Pierce
#1 Posted : Thursday, June 09, 2011 10:12:32 AM

That takes the price of a White Cup at my local from Kshs.140 to Kshs 200

It's official, SIWESMEK!!Sad
Burning Spear
#2 Posted : Thursday, June 09, 2011 10:17:47 AM

wewe @pierce,

its 40% up from the budget or what

"You're not supposed to be so blind with patriotism that you can't face reality. Wrong is wrong, no matter who says it". Malcolm X
grolut
#3 Posted : Thursday, June 09, 2011 10:21:05 AM

I'm going to start drinking Senator.
In a place where thought is abandoned, freedom can become a curse.
Pierce
#4 Posted : Thursday, June 09, 2011 10:28:58 AM

Burning Spear wrote:
wewe @pierce,

its 40% up from the budget or what

Yes yes, or did I misread?
#5 Posted : Thursday, June 09, 2011 10:40:43 AM

Can't be 40% increase while govt. is trying to fight illicit brews. I think we need a eabl or someone to interpret what the increase is. I believe the minister meant that they are using a more unifying tax rate which is 40% per litre (or something) for beer and 35% per 1200m of cigarette. We need someone to calculate the difference and tell us what the increase is.

#6 Posted : Thursday, June 09, 2011 10:43:35 AM

I like this.

#7 Posted : Thursday, June 09, 2011 10:49:47 AM

I am happy I don't take alcohol. The easiest way to collect taxes is through the so called sin taxes and UK knows.
Pierce
#8 Posted : Thursday, June 09, 2011 10:59:50 AM

Can't be 40% increase while govt. is trying to fight illicit brews. I think we need a eabl or someone to interpret what the increase is. I believe the minister meant that they are using a more unifying tax rate which is 40% per litre (or something) for beer and 35% per 1200m of cigarette. We need someone to calculate the difference and tell us what the increase is.

I Pray you're right.
#9 Posted : Thursday, June 09, 2011 11:30:42 AM

Actually the rate of tax for all beers is 40% of ex-factory price(excludes all taxes, distribution costs and mark-up) or 70bob per litre whichever is higher. smile
If the exfactory cost is say 60.00 per 0.5litre bottle, then 40% is kshs 24.00 Liar
Now compare this with ksh 70per litre or sh35 per 0.5l bottle, ofcourse the sh35 rate is higher. The manufacturer will be compelled to apply this rate, as opposed to the 40% rate. Shame on you

The previous rete was kshs 65.00 per litre.

Ideally unless the exfactory price exceeds sh87.50 the sh35 per bottle rate will be appliedApplause Applause Applause Applause
#10 Posted : Thursday, June 09, 2011 11:41:48 AM

@Tebes,
Peleka sisi pole pole[smile .....What would be the retail price then before we resort to kerosenePray ? (I guess that's why they zero-rated it)
#11 Posted : Thursday, June 09, 2011 12:03:38 PM

@Tebes,
Peleka sisi pole pole[smile .....What would be the retail price then before we resort to kerosenePray ? (I guess that's why they zero-rated it)

The Recommended Retail Price so that we can do the mark up according to our locals. I see the gava is slowly but surely pushing me to be a teetotaler.
#12 Posted : Thursday, June 09, 2011 12:10:15 PM

Tebes wrote:
Ideally unless the exfactory price exceeds sh87.50 the sh35 per bottle rate will be applied

So what's the implication? Are we likely to see quality being lowered or compromised by the brewer by cutting the price of input or are we likely to see a price increase?

Does this tax also apply to the hot drinks and imports as well?

Pierce
#13 Posted : Thursday, June 09, 2011 12:14:58 PM

Tebes wrote:
Ideally unless the exfactory price exceeds sh87.50 the sh35 per bottle rate will be applied

So what's the implication? Are we likely to see quality being lowered or compromised by the brewer by cutting the price of input or are we likely to see a price increase?

Does this tax also apply to the hot drinks and imports as well?

Tutafanya kazi na Commissary!
House parties.....
#14 Posted : Thursday, June 09, 2011 12:19:47 PM

bkismat wrote:
@Tebes,

The Recommended Retail Price so that we can do the mark up according to our locals. I see the gava is slowly but surely pushing me to be a teetotaler.

Really?...I think this government is pushing me towards cheap drinksPray
#15 Posted : Thursday, June 09, 2011 12:20:15 PM

@Tebes,

In short tax on beers rises from sh65 per litre to sh70 per litre. Hence for a 500ml bottle, tax rises by sh2.50

For every 0.5l bottle you swallow sh 35 goes to the taxman as excise duty, and another approximately sh13 as VAT.
Pierce
#16 Posted : Thursday, June 09, 2011 12:22:54 PM

Tebes wrote:
@Tebes,

In short tax on beers rises from sh65 per litre to sh70 per litre. Hence for a 500ml bottle, tax rises by sh2.50

For every 0.5l bottle you swallow sh 35 goes to the taxman.

Ooooooooooooooh!!
Si UK angesema hivyosmile
#17 Posted : Thursday, June 09, 2011 12:27:30 PM

Okay.
#18 Posted : Thursday, June 09, 2011 12:29:49 PM

Okay.....So it's Oga and Tabitha who pays for the sins of brewing.Walipe!!!....Kwanza that Oga has a funny slogan on my fav beer....Eti refreshing my roots.Bure kabisa!!.Just when did wobbling legs become refreshed roots
#19 Posted : Thursday, June 09, 2011 12:54:00 PM

Okay.....So it's Oga and Tabitha who pays for the sins of brewing.Walipe!!!....Kwanza that Oga has a funny slogan on my fav beer....Eti refreshing my roots.Bure kabisa!!.Just when did wobbling legs become refreshed roots

Umekuwa wapi? While you were away, UK decided you needed demotion from refreshed roots to wobbling cane! Karibu civilization!
#20 Posted : Thursday, June 09, 2011 1:06:40 PM

@Wendz,
Been away kidogo.Shouldn't be back but for some burning issue......Sasa umeona Wanyuru of late??.I heard he was last seen hiking a lift atop a sand lorry with PM squared.Haki UK should have zero rated petrol!...Ni kweli?.Happy belated BD na "usamilie" Leona