#21 Posted : Tuesday, June 07, 2011 10:58:33 PM

KenyanLyrics wrote:
F*****g IDIOT! F**K!

Laughing out loudly Applause Drool
#22 Posted : Tuesday, June 07, 2011 11:01:21 PM

No need for too many expletives, too much money in mobile tech, so tooo political...

--Licenses, spectrum all issued via nondescript local facilitation companies owned by bigwigs
--Head of CCK and PS Ministry of Information and Communications at loggerheads
--Kenyans at the mercy of SMS/PRS companies licensed by CCK with political affiliations
--Minister of Information and Communications unilaterally extends term of current head of CCK
--Prime Minister's office sets up some committee which gives findings without referring to anyone
--KRA anxiously looking for ways to earn more money from the industry to pay down rising interest rates

And now the president throws his hat in the ring - All is fair in love and war.

#23 Posted : Tuesday, June 07, 2011 11:20:20 PM

Airtel has been denied operation in many countries due to poor busines practices,they dont pay taxes coz they are loss making ventures,shindana na ndovu upasuke msamba..meanwhile mezza ameze wembe.
hisah
#24 Posted : Tuesday, June 07, 2011 11:51:26 PM

Don't you just 'love' corporates... He who holds the gold, calls the market... Who said money has morals... TKL and Scom win while CCK and wananchi lose. Nothing new here and will always be this way world over until mankind stops the corporate machine... Remember EABL too has floored Mututho...
$15/barrel oil... The commodities lehman moment arrives as well as Sovereign debt volcano!
#25 Posted : Tuesday, June 07, 2011 11:51:53 PM

Now what is more interesting is the Dec 2010, CCK Quarterly Sector statistics report It shows state of Kenya now as:

Mobile subscriptions
Safaricom 70%
Airtel 15%
Orange 8.5%
Essar 6%

Quarter growth
Safaricom 4%
Airtel 27%
Orange 83%
Essar 9%

Voice Traffic by Operator
90% of Safaricom calls within network
26% of Airtel/Orange calls from other networks

83% of all Kenyan traffic from Safaricom lines

Internet Subscriptions
Orange grows nos by 24%
Access grows nos by 22%
Safaricom grows nos by 27% and they have 92% of the connections

TEAMS has over 50% more available bandwidth than Seacom.

KenyanLyrics
#26 Posted : Wednesday, June 08, 2011 12:57:16 AM

One of the chief problems in Kenya is short sightedness. This will surely scare Airtel off of a war on the data front. The era of capped bandwidth continues... N K T!
Wa_ithaka
#27 Posted : Wednesday, June 08, 2011 7:22:37 AM

Hopefully someone will have whispered into the Genereal's about the new katiba that came into being on 27th August. It limits his powers and gives him more time to catch some sleep at Statehouse.
The decision doesn't stand up to any logical scrutiny.
The Governor of Nyeri - 2017
QW25071985
#28 Posted : Wednesday, June 08, 2011 7:39:54 AM

We as kenyans shld protest this decision by obako !!!!!!even if he's trying to protect safaricom this decision amounts to breach of the constitution..

KURE KABISA..
#29 Posted : Wednesday, June 08, 2011 8:31:52 AM

@qw Protest alone! its a good move to protect jobs and investment...kenya has cheapest calling rates in the region and may be africa what more are you advocating for?it beats normal reasoning.
#30 Posted : Wednesday, June 08, 2011 9:09:20 AM

Has happened in other countries too. Baks didnt just wake up n made the directive. I beg to remain neutral.
jawz1
#31 Posted : Wednesday, June 08, 2011 9:18:42 AM

Has happened in other countries too. Baks didnt just wake up n made the directive. I beg to remain neutral.

I believe he made an economic decision his shareholding in Safaricom nonewithstanding. Now he just has to explain his directive...
"When the pupil is ready to learn, a teacher will appear." -- Zen proverb
#32 Posted : Wednesday, June 08, 2011 9:39:58 AM

Now how should he move to sack that communist at CCK?
A New Kenya
mchuuzi
#33 Posted : Wednesday, June 08, 2011 10:04:59 AM

WHAT! This is the worst decision made by Kibaki in 2011. YEYE NI MAFI YA KUKU. We need safaricom stocks to be KES1.50 by Dec. 2011 ndio tununue mingi na safely! WRONG TIMING MR. GENERAL KIGUOYA (kioga!)!!!!! Kama ulinunua hizo shares, wewe utaumia pole pole pekee yako!

Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you
This is his best declaration ever my reasons below
Airtel is not going to benefit Kenyans they have flooded their offices with Indians and outsourced almost all their services to Indian companies.
Further reduction in call costs means reduction in taxes so KRA will probably increase our taxes na hawa expatriates will be laughing all the way to the bank so
kudos to Kibaki
Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause
Barrywhite
#34 Posted : Wednesday, June 08, 2011 10:32:39 AM

Good call by Kibs. Its the best decision for the entire ecosystem. Return On Investment, rollout to new areas, taxes, wanjiku etc. And its also good for Kenya in the long term. The rates will fall; but not yet as only a small fraction of the countrys geographical mass is actually covered.
The laudable is more often than not rendered laughable by overclaim
#35 Posted : Wednesday, June 08, 2011 11:24:48 AM

This are some of the benefits you get being led by an economist president.thanks baks once more.
Bettertry
#36 Posted : Wednesday, June 08, 2011 11:37:58 AM

What happened to the good old advice that, "The Business Of Government Is Not Business"??? But then again simply put... when push comes to shove, kenya can
not authoritatively claim to be a
liberalised economy!!! Too much politicking and bullshitting involved.
We Will Either Find a Way or Create One - HANNIBAL
KenyanLyrics
#37 Posted : Wednesday, June 08, 2011 11:38:34 AM

This is not how capitalism works. The consumer is meant to selfishly think about their needs, and steer businesses to satisfy their demands. 3Bob, 1bob bado ni mob. Paying data per MB or per minute bado ni mob SANA. Safcom are still making obscene profits, there is still a lot of room for them to maneuver. It should be up to the consumer to dictate how things go, not the president! Is this even legal?!
Bettertry
#38 Posted : Wednesday, June 08, 2011 11:41:09 AM

What happened to the good old advice that, "The Business Of Government Is Not Business"??? But then again simply put... when push comes to shove, kenya can
not authoritatively claim to be a
liberalised economy!!! Too much politicking and bullshitting involved.
We Will Either Find a Way or Create One - HANNIBAL
jawz1
#39 Posted : Wednesday, June 08, 2011 11:42:14 AM

KenyanLyrics wrote:
This is not how capitalism works. The consumer is meant to selfishly think about their needs, and steer businesses to satisfy their demands. 3Bob, 1bob bado ni mob. Paying data per MB or per minute bado ni mob SANA. Safcom are still making obscene profits, there is still a lot of room for them to maneuver. It should be up to the consumer to dictate how things go, not the president! Is this even legal?!

No one complained (apart from VVS) when oil companies were not allowed freedom in setting their prices, heck Kenyans even cheered. So he reasoned, why not interfere in the mobile industry? We are not a capitalist society as Bettertry puts it!
"When the pupil is ready to learn, a teacher will appear." -- Zen proverb
#40 Posted : Wednesday, June 08, 2011 12:49:26 PM

In school, I learnt that there is no pure communist/capitalist economy. Its always a blend of the two.