wazua Mon, Nov 18, 2024

Mpesa deposit direct to a bank
#1 Posted : Tuesday, June 14, 2011 5:39:54 PM

@Investors, do you know any bank in Kenya where I can be depositing some amounts of cash through Mpesa services?
I dont care whether the bank only has two branches in the city or what, I just want to save that little amount I get on my Mpesa.
Plus it would be interesting if the bank has an online account interrogation services.

Thanks.

Dod
#2 Posted : Tuesday, June 14, 2011 5:56:34 PM

Coop Bank.
Deposit from mpesa to bank.
Also from bank to mpesa.
The rich have money working for them; the poor and the middle class are going to work for money.
QW25071985
#3 Posted : Tuesday, June 14, 2011 8:24:11 PM

Mkesho . Duh ! Lol .
amga
#4 Posted : Tuesday, June 14, 2011 8:52:47 PM

try coop, kcb, equity, family(pesa pap), am sure others can since faulu are in it also
#5 Posted : Tuesday, June 14, 2011 9:25:06 PM

Co-op bank and Family have the most versatile products. You can even deposit cash from your m-pesa to another person's account. I send cash to my supplier's account directly at co-op. M-kesho is a bit restrictive. You can only deposit cash to your m-kesho account. You can't even deposit to your regular Equity account.
ngapat
#6 Posted : Tuesday, June 14, 2011 10:28:57 PM

M-kesho is a bit restrictive. You can only deposit cash to your m-kesho account. You can't even deposit to your regular Equity account.

This is where i feel equity needs to style up. Mkesho is not suitable for everybody. It should be for those who have no accounts, otherwise equity should link customers account to mpesa without necessarily forcing them to open mkeshos.I hope JM reads this
“Invest in yourself. Your career is the engine of your wealth.”
Apple Bees
#7 Posted : Tuesday, June 14, 2011 10:37:49 PM

and KCB bankika, u can deposit from your MPESA to an account there
#8 Posted : Tuesday, June 14, 2011 11:04:15 PM

I&M allows M-Pesa to 'deposit' on a pre-paid card as well
mwekez@ji
#9 Posted : Tuesday, June 14, 2011 11:23:09 PM

What are the cost of making the deposit and withdrawal through MPesa in the different banks
GGK
#10 Posted : Wednesday, June 15, 2011 7:57:17 AM

mwekez@ji wrote:
What are the cost of making the deposit and withdrawal through MPesa in the different banks

Coop charges are not high ... something like 50/=. There is a limit of 15k for withdrawals.
"..I am because we are. "― Ubuntu, Umtu,
#11 Posted : Wednesday, June 15, 2011 8:00:01 AM

@Matunda Nyuki, please explain more about Bankika like operating costs,interest rate,withdrawals etc.
@VVS what is this I&M prepaid thingy?

Eddy
#12 Posted : Wednesday, June 15, 2011 4:59:45 PM

amga wrote:
try coop, kcb, equity, family(pesa pap), am sure others can since faulu are in it also

How do you do it on KCB? i am aware a/c to MPESA but not the other way round..... this would be wonderful.
mozenrat
#13 Posted : Thursday, June 16, 2011 9:47:53 AM

@Matunda Nyuki, please explain more about Bankika like operating costs,interest rate,withdrawals etc.

Basically the "deposit" comprises of you topping up your prepaid card. more details here http://safaricom.co.ke/index.php?id=1229

Its a bit expensive.. but then again if you do alot of online shopping, would be useful
PrettyOne
#14 Posted : Thursday, June 16, 2011 10:39:55 AM

mozenrat wrote:

Basically the "deposit" comprises of you topping up your prepaid card. more details here http://safaricom.co.ke/index.php?id=1229

Its a bit expensive.. but then again if you do alot of online shopping, would be useful

To deposit from Mpesa to any KCB a/c you go to Mpesa then pay bill option. KCB business No. is 522522.
KCB will not charge but normal Mpesa charges apply.
bird_man
#15 Posted : Thursday, June 16, 2011 10:41:46 AM

Coop debits your A/C with 25sh for Mpesa-A/C deposits and vice versa.Mpesa also takes their 25sh making total cost 50sh.

The I&M pre-paid visa card is excellent in that you can top it up from mpesa and have a free internet banking interface to check out transactions on it.My only problem with them is that their dollar conversion ratios are so high!Charge me 93.5sh while the mean rate is about 87sh!Terrible!
Formally employed people often live their employers' dream & forget about their own.
nyari
#16 Posted : Thursday, June 16, 2011 11:42:06 AM

After reading thru the Safcon link, I'm definitely getting the I & M card. I've been using *325# for Family Bank Pesa PAP. It's instant and credits or debits my current account but has no Visa facility yet.
bird_man
#17 Posted : Thursday, June 16, 2011 11:47:09 AM

Nyari....this one is Visa branded.When you join please write to I&M to negotiate with Visa for lower conversion rates.It's too damn high!
Formally employed people often live their employers' dream & forget about their own.
Barrywhite
#18 Posted : Thursday, June 16, 2011 12:45:07 PM

You can deposit to any equity account via mpesa, so long as the account is signed for mobile banking. And this l think doesnt have to via mkesho. I deposit money to our investment account yet l am not mkesho registered. Paybill number is 247247, charged at 25/- by mpesa.
The laudable is more often than not rendered laughable by overclaim
#19 Posted : Thursday, June 16, 2011 5:40:29 PM

PrettyOne wrote:
mozenrat wrote:

To deposit from Mpesa to any KCB a/c you go to Mpesa then pay bill option. KCB business No. is 522522.

Didn't know about this. I presume the reference is your account number or do KCB credit the account under which that phone is registered? If the former, then any of my debtors can deposit directly to my KCB account from mpesa???
PrettyOne
#20 Posted : Thursday, June 16, 2011 5:54:29 PM

Gordon Gekko wrote:
PrettyOne wrote:
mozenrat wrote:

Didn't know about this. I presume the reference is your account number or do KCB credit the account under which that phone is registered? If the former, then any of my debtors can deposit directly to my KCB account from mpesa???

After inputting the business No. you are prompted to enter the A/C No.( Any KCB A/C)