wazua Fri, Jan 31, 2025

'Who Owns Kenya' programme glorifying thieves?!
amauriceus
#21 Posted : Thursday, June 02, 2011 10:04:58 AM

This programme is nothing but depressing.The thieves and their descendants should not gloat about how well the proceeds of their actions are doing. We need inspiration.Ill respect someone with a clean 20M networth than a thief worth 100 Billion Dollars
pesh cash
#22 Posted : Thursday, June 02, 2011 11:12:57 AM

The title reflects the ugly truth but i think its good for information, in the sense that, (i'm hopeful) one day kenyans will take up mass action to push for things, not running in the streets but e.g. boycotting a certain brand owned by a certain politician or glorified thief.the information will be put to good use then.

movers and shakers is good.

there's also another one by equity bank on KBC, more helpful than Who Owns Kenya.
I am an optimist. It does not seem too much use being anything else. ~Winston Churchill
liomungai
#23 Posted : Friday, June 03, 2011 9:58:03 AM

It seems the 40 days of thieves are here with us. Gichuru started of and now we have the Boss Harun going... could the Gichuru saga have an effect on the NSE given his huge stake interests in certain listed companies?
I pray to God that Nakumatt could somehow go under and the govt through Uchumi, being our big brother shareholder, come to the rescue - itakuwa sikukuu!... This is where we join in the song "tunataka serikali itusaidie"..... if dreams were horses...
People who look for easy money invariably pay for the privilege of proving conclusively that it cannot be found on this sordid earth
Dash
#24 Posted : Friday, June 03, 2011 10:48:07 AM

@liomungai you can actually wish a company that employs hundreds to go under? Because you have beef with the owners?
liomungai
#25 Posted : Friday, June 03, 2011 10:52:38 AM

not that way, I meant the current owners are kicked out and I through Uchumi can become co owner with the gvt nobody gets fired just change of guard na pesa ituwezeshe sote not just bosses... but it is only wishful thinking
People who look for easy money invariably pay for the privilege of proving conclusively that it cannot be found on this sordid earth
Alo
#26 Posted : Friday, June 03, 2011 11:49:19 AM

I wish she edits her profile to Who owns what in Kenya. But hii maneno ya Who owns Kenya really infuriates me. I believe as a Kenyan i own a piece of Kenya in my own right. I almost vowed to keep away from Brookside products esp. after hearing Julie say eti every time i buy that pkt of milk i am helping the Kenyatta's become richer. Shindwe!!!. Sasa Nitanunua ya NEW KCC!Buy Kenya Jenga Kenya!
"A woman's heart should be so hidden in Christ that a man should have to seek Him first to find her."
innairobi
#27 Posted : Friday, June 03, 2011 12:23:03 PM

Men generally steal for women. A line from the John Q movie captures that principle perfectly when the man is told by his wife that he needs to DO SOMETHING although the something is never spelled out.

Julie Gichuru is a co-conspirator. I am sure one of these days when she is conducting a hostile interview, one of these bad boys of politics will bring it up.

Tommy wrote:
Robinhood wrote:
kingfisher wrote:
brought to you by a thieflet!!

How does being married into family make you a thieflet?

This is what we call the element of association.

All my friends are heathens, take it slow. Wait for them to ask you who you know. Please don't make any sudden moves.
#28 Posted : Wednesday, June 08, 2011 1:53:39 AM

Uhuru kenyatta is worth 126 billion na anatuambia "tuko pamoja" #chenxtyve.
#29 Posted : Monday, June 13, 2011 12:20:31 PM

@kyt, please clarify - is it Uhuru who is worth 126Bn or is it the Kenyatta family?

That is ridiculous wealth - that is a euro billionaire!
#30 Posted : Monday, June 20, 2011 2:02:32 PM

The way the programme is presented is misleading...

TRUE STORY:
This mzee had a son with the first wife. Somewhere along the way they divorced officially - even went to high court for marriage dissolution. He re-married, but continued paying up-keep for first wife and son.

He got two sons with second wife... they grew up to become quite responsible. One became a doctor, the other joined the father's business - mainly real-estate development.

Unfortunately, the son from the first wife turned out to be a social wreck... drunk all school fees and bankrupt two biasharas that the father had started for him.

The father's business was however doing quite well, with several residential properties and a few commercial buildings in their town.

Then the father started developing a large modern shopping mall in the town and a few months after it was completed, he fell seriously ill. About a year later he passed away.

As usual, the circus began: the first wife and her son popped out "of the woodwork" and laid claim on the old man's property... they even managed to stop his burial..."until they are fully recognised as legitmate heirs to the property"

After several closed door family meetings, it became clear that the first wife+son were only interested in a share of the new shopping mall.

The second wife's son [the one who'd been running the business] called his mother and sibling aside and suggested that they can give up the whole shopping mall in order to appease the first family.

It took some convincing, but they eventually agreed to the idea. When the first family heard that they would get the shopping mall, they quickly agreed to the conditions attached; that they they shall not claim anything else from the mzee's estate. The deal was signed and witnessed by respective lawyers.

When the first wife+son started running the shopping mall, they were shocked to find that it had been built with a loan from KCB and that the total rent collected was not enough to cover the repayment... it was about 250k short of the 750k required monthly!

=======

Moral of the story? When you see a person with a big business empire, it is not enough to conclude that he is wealthy... it could all be easily tied up in loans, making his NET WORTH a tiny fraction of what you see...

So, as Julie tells us who owns which property, she could as well tell us what these people owe; that way we can know how wealthy they truly are....