wazua Fri, Jan 10, 2025

7 Pages<1234>»
USD at 90.00
emmndi
#21 Posted : Tuesday, June 14, 2011 9:56:48 AM

With all honesty, the authorities need to check the situation. otherwise once we hit 90, things will be very difficult for a vast majority.
#22 Posted : Tuesday, June 14, 2011 10:01:43 AM

FUNKY wrote:
I wonder how fuel prices are going to come down????

One more reason why UK is the man to beat up before 2012.smile

was thinking the same .

My preferred Unga brand is now Kshs 146 from 86 in April.
Petrol is Kshs 115.
Arent we( I) finished ?
2012 is here.Kenya is Ours.Be Part of The Peace Keeping Mission To Protect Our Motherland.Say No To Violence and Tribal Hatred .If you can read this,wewe ni mtu amesoma, usifikirie kama mtu hajaenda shule .Ni Hayo Tu
Mainat
#23 Posted : Tuesday, June 14, 2011 10:25:14 AM

Is there some kind of offshoring of Kibaki-made wealth going on? I can't believe that the rise is all related to CBK buying fx or oil buying.

It does trash Kibaki's economic record especially given concurrent action on the inflation front.

I'd go as far as to say that its time to consider capital controls. This might not favor those who are offshoring.

Great boon for Kenyans in the diaspora though. And our exporters.
Sehemu ndio nyumba
hisah
#24 Posted : Wednesday, June 15, 2011 8:17:15 AM

erifloss wrote:
Some personal interest is being fulfilled here. In most countries the dollar is weakening and the dollar demand around does not support this dramatic increase.

I agree that someone told us they're baking cakes only to tell us its the african one - ugali...! Imagine buying ugali for the price of a cake and it's a pay first hotel.

The dollar has misperformed since Nov 2010 QE2 and lost against many currencies. How the KES underperforms it is a mystery... Are we in a MENA crisis or experienced an ivory coast or the default threats of eurozone? Nini hii... CBK can't explain itself, why are they in office? And someone presents a 1T budget. Absurd or steely balls... But bankers are a happy lot...!

It'll take one nutty guy to show his/her hopelessness and it snaps... Food riots being the worst case!
$15/barrel oil... The commodities lehman moment arrives as well as Sovereign debt volcano!
#25 Posted : Wednesday, June 15, 2011 11:35:20 AM

I agree with @jungs, that we need to fix this UK fellow.

We were doing very well without IMF then the fellow rushed for loan huko now they are calling the shots eti we must increase our bank lending rates, we must increase our FX reserves to cater for 4 months FX needs etc..... The Good prof has had to get into the market to buy the green back to shove up his strongroom knowing very well there is not suffeceint greenbacks! Then he chungulias from his office window and says ' CBK will not interfere with the market' He must shield the useless decisions his boss made! Me Say UK, Treasury and the MPC should be investigated for such a useless move. What they have created is a volatile shilling that has brought about panic buying of the USD. Meanwhile, his Bank, increased its base landing rate yesterday in line with IMF demands.... Oh, I forgot, the fellow reads a budget that has so huge a deficit that can only lead to increased borrowing! We all know how it ends..... Me and you being pushed bcak into loan defaults just that now there is the CRB and once you make a mark there, you will be dealing with shylocks for 7 years......SK! ( Shenzi Kabisa)

ANd he as the guts to ask me for a vote..... Hana aibu!
#26 Posted : Wednesday, June 15, 2011 2:57:52 PM

Wazuans, you all got it wrong. It is a typing error, after all. The nine was supposed to be a six, (just invert the 9 upside down and you will get a 6).

Your's Sincerely,

Ohuru Moi-Ngai Kina-Taa.

#27 Posted : Wednesday, June 15, 2011 3:57:26 PM

#28 Posted : Wednesday, June 15, 2011 4:55:35 PM

My 2 cents:

1. We have left important economic institutions in the wrong hands or under capacitated, look at the NOC it is given a 30% import allocation so as to counter balance multinational marketers greed but has only 7% market share and no funds for expansion in the market front.

2. The maize millers are making a killing, they have perfected the art of hoarding. The the NCPB offers "farmers" storage space for "free" (5/= per bag) for safe hoarding. The moment the weatherman announces poor outlook immediately the millers announce a shortage of grain.So even before the announcement for reduction of duty for maize importation is finalized, forex traders hoard the green buck.

Me thinks therefore that the management of these key dockets energy and grain should be seen as security related and be more closely monitored to manage sabotage and/or mismanagement for selfish gain. Add the IMF advisory to the above and we find ourselves in the current position.
KenyanLyrics
#29 Posted : Wednesday, June 15, 2011 10:02:25 PM

Most financial analysts point to MENA, but I think that's not entirely true. Some intense CBK manufacturing going on in the background if you ask me...
Genghis Khan
#30 Posted : Thursday, June 16, 2011 8:37:07 AM

CBK Governor Prof. Njuguna Ndung’u wrote:
We will consider re-opening the 30-year bond some time to come in order to forestall any further fall in the savings rate.

REALLY...

Our professor is implying that Kenyans are not saving adequately because we have inadequate investment vehicles???? How would I buy a 30yr bond if I have a problem saving?

CLOWNS in the circus we call government!
"I'd rather be lucky than clever... every time!" - ME
"The problem is not what we don't know... it's what we know for sure that just ain't!" - MARK TWAIN
"Space we can recover... time never!" - NAPOLEON BONAPARTE
Genghis Khan
#31 Posted : Thursday, June 16, 2011 9:05:11 AM

Genghis Khan wrote:

We will consider re-opening the 30-year bond some time to come in order to forestall any further fall in the savings rate.

REALLY...

Our professor is implying that Kenyans are not saving adequately because we have inadequate investment vehicles???? How would I buy a 30yr bond if I have a problem saving?

CLOWNS in the circus we call government!

And in the same breadth he also says
This means that whereas income has been rising in tandem with overall economic growth, the disposable part saved has been slowing down.
"The problem is not what we don't know... it's what we know for sure that just ain't!" - MARK TWAIN
tonicasert
#32 Posted : Thursday, June 16, 2011 9:27:02 AM

CBK is sleeping on the job. By saying that they will not participate in the market gives speculators some comfort to sell the Shilling. They should otherwise give some vague but cautious statement as other CB in the world due.
2 Miles
#33 Posted : Thursday, June 16, 2011 9:45:05 AM

I seriously think someone is not doin his/her job correctly.

The importation of wheat and maize has led to high demand for dollars,thus weakening the shilling.
Plus many other reasons.

But the technocrats in treasury and CBK know the effect of a weak shilling on the poor( of which Kenya's majority are.) They know the effect of such policies on the economy.

But their response is wanting. There is no urgency in tackling this sad reality. The shilling has been weakening day by day, but we are yet to see any serious interevention that is going to cushion the common mwananchi.

kizee1
#34 Posted : Thursday, June 16, 2011 10:55:49 AM

why cant CBK sell reserves? they tried to tighten liquidity and that didnt work, so it means its a demand supply mismatch? USD 4bn in reserves and they still dont think thats enough!
RVP
#35 Posted : Thursday, June 16, 2011 2:02:07 PM

We have crossed the Rubicon. Already past 90.50

http://www.xe.com/curren...&to=KES&view=1D

FUNKY
#36 Posted : Thursday, June 16, 2011 2:06:25 PM

Someone is not being realistic now....i cant believe the dollar has crossed above 90/-...and still if the so called Kenyan government and CBK does not intervene the wanainchi are really going to see bad days ahead.
RVP
#37 Posted : Thursday, June 16, 2011 2:09:17 PM

Long term not good. But service exporters are making a killing. Goods exporters too though tempered by the cost of fuel and freight.

FUNKY wrote:
Someone is not being realistic now....i cant believe the dollar has crossed above 90/-...and still if the so called Kenyan government and CBK does not intervene the wanainchi are really going to see bad days ahead.

kizee1
#38 Posted : Thursday, June 16, 2011 2:19:52 PM

RVP wrote:
We have crossed the Rubicon. Already past 90.50

http://www.xe.com/curren...&to=KES&view=1D

liquidity has disappeared and market has ground to a halt, last time this happended was during PEV era, CBK will do nothing as usual...
FUNKY
#39 Posted : Thursday, June 16, 2011 2:21:06 PM

The best option available right now is to PEG the Kenya shilling to the dollar.
Genghis Khan
#40 Posted : Thursday, June 16, 2011 2:22:03 PM

kizee1 wrote:
why cant CBK sell reserves? they tried to tighten liquidity and that didnt work, so it means its a demand supply mismatch? USD 4bn in reserves and they still dont think thats enough!

I imagine its a cushion to weather out 2012 elections...