wazua Mon, Jul 28, 2025

What happened to KPLC?
hairglo
#21 Posted : Friday, June 03, 2011 10:10:13 AM

Also waiting to get more at 20.50-20.75 but it's not dropping!!!
Aguytrying wrote:
Manze since the ka-rally to 23.00 a few weeks back this thing hasn't touched 21.00. Its kwamad to go below 21.25. i wanna buy more at 20.75-21.00. And volumes have increased since , i think its floor(ing). one of these fine days it will rise, never to look back again

mkonomtupu
#22 Posted : Friday, June 03, 2011 10:24:10 AM

ERC may allow the 20% hike in the tariff review in the coming months to cater for new plants so KPLC is like a plane on the runway you might be left at the terminal waiting to board
#23 Posted : Friday, June 03, 2011 10:27:11 AM

kyt wrote:
Why is kplc passing the infrastructure costs to the consumer yet it makes profit. Kwani hii profit wanapeleka wapi?

They are doing it because they can. They are taking advantage of their current monopoly status and laughing at our faces asking "utadoo?"

#24 Posted : Saturday, June 04, 2011 3:00:27 AM

kyt wrote:
Why is kplc passing the infrastructure costs to the consumer yet it makes profit. Kwani hii profit wanapeleka wapi?

They are doing it because they can. They are taking advantage of their current monopoly status and laughing at our faces asking "utadoo?"
Stop being vindictive. Kwani, do you ask the same questions of Safaricom & Equity whose margins are MUCH higher but whose infrastructure investments are much lower?
ProverB
#25 Posted : Saturday, June 04, 2011 11:30:37 AM

kyt wrote:

..i think a wise thing to do is become a major shareholder of kplc..major enough to ensure dividends and capital gains far outweigh your annual power bill. smile
..Let your light so shine before men, that they may see your good works, and glorify your Father which is in heaven...Matt5:16
- 1769 Oxford King James Bible 'Authorized Version
fantony
#26 Posted : Saturday, June 04, 2011 12:08:54 PM

all companies pass all their costs including infrastructure and whatever else to the consumer.. this includes mobile phone companies..thats business..
githundi
#27 Posted : Saturday, June 04, 2011 3:01:30 PM

The question is, to whom does such increasing costs go to? I tend to believe the beneficiaries of these are neither the consumer nor the shareholders. The beneficiaries of the uncontrolled costs of a monopoly are the Gichurus and Okemos of this world, the contractors and the employees. As a shareholder what you can get from Kplc is the same as you can get from any other credible counter. So let us not cheat ourselves. We stand to all gain in an efficient and corrupt free kplc as in any other parastatal.
Democracy does not belong to the dead
#28 Posted : Saturday, June 04, 2011 4:03:35 PM

fantony wrote:
all companies pass all their costs including infrastructure and whatever else to the consumer.. this includes mobile phone companies..thats business..

I like very much....

Why else would you be in business if you want to absorb capital costs. Why not just donate.
holycow
#29 Posted : Sunday, June 05, 2011 1:13:13 PM

hairglo wrote:
Also waiting to get more at 20.50-20.75 but it's not dropping!!!
Aguytrying wrote:
Manze since the ka-rally to 23.00 a few weeks back this thing hasn't touched 21.00. Its kwamad to go below 21.25. i wanna buy more at 20.75-21.00. And volumes have increased since , i think its floor(ing). one of these fine days it will rise, never to look back again

Thinking of buying odd lots at 20.50/= don't know if it will work out. CFC Activelite has the option of buying from Odd lot.
Aguytrying
#30 Posted : Monday, June 06, 2011 9:33:25 AM

Just when i said it hasn't touched 21.00. It finally did on friday. Jinx?
The investor's chief problem - and even his worst enemy - is likely to be himself
#31 Posted : Monday, June 06, 2011 11:17:41 AM

Fy results not far away.
#32 Posted : Monday, June 06, 2011 11:33:38 AM

Stop being vindictive. Kwani, do you ask the same questions of Safaricom & Equity whose margins are MUCH higher but whose infrastructure investments are much lower?

With Safaricom and Equity I have a choice and I can chose to port if they try to unfairly pass their infrustructure development costs to me. KPLC on the other hand have me by the balls - for now.

GGK
#33 Posted : Monday, June 06, 2011 7:14:59 PM

This is what ails KPLC;
(a) huge distribution [theft] losses at 18%,
(b) Okemwas, Gichuru's et al billions,
(c)high operational expenses per Kwh,

Effort are going on to address (c) by pre-paid meters but with monopolistic mindset consumers and shareholders are cheating themselves that they'll ever get value for money. It is like the KPTC of kitambo!

I bought some shares @299 before split so the and every time I look at my portfolio I nearly smash my head ...what was I thinking!

Now am wiser... thanks to Wazua
Its a no go zone for me
"..I am because we are. "― Ubuntu, Umtu,