wazua Sun, Sep 21, 2025

3 Pages<123
Analysis of Safaricom FY 2011 results
#41 Posted : Monday, May 23, 2011 9:52:15 AM

Revenue growth for this company will mostly Rely on how the management locks in its customers its obvious even Bharti Airtel in its home country cannot boast of the market share that of safaricom has in control of here.

The question we should be asking ourself is ,can the company grow its other revenue streams to compensate for loss in voice revenues.

safaricom now is at a transition remember its previous growth has been primary voice dependent,but as we speak, unless something unexpectedly happens, voice has become a commodity that can not fetch any premium so the only way to make money in telecommunication is through leveraging on data,value added services and ICT solutions.

Safaricom R&D is quite powerful and cannot be underestimated so I am giving it the next 3 years for it to make a complete turnaround in terms of revenue streams.

#42 Posted : Monday, May 23, 2011 10:24:04 AM

drake wrote:
Elaine wrote:
@drake...i will give it a try.

Revenue recognition only takes place after u top up and use your airtime to call.only the amount charged becomes revenue.The rest remains as a liability as a future event...i.e calling has to occur before they recognise it.

Bonga points.
This is a liability to safcom as they have to carry its value until the customer uses it up.though for further clarification on how to account for this...look for IFRIC 13

Mpesa.
The amount held in the line as a balance is not for safcom.All that safcom cares for is the transactions that go through and the charges to client which they also use to pay the agents...fees and commission.

my understanding

1. Right, so that means is there is a mis-match between Revenue and associated Cash-flows, yes? As an analyst, how would you adjust for that... or is the effect "non-significant/immaterial"

2. As far as the liability/ unearned revenue for Bonga points, could this be used to "park" revenues and smooth results in later stages by changing the value of a bonga point? Indeed, is a claw-back of the same allowed under IFRIC? (I haven't time to go through it)

3. Safaricom is playing a major role in Kenya's shadow banking system w/some individuals using M-Pesa as a bank account. What are the chances the firm could enter the money-markets and earn interest on these funds?

ta

Very good thinking... @drake. Trying to keep up:
1. I think that's why airtime expirty/validity ensures if you don't use your credit they claim it after x days

2. Since in all reality the bonga points would chew some of the proceeds of initial sale as per @Elaine, revaluing them and showing gain in P&L is just taking the money home anyway

3. Now now now, if I got you right, your suggestion opens endless posibilities on how Safaricom can avoid 'donating' all their interest on MPesa to CBA/KCB/Equity banks. MPesa - Bank - MPesa - Bank !!#?

#43 Posted : Tuesday, May 24, 2011 3:18:30 PM

I was looking at Aly khan satchu analysis [CHECK IT HERE]of safaricom result and I couldn't help notice a tinge of sycophancy in the analysis.

As a respectable voice in the investment industry I would have expected a more critical analysis from him.I am a die hard safaricom customer and investor but I think this should not cloud my judgement when it comes to analysing result of this company.

For instance safaricom has lost a considerable chunk of its market share and given that Voice still control about 66% of its revenues,Mpesa revenues only grew by 26% if things continue as they are I dont think Data will shore up safaricoms lost voice revenues.

Mpesa solution which is billed as safaricom moat will be under immense pressure from agency banking esp.from Equity Bank which has rolled out its agency banking infrastructure which in a few month will be a force to reckon with.

Fibre optic has many players which will use every trick in the book to preserve their market share AK,KDN,Wananchi,simba telecom and Telkom kenya will not sit back and watch prepare for a bruising battle for data revenues.
hisah
#44 Posted : Tuesday, May 24, 2011 4:24:58 PM

@Selah - Alykhan is always biased when it comes to safcom analysis. This is a trait which is exhibited by most 'analysts' that are shareholders of the firm they're analyzing...

This is why I've always advocated for investors and traders to do their own analysis and stop being lazy by relying on biased analysis by the so called 'analysts'.
$15/barrel oil... The commodities lehman moment arrives as well as Sovereign debt volcano!
#45 Posted : Tuesday, May 24, 2011 4:57:00 PM

Actually AlyKhan Satchu is biased as relates to Safaricom, KCB, and agriculturals.

In my opinion, attachment from the first two may stem from prior/existing commercial relationships. Agriculturals are his chosen purvey where he appears in the top 10 shareholders in WTK, SASN, REA - Farmers will drive Ferraris

#46 Posted : Tuesday, May 24, 2011 7:00:32 PM

Like Members of Equity & KenolKobil...!
The Merchant
#47 Posted : Tuesday, May 24, 2011 8:15:10 PM

muganda wrote:
Actually AlyKhan Satchu is biased as relates to Safaricom, KCB, and agriculturals.

In my opinion, attachment from the first two may stem from prior/existing commercial relationships. Agriculturals are his chosen purvey where he appears in the top 10 shareholders in WTK, SASN, REA - Farmers will drive Ferraris

He has a point though. His valuation vs situation on the ground shows upside potential and I think he has a point. With P/Es below 5 for agricultural firms, how can we claim that we are an agricultural country. Now food produce sources are dwindling by the day and so are tea sources. The land they occupy would rather be used for real estate. This means that when the pinch starts to be felt those agricultural firms will be the new oil firms. Then farmers will really drive ferraris .

Disclaimer: I own agricultural stock, KAKUZI & WTK Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
QW25071985
#48 Posted : Tuesday, May 24, 2011 8:19:53 PM

The Merchant wrote:
muganda wrote:

He has a point though. His valuation vs situation on the ground shows upside potential and I think he has a point. With P/Es below 5 for agricultural firms, how can we claim that we are an agricultural country. Now food produce sources are dwindling by the day and so are tea sources. The land they occupy would rather be used for real estate. This means that when the pinch starts to be felt those agricultural firms will be the new oil firms. Then farmers will really drive ferraris .

Disclaimer: I own agricultural stock, KAKUZI & WTK Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly

WOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOWWW . stop right there.the last person ( w/ all due respect)i want to break down for me safcom and sasin performance is AlyKhan Satchu.... lol.its very true he's very very very biased on safcom and agriculturals.i know he has some safcom and some agricultural in his portfolio so the last thing you'll expect him to do is beat down his own stock..
#49 Posted : Tuesday, May 24, 2011 9:54:08 PM

Merali is a farmer. He drives a Ferrari. What do you know... Satchu was on point!
#50 Posted : Thursday, June 16, 2011 1:33:55 PM

16th JUNE 2011 11:11AM, SAFARICOM SHARES. Bid Quantity 2,542,800; Ask Quantity 11,291,900; Trade Quantity 1,120,400.

This means safcom might be trading at 3.95 today, but, in 2weeks time, it will be at 4.50+. BUY!!!!!!!!!!!!

The Merchant
#51 Posted : Thursday, June 16, 2011 2:53:37 PM

16th JUNE 2011 11:11AM, SAFARICOM SHARES. Bid Quantity 2,542,800; Ask Quantity 11,291,900; Trade Quantity 1,120,400.

This means safcom might be trading at 3.95 today, but, in 2weeks time, it will be at 4.50+. BUY!!!!!!!!!!!!

Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you
#52 Posted : Thursday, June 16, 2011 3:01:22 PM

I think there's a certain amount an investors will be willing to buy SCOM. 4.50/- is too much, you'll probably see that level maybe in Nov when book closure nears but for now I see no reason for someone to tie in their money here while there's better quality fish in this ocean.

Genghis Khan
#53 Posted : Thursday, June 16, 2011 4:08:15 PM

@drake - I spoke to a very senior chap at Safaricom. It cannot 'earn' interest from M-Pesa cash as Safaricom... [Well, directly anyway!]

I am told by a friend who is safcom staff that the MPesa float is exclusively at CBA (who can obviously lend at 14%plus).

In return Safcom have a deal where CBA lends to Safcom staff at the low single digit %rates... I hear even better rates than CBA staff.

Also they get working capital CHEAP just so CBA can hold the MPesa!

Anyone with info to corroborate / dispute this SMART-WORKAROUND?
"I'd rather be lucky than clever... every time!" - ME
"The problem is not what we don't know... it's what we know for sure that just ain't!" - MARK TWAIN
"Space we can recover... time never!" - NAPOLEON BONAPARTE
#54 Posted : Thursday, June 16, 2011 4:17:38 PM

Am also told that safcon intend to persuade its staff to buy (increase) their shares. Maybe the CBA thing is true. Why should a commercial bank lend at single digits percentage in KENYA!