wazua Thu, Feb 6, 2025

Gigantic miliionaires
wanyuru
#1 Posted : Thursday, June 09, 2011 1:25:48 PM

so at only 22 years, Wallace Ngige earns a net of 320k per month....none of the said webpages seems to work though.
Are these stories for real?

http://www.nation.co.ke/.../-/11q1py0/-/index.html
Mtu Biz
#2 Posted : Thursday, June 09, 2011 3:32:06 PM

Hii story ni shifty sana.
Sola Scriptura

#3 Posted : Thursday, June 09, 2011 3:55:46 PM

I am amazed by the stories that appear in that column. I am always left wondering whether the featured people pay their share of taxes. When some one claims to be making Sh300k pm after expenses, he should be paying about sh80k to KRA every month... and we say we can't raise the sh1.15T
#4 Posted : Thursday, June 09, 2011 5:41:02 PM

Those stories - the ones that appear on Daily Nation about sijui who is doing what and making what - are normally crap!!! I have seen two articles on people I know very well and boy, are those stories exaggerated!!!! This fake journalist don't even do simple background checks. A fellow can say he did his masters in Business Finance at Strathmore University and they publish the story. Only that the nearest the fellow has been to Strathmore is while drinking at Nairobi west. And there is no masters in business finance at Strathmore!!!
#5 Posted : Thursday, June 09, 2011 5:45:17 PM

mukiha wrote:
I am amazed by the stories that appear in that column. I am always left wondering whether the featured people pay their share of taxes. When some one claims to be making Sh300k pm after expenses, he should be paying about sh80k to KRA every month... and we say we can't raise the sh1.15T

You beat me to it. I was about to comment that the only way you can be sure of that story is on seeing his tax return. Maybe KRA should start concentrating on these public millionaires.
luttz
#6 Posted : Thursday, June 09, 2011 6:11:51 PM

@ Mukiha, Maich spot on. They did a story on a guy I know very well some years back. Its crap most of the time. Not many Kenyans in active employment net that much. Nway wish the young guy luck
"You've never lived until you've almost died; for those who have fought for it, life has a flavour the protected will never know."
#7 Posted : Thursday, June 09, 2011 6:18:06 PM

A fellow can say he did his masters in Business Finance at Strathmore University and they publish the story. Only that the nearest the fellow has been to Strathmore is while drinking at Nairobi west. And there is no masters in business finance at Strathmore!!!

#8 Posted : Thursday, June 09, 2011 6:54:23 PM

wanyuru wrote:
so at only 22 years, Wallace Ngige earns a net of 320k per month....none of the said webpages seems to work though.
Are these stories for real?

http://www.nation.co.ke/.../-/11q1py0/-/index.html

DN wrote:

The tattoo college has about 10 students, while his DJ academy has more than 20 students. The two businesses are located on two floors in a flat he has rented in Ngumo Estate.

His tattooing business earns him Sh80,000 after expenses. Mr Ngige’s main focus has been on how to make clients feel appreciated and breaking into new grounds.

d'oh! d'oh!

KenyanLyrics
#9 Posted : Thursday, June 09, 2011 7:17:29 PM

I know Wallace Ngige. Anakuwanga wale mahustler wa mtaani. There's no way he's earning 320k. Even the ka-stall they were running as a joint venture with his boys closed earlier this year, and as you can see, none of the sites work! This is irresponsible, misleading journalism.
#10 Posted : Thursday, June 09, 2011 7:47:52 PM

Oh no, the press has been duped again!
#11 Posted : Thursday, June 09, 2011 9:27:08 PM

Those stories - the ones that appear on Daily Nation about sijui who is doing what and making what - are normally crap!!! I have seen two articles on people I know very well and boy, are those stories exaggerated!!!! This fake journalist don't even do simple background checks. A fellow can say he did his masters in Business Finance at Strathmore University and they publish the story. Only that the nearest the fellow has been to Strathmore is while drinking at Nairobi west. And there is no masters in business finance at Strathmore!!!

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly smile smile
#12 Posted : Friday, June 10, 2011 7:09:56 AM

KenyanLyrics wrote:
I know Wallace Ngige. Anakuwanga wale mahustler wa mtaani. There's no way he's earning 320k. Even the ka-stall they were running as a joint venture with his boys closed earlier this year, and as you can see, none of the sites work! This is irresponsible, misleading journalism.

Ati Kshs 320K a month Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly

Wacha till someone at KRA starts following these stories, and calculates tax on the 320K the guy never made, and back dates it five years. Then guy will sweat bullets.

Why do guys feel they need to show the world than they are doing way muuuucch better that they really are?
Pierce
#13 Posted : Friday, June 10, 2011 8:35:53 AM

I have this pal who kept talking about some business idea in bars as a passtime (to earn him drinks...I guess)

Eventually he made a very poor attempt at crystalizing the concept.

The next I know, early this year, he was in DN2 as a 'very successful young entrepreneur'.

Load of $h!t.

Burning Spear
#14 Posted : Friday, June 10, 2011 9:35:27 AM

Pierce wrote:
I have this pal who kept talking about some business idea in bars as a passtime (to earn him drinks...I guess)

The next I know, early this year, he was in DN2 as a 'very successful young entrepreneur'.

Load of $h!t.

and the journalist bought the story like gospel truth.poor journalism !!

"You're not supposed to be so blind with patriotism that you can't face reality. Wrong is wrong, no matter who says it". Malcolm X
Mtu Biz
#15 Posted : Friday, June 10, 2011 9:57:28 AM

Burning Spear wrote:
Pierce wrote:

Load of $h!t.

and the journalist bought the story like gospel truth.poor journalism !!

I think these 'journalists' also assist in fabricating these lies.

Sola Scriptura

KenyanLyrics
#16 Posted : Friday, June 10, 2011 9:57:35 AM

@Robinhood everyone seeks the approval of their peers on some level. This is a very strong social force. However for some people they take it too far.