wazua Mon, Jul 28, 2025

GearBox
nyari
#1 Posted : Monday, October 26, 2009 3:19:00 PM

I'm looking for a 2002 forester XT sti gear box. My pal messed it up by engaging reverse while driving

Any offers to nextop (at) live. (dot ) com
tusker8
#2 Posted : Monday, October 26, 2009 4:10:00 PM

There is a Sub specialist shop off Baricho rd,the name skips my mind now and i hear they are good. check them out

You know you are old when you wake up with a hangover and you didnt touch no drink the previous nite.
mukoya
#3 Posted : Tuesday, October 27, 2009 1:42:00 PM

got one 250k lemmie know ur view get me at benokembo@yahoo.com

absolute power controls absolutely
#4 Posted : Tuesday, October 27, 2009 2:38:00 PM

Just wondering,what exactly goes on in one's mind when they engage the reverse gear as the car is moving forward?
kinkos
#5 Posted : Tuesday, October 27, 2009 3:49:00 PM

Friends,

Am also looking for a gear box for Toyata Harrier.Any ideas on where to source and remote price guide.

Good evening.

Sogona
Djagame
#6 Posted : Tuesday, October 27, 2009 3:52:00 PM

@ Nyari

Have you had the damage to the gear box assessed (by competent mechanic specialising in gear box repairs)

The gearbox could only need replacement of a few 'chewed' teeth/gears and cleaning of metal chippings from the others. It have to be completely dissembled and reassembled.

This could be a better option option than buying a complete gearbox.

Know this from a friend who worked at Toyota Kenya and used to do this for Toyotas.

Go to Subaru Kenya workshop/garage guy specializing in this and have him do this for you off duty.

Wish you all the best.

'If you are not living on the edge,you are taking up too much space'
"We do not inherit the earth from our ancestors, we borrow it from our children" Native American Proverb
nyari
#7 Posted : Wednesday, October 28, 2009 4:51:00 PM

@ Mukoya
Reduce it to 150K and I'll still not buy. I can import it for 50K max but the wait is what's killing me,does anyone know if the eastleigh guys have an office in japan? and what would be the aprox cost for air freight.
@ GG,
the guy must have panicked after the turbo opened and he panicked decresing speed by pushing the lever upwards like a manual instead of to 3. We still haven't discussed as i mgiht do something regretable
@ Djagame,
I've had 2 serious guys check on it and even have a diagnostic report. i just need to be prepared in case we don't get parts for replacement. They say its not advisable to open before you get the parts. I intend to have both guys work on it as they both said its complicated and needs a very sober mind due to the sensors
JkMwatha
#8 Posted : Friday, October 30, 2009 8:50:00 PM

@nyari - eastleigh guys have no jap offices. Lakini Dubai iko..... you should be able to get can get used gearboxes from there (genuine or not ? sijui)

Wait (weight) should kill you. 35-40kg may be more if boxed (it will be boxed!)

Not sure of cost of freight from Dubai should be less than UK (500/- per kg)

Uki kosa,..... will do a search for you but I'm guessing ksh70k from UK blia freight.,

Get ready... for the open road!
nyari
#9 Posted : Saturday, October 31, 2009 4:16:00 PM

@ JKM thanks,If only I could get someone reliable to check it out first,I understand UK spares are among the best bcoz their 'kbs' standards are more stringent. From the look of things it will still be cheaper than the figure some mechanics are giving.
A total of 70K is not bad and I might be lucky and get a guy to throw it in as part of their cargo. When is the next kq,emirates offer for free 50 kg's if part of hand luggage. lol.
JkMwatha
#10 Posted : Saturday, October 31, 2009 5:01:00 PM

1st Search: Unfortunately quote is higher than I had estimated.

Part Request Ref: BY2079573
Vehicle Information : SUBARU,FORESTER 4X4,2000cc,2002,
PartType : GEARBOX & PARTS
Part(Details) : Gearbox / Transmission Manual
Part Condition: USED
Price : £550 - While stocks last!!
Part Warrnty: 0days

Additional Information:
Delivery : £30.00
VAT : £87.00
Total price : £667.00 (inc VAT and Delivery) [ksh80k+ ]

now add freight... possible 20k.

hehehe.... ati KQ allowance of 50kg ? si you will have to divide the gearbox into two (each package of total allowance =32kg max.)

Marash
#11 Posted : Saturday, October 31, 2009 9:59:00 PM

@nyari,

Sell me the shell instead of getting a new gear box,kwisha maneno,replacing the gear box will not be the same again. My offer 150K for the body.

Kwanini
#12 Posted : Sunday, November 01, 2009 2:30:00 AM

try aichi dar road.

For i am the master and the captain of my fate !
"For i am the master and the captain of my fate"
nyari
#13 Posted : Tuesday, November 03, 2009 10:22:00 AM

@ Marash,ati 150 K for the shell heheh... kwani what dyu drive ama wewe ni baniani? very ambitious. I'd rather drive it for good on 3 and push for reverse LOL

@ JKMwatha

inbox me the details and include the gear box number. The deal is getting to near ny budget. On the free cargo allowance... it would be a dream come true. for no airfreight I'd do anything.. Mucho gracias!
JkMwatha
#14 Posted : Tuesday, November 03, 2009 10:55:00 AM

@ Nyari.... a 4X4s gearbox (approx. 50kg) is larger than normal cars' and hence heavier (reliable source).

I'll see what other details I can get & email you.