wazua Fri, Aug 1, 2025

speculative trading.
lovely2010
#21 Posted : Friday, May 27, 2011 12:50:12 PM

Aguytrying wrote:
Scangroup. Bought at 50.00. I've acquired it over the last few days. Time to sit back and see. I had an eye on unga at 8.60 but the universe conspired against my bid. Others to note. Pan africa. 44.50, c and g 30.00, cfc 54.50. But i've opted for scan. Lets see how it goes.

I doubt if you'll get c&g. I made a mistake getting in coz of the bonus and now Im stuck with the shares coz there were no buyers @ the time I needed to sell...and even if they are there now...no one will sell @ the current price...
#22 Posted : Friday, May 27, 2011 1:01:36 PM

scan..at 44..another guy just trying..hehe
got C&G at last..nothing to smile about yet.
JUB..trading at 180`is, dont know much but if i had cash i would speculate.
lovely2010
#23 Posted : Friday, May 27, 2011 1:06:53 PM

mlefu wrote:

44 doesnt surprise me...someone got it @ 40 sometime this week!
#24 Posted : Friday, May 27, 2011 1:18:25 PM

uuuuuhhhiiiii..this 5days settlement period is not good ...44 wachana naye
the deal
#25 Posted : Friday, May 27, 2011 2:01:20 PM

Speculate you will get burned...i don't do that no more....
#26 Posted : Friday, May 27, 2011 5:43:47 PM

the deal wrote:

Speculators makes the market be a real market.If all were to hold on who will be selling at the NSE?
Please discourage speculators because they make me money on a monthly basis at the NSE...

Aguytrying
#27 Posted : Saturday, May 28, 2011 11:43:07 AM

lovely2010 wrote:
mlefu wrote:

the lowest scan traded that week was 45.00. Where did you get 40 from?
The investor's chief problem - and even his worst enemy - is likely to be himself
Aguytrying
#28 Posted : Saturday, May 28, 2011 11:46:43 AM

the deal wrote:

just the other day you were criticising long term trading at the n.s.e. U even said u speculate with your whole portfolio. Why the sudden change in plan. With less than 20% its acceptable.
The investor's chief problem - and even his worst enemy - is likely to be himself
QW25071985
#29 Posted : Saturday, May 28, 2011 11:52:08 AM

speculating in a SIDEWAYS market are you guyz serious ?????Do you know how dangerous that is ???? though i must admit i am buying the market but for a loooooooooooooong term hold..
the deal
#30 Posted : Saturday, May 28, 2011 12:08:42 PM

@Aguy our Bro @QW has answers for you...i mean with this sky high inflation...rising interest rates...drought...uncertanities about 2012...all this factors tilt the bourse downwards...go long term...maybe 2013 when Raila has been confirmed Prez...even that SCAN i'm sure companies will be looking at cutting on AD costs...Safcom promised to do that.
Aguytrying
#31 Posted : Saturday, May 28, 2011 4:43:43 PM

the deal wrote:
@Aguy our Bro @QW has answers for you...i mean with this sky high inflation...rising interest rates...drought...uncertanities about 2012...all this factors tilt the bourse downwards...go long term...maybe 2013 when Raila has been confirmed Prez...even that SCAN i'm sure companies will be looking at cutting on AD costs...Safcom promised to do that.

only 20%. An amount i can afford to play with. The rest is long term.
lovely2010
#32 Posted : Saturday, May 28, 2011 6:35:46 PM

Aguytrying wrote:
lovely2010 wrote:
mlefu wrote:

Hii soko, wachana nayo...iko na wenyewe...
invest0r
#33 Posted : Monday, May 30, 2011 11:36:19 AM

lovely2010 wrote:
Aguytrying wrote:
lovely2010 wrote:
mlefu wrote:

@lovely2010, since wewe ni mwenyewe, how does one join that club. It pays if one is getting those very competitive prices that are not even appearing on the board. Besides, one is also getting same day settlement and therefore can lock in the gains pap!
lovely2010
#34 Posted : Monday, May 30, 2011 5:01:01 PM

invest0r wrote:
lovely2010 wrote:
Aguytrying wrote:
lovely2010 wrote:
mlefu wrote:

@lovely2010, since wewe ni mwenyewe, how does one join that club. It pays if one is getting those very competitive prices that are not even appearing on the board. Besides, one is also getting same day settlement and therefore can lock in the gains pap!

Relax buddy! Kuna siri hazimwagwi hadharani...pole sana cant tell...
gatoho
#35 Posted : Monday, May 30, 2011 5:09:46 PM

the deal wrote:
@mlefu

What Does Manipulation Mean?
The act of artificially inflating or deflating the price of a security. In most cases, manipulation is illegal. It is much easier to manipulate the share price of smaller companies, such as penny stocks, because they are not as closely watched by analysts as the medium- and large-sized firms.

Also known as "price manipulation".
Investopedia Says
Investopedia explains Manipulation
One way people can deflate the price of a security is by placing hundreds of small orders at a significantly lower price than the one at which it has been trading. This gives investors the impression that there is something wrong with the company, so they sell, pushing the prices even lower. Another example of manipulation would be to place simultaneous buy and sell orders through different brokers that cancel each other out but give the perception, because of the higher volume, that there is increased interest in the security.

Thengiu The Deal.. i tried explaining this a while ago and got called stupid, not that am a genius but that was below the belt
Foresight..
Aguytrying
#36 Posted : Tuesday, May 31, 2011 8:25:36 PM

I'm seeing some small plays. Unga at 9.00, cfc at 53.50, pan africa at 39.50. Mumias at 7.30, would be a pick up at 7.00.
Aguytrying
#37 Posted : Wednesday, June 29, 2011 10:20:12 PM

After holding scan for a month, i finally sold today at 53.00. A measly gain of 2%. It didn't give me the momentum i expected. So i let it just go. I'm pinning this down on the exbonus factor. Ruthless it is. I immediately bought kengen at 13.70. I'm also eyeing cfcih at 14. Now we wait.
#38 Posted : Wednesday, June 29, 2011 10:38:29 PM

@Aguytrying, does the 2% gain factor in the commission charges?

Instead of eye-ing cfcih, wait for KPLC at 21.20, its coming soon, very very soon.

QW25071985
#39 Posted : Wednesday, June 29, 2011 10:40:29 PM

Mumias shld be a nice play as you trade the correction maybe from 7.20 to 7.90 thereof ..not bad
Cde Monomotapa
#40 Posted : Thursday, June 30, 2011 5:49:17 AM

lovely2010 wrote:
invest0r wrote:
lovely2010 wrote:
Aguytrying wrote:
lovely2010 wrote:
mlefu wrote:

Relax buddy! Kuna siri hazimwagwi hadharani...pole sana cant tell...

Powder room talk.