wazua Thu, Feb 6, 2025

Mumias Healthy Sugar. Is this a joke?
#21 Posted : Tuesday, June 14, 2011 1:32:12 PM

tassia wrote:

Hi Mukiha, if you love your family, encourage them to do away with this thing, whatever the fortification.

Please consider these links

http://www.naturalnews.com/022692.html

http://www.healingdaily....fication-diet/sugar.htm

http://www.rheumatic.org/sugar.htm

http://articles.mercola....4/20/sugar-dangers.aspx

this is from one of the links you have provided: "The average American consumes an astounding 2-3 pounds of sugar each week, which is not surprising considering that highly refined sugars in the forms of sucrose (table sugar), dextrose (corn sugar), and high-fructose corn syrup are being processed into so many foods such as bread, breakfast cereal, mayonnaise, peanut butter, ketchup, spaghetti sauce, and a plethora of microwave meals."

Now anyone who consumes 1.5kg of sugar per week must be very unhealthy!
And if you want proof; look at the size of the average American....

#22 Posted : Tuesday, June 14, 2011 1:34:53 PM

Having said all that; I must emphasise that we need to CHECK the quantity of sugar that we take... TOO MUCH of it will harm us
#23 Posted : Tuesday, June 14, 2011 1:47:46 PM

Ondiek wrote:
Nairobi Water and S (censored) Company should also fortify their water and it better not be fortified with chalk dust.

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
tassia
#24 Posted : Tuesday, June 14, 2011 2:11:12 PM

mukiha wrote:
Having said all that; I must emphasise that we need to CHECK the quantity of sugar that we take... TOO MUCH of it will harm us

Hahahaaa. Okay. You have a point. now I have stopped bashing this fortification thing. Thanks
#25 Posted : Wednesday, June 15, 2011 9:30:33 AM

http://www.businessdaily...16/-/afwxvd/-/index.html
#26 Posted : Wednesday, June 15, 2011 11:34:47 AM

famooz wrote:
It is Ok to fortify food, but i think the choice here is not good. Why not fortify jogoo,unga ya chapati,unga ya uji or even cereals??To me it feels like promoting a good thing with the wrong link........

A while a ago there was a proposal to fortify jogoo with folic acid to prevent neural tubal defects in newborns......i am not sure how this went but this is a better choice that fortifying sugar....my 2 cents.

If the idea is to reach the populace as @Guka has said above then I don`t see those working well. Majority of Kenyans in the rural area mill their own maize and uji flour and chapati is a luxury. Sugar is used more by Kenyans than those.
#27 Posted : Wednesday, June 15, 2011 11:56:40 AM

Sources of vitamin a: liver, cod liver oil, carrot, broccoli, sweet potato, kale, spinach, pumpkin,egg, papaya, mango, pea, milk, lemons etc. Generally dark green and yellow vegetables and yellow fruits.

I think the unilever knorr beef cubes sukuma wiki campaign was more healthier and less of a capitalistic consumerism than this one. It is the one to be encouraged and supported, not this one of mumias.

'making it easier for those unable to get vitamin a' is a weak excuse. Why would or should anyone buy sugar to get vitamin A when one can get it direct from its source more easily? Isnt it, @ Dash?

This sugar approach does not make sense. Save your shillings instead.

#28 Posted : Wednesday, June 15, 2011 12:12:16 PM

YesuWangu wrote:
Sources of vitamin a: liver, cod liver oil, carrot, broccoli, sweet potato, kale, spinach, pumpkin,egg, papaya, mango, pea, milk, lemons etc. Generally dark green and yellow vegetables and yellow fruits.

I think the unilever knorr beef cubes sukuma wiki campaign was more healthier and less of a capitalistic consumerism than this one. It is the one to be encouraged and supported, not this one of mumias.

'making it easier for those unable to get vitamin a' is a weak excuse. Why would or should anyone buy sugar to get vitamin A when one can get it direct from its source more easily? Isnt it, @ Dash?

...and majority of the target take sugar packed in those transparent paper bags!!!
Dash
#29 Posted : Wednesday, June 15, 2011 12:13:05 PM

The majority of slum dwellers feed on sukuma/ugali, githeri, and tea with bread/mandazi. @yesu wangu all the foods you mentioned are not even present in many non slum dwelling households. But what you almost never miss is sugar for tea. I will look for the study done by un/kemri to state exact figures of nutrition status in kenyan households then maybe you can appreciate the importance of this.
There are numerous studies that have been conducted which some I have been involved in, and you will not take my word for it but this is a major step in preventing these deficiencies.
#30 Posted : Wednesday, June 15, 2011 12:28:29 PM

Oh, come on bwana Dash!

Have read what you have written here? Cant you see you have already mentioned sukuma wiki that 'the majority of slum dwellers feed on'?

Kales are sukuma wiki.

What did the studies recommend? More sugar? Why create more demand for sugar? Just to get vitamin a?
#31 Posted : Wednesday, June 15, 2011 12:29:02 PM

YesuWangu wrote:
Sources of vitamin a: liver, cod liver oil, broccoli,pumpkin,papaya,

@Yesuwangu,
You must be an irritant and i am sorry for judging you thus or you are from another planet.Do you know there are millions of grown up Kenyans who have never seen or heard about some of this sources?....Would you know?
#32 Posted : Wednesday, June 15, 2011 12:30:25 PM

YesuWangu wrote:

The Items I hav highlighted are actually dangerous if TOO MUCH is eaten.

Liver-in most cases stores antibiotics and other drugs and toxins which might have been administered or taken by a livestock.

Spinach - Too much of this causes Kidney stones

Eggs - high cholesterol level and depending on where the chicken were reared the eggs might contain toxins.

Lemons - too much Citric acid is not good for ur stomach lining.

#33 Posted : Wednesday, June 15, 2011 12:32:32 PM

McReggae, wacha ujuaji. lol.

Anyway, I also know that majority of people do eat.......can we get them to eat more push-the-week for example, Selah?
#34 Posted : Wednesday, June 15, 2011 12:48:54 PM

@yes how will Mumias use push-the-week(sukuma wiki/vegetables) to promote their brand.

Or to put it in another way if you were the marketing manager for Mumias how would you differentiate Ur sugar.
#35 Posted : Wednesday, June 15, 2011 1:28:19 PM

YesuWangu wrote:

@Yesuwangu,
You must be an irritant and i am sorry for judging you thus or you are from another planet.Do you know there are millions of grown up Kenyans who have never seen or heard about some of this sources?....Would you know?

Ooooooookay,........what is this??

@ Dash, @ McReggae and @ Selah, I am sincerely sorry for being 'irritating', especially to @ Dash, and for touching some strangely raw nerves here, of those I previously had a lot of respect for. I will no longer give any contrary opinion.

@ Selah, I am sure the occupant of this planet can figure out that one, as I wouldnt know anyway, you know, being from another.

#36 Posted : Wednesday, June 15, 2011 1:37:45 PM

YesuWangu wrote:

@Yesuwangu,

Ooooooookay,........what is this??

@ Dash, @ McReggae and @ Selah, I am sincerely sorry for being 'irritating', especially to @ Dash, and for touching some strangely raw nerves here, of those I previously had a lot of respect for. I will no longer give any contrary opinion.

@ Selah, I am sure the occupant of this planet can figure out that one, as I wouldnt know anyway, you know, being from another.

On the contrary I was supporting your assertions because the most needy of this vitamin A do not shop in supermarkets nor able to buy the Mumias packed sugar!!!!!