitrage issue is for 2012 so no action will be taken against the bank. this is easier than printing money which will increase liquidity and permanently devalue.
Your Raw Analyst on Finance and Investment.
#80 Posted : Sunday, June 26, 2011 10:25:03 AM

When i posted this link two weeks ago an exchange rate of 90 against the USD sounded like a great milestone, but now as it stands and trading is the 90s both buying and selling am meant to believe that even a century is doable. I will chech out the rate after a fortnite and i am hoping CBK will not do anything.