wazua Mon, Jul 28, 2025

What happened to KPLC?
the deal
#1 Posted : Wednesday, June 01, 2011 8:32:49 PM

It seems after the rights and the dissapearance of YBC...nobody talks of KPLC...as a contrarian its time to buy when the herd is away.

On the other hand my power bill has doubled this month...i always pay 2K but the bill for this month is 4K...how on earth can that happen? and what is this fuel charge taking half of the bill?
Cde Monomotapa
#2 Posted : Wednesday, June 01, 2011 10:26:38 PM

The fuel charge belongs to the generators i.e we @ Kengen & the other thermal IPPs smile (haven't seen my bill yet)
jerry
#3 Posted : Wednesday, June 01, 2011 10:36:01 PM

Cde Monomotapa wrote:
The fuel charge belongs to the generators i.e we @ Kengen & the other thermal IPPs smile (haven't seen my bill yet)

=>The fuel charge of 7.11 is too much too early(no rains expected any time soon). It could go to 10.00! by October.
The opposite of courage is not cowardice, it's conformity.
Cde Monomotapa
#4 Posted : Wednesday, June 01, 2011 10:45:06 PM

@jerry..there has been significant rain in Kenya over the last 1.5 months..where have u been? Elec is purely demand driven right thus all forms of elec.generation are being mopped up! Even if all current hydro were filled to overflow & available geo thermal at full capacity..we still need thermal for the foreseeable. Kenya is almost experiencing double digit p.a growth in elec.demand.
jerry
#5 Posted : Wednesday, June 01, 2011 10:47:24 PM

@Cde. Just send ur acc no.(omit -01) to 5551 to get ur bill. You can also send an email to bill@kplc.co.ke with acc no.(omit -xx) as the subject. The forex was 81 cents.
The opposite of courage is not cowardice, it's conformity.
jawz1
#6 Posted : Wednesday, June 01, 2011 10:51:13 PM

jerry wrote:
Cde Monomotapa wrote:

=>The fuel charge of 7.11 is too much too early(no rains expected any time soon). It could go to 10.00! by October.

Not a suprise, nothing in Kenya goes down. Fully expect 10shs fuel charge by end of year unless dams fill up from rain Sad
"When the pupil is ready to learn, a teacher will appear." -- Zen proverb
#7 Posted : Wednesday, June 01, 2011 10:52:24 PM

the deal wrote:
It seems after the rights and the dissapearance of YBC...nobody talks of KPLC...as a contrarian its time to buy when the herd is away.

Laughing out loudly Ati YBC.I am sure the guy alredy has a new username
On KPLC, if you dip in, that will be no contrarian buy. This counter has been recording HUGE volumes for he past couple of weeks. It's just that the price has not moved.
Mumias broke the 7.50 barrier on Monday. Wacha tuone kesho
Cde Monomotapa
#8 Posted : Wednesday, June 01, 2011 11:04:13 PM

jerry wrote:
@Cde. Just send ur acc no.(omit -01) to 5551 to get ur bill. You can also send an email to bill@kplc.co.ke with acc no.(omit -xx) as the subject. The forex was 81 cents.

Thanks man. Don't know but I still prefer my snail mail (filing & also going to tao to see the beauties...)
Cde Monomotapa
#9 Posted : Wednesday, June 01, 2011 11:22:22 PM

Mpango wa macho :O
#10 Posted : Wednesday, June 01, 2011 11:29:35 PM

Why is kplc passing the infrastructure costs to the consumer yet it makes profit. Kwani hii profit wanapeleka wapi?
#11 Posted : Wednesday, June 01, 2011 11:31:45 PM

Its like kq increasing airfares ati coz they bought new boeings. Hii ndio shida ya monopoly! #chenxtyve.
#12 Posted : Wednesday, June 01, 2011 11:32:02 PM

Cde Monomotapa wrote:
Mpango wa macho :O

#13 Posted : Wednesday, June 01, 2011 11:38:32 PM

kyt wrote:
Why is kplc passing the infrastructure costs to the consumer yet it makes profit. Kwani hii profit wanapeleka wapi?

kyt wrote:
Its like kq increasing airfares ati coz they bought new boeings. Hii ndio shida ya monopoly! #chenxtyve.

Shareholders mpaka wakule kituLaughing out loudly
maskana
#14 Posted : Thursday, June 02, 2011 1:15:38 AM

Kplc sideway price.. been stationed for sometime.... come-on mboys take it either way....
#15 Posted : Thursday, June 02, 2011 1:42:43 AM

kyt wrote:

The infrastructure costs are the 'depreciation' portion of the new infrastructure. ERC regulates pricing so KPLC has to recover its depreciation [non-cash but eventually the poles, cables, etc need replacement which costs cash] from the electricity charges. If it was not regulated then KPLC would charge a larger premium which includes Depreciation, Operating Costs + Profit...
Cde Monomotapa
#16 Posted : Thursday, June 02, 2011 4:00:18 AM

youcan'tstopusnow wrote:
kyt wrote:

kyt wrote:

Shareholders mpaka wakule kituLaughing out loudly

?Amen?
#17 Posted : Thursday, June 02, 2011 8:19:19 AM

Kplc is replacing the wooden poles with concrete.already ongoing in many areas of the city. I think concrete costs more than wood so the balance sheet will expand. Suppliers of poles like kakuzi, no one to sell poles to since no demand from kplc and no more landlines being put up. Though kplc was importing poles from southern africa countries.
TUPAC
#18 Posted : Thursday, June 02, 2011 9:30:43 AM

has anybody received the interim dividend? was due 31st May.
...things fall apart...the centre cannot hold..mere anarchy is loosed upon the world...w b yeats
Aguytrying
#19 Posted : Friday, June 03, 2011 9:43:15 AM

Manze since the ka-rally to 23.00 a few weeks back this thing hasn't touched 21.00. Its kwamad to go below 21.25. i wanna buy more at 20.75-21.00. And volumes have increased since , i think its floor(ing). one of these fine days it will rise, never to look back again
The investor's chief problem - and even his worst enemy - is likely to be himself
Aguytrying
#20 Posted : Friday, June 03, 2011 9:44:51 AM

TUPAC wrote:
has anybody received the interim dividend? was due 31st May.

i haven't either
The investor's chief problem - and even his worst enemy - is likely to be himself