wazua Tue, Sep 23, 2025

I&M Bank FY 2011 results
invest0r
#21 Posted : Monday, May 23, 2011 10:38:23 AM

@VVS, its true, according to CBK Prudential Guidelines, under CBK/PG/10 on Publication of Financial Statements and Other Disclosures, the following incomes are classified as ‘other operating incomes’:
1. Bond trading income
2. Rental income
3. Gain on sale of fixed assets
4. any other miscellaneous incomes arising from normal banking operations

According to my observation from the full year annual reports, Bond trading income comprises more than 70% of the total ‘other income’. Even in banks earning rental income.
#22 Posted : Monday, May 23, 2011 11:04:10 AM

@investor - The full accounts/financial statements have the breakdown but the CBK format used for quarterly reporting does not. They should break out the line item for Bond Trading Income so we can monitor [rather than guessing] what is happening under 'Other Income"...
The Merchant
#23 Posted : Monday, May 23, 2011 11:29:26 AM

Banks expect to make a killing this year from the volatile shilling.
@vvs, maybe we ought to be more optimistic for h1 results? Banks have a way of making money come rain or judgement day!!
#24 Posted : Monday, May 23, 2011 12:08:11 PM

@investor @cde The 'Other Income' should be split up by [per CBK reporting guidelines] into Bond Trading & other income e.g. rent, etc

Some banks get rental income e.g.
I&M @ Kenyatta Ave building has Safaricom, Standard Newspapers, etc
NIC @ masaba rd has other tenants as well
KCB @ Hilton has most offices as non-KCB!!! Doctors, lawyers, etc

So it is better for analysts to get a more detailed quarterly look at the split between the Bond Trading Income & 'other' (non-core) income...

@VVS; Kencom house does not belong to KCB.... neither does Barclays Plaza belong to BBK...
Ericsson
#25 Posted : Monday, May 23, 2011 12:17:57 PM

Kencom House belongs to KCB while Barclays Plaza belongs Barclays to the pension fund
Wealth is built through a relatively simple equation
Wealth=Income + Investments - Lifestyle
Pedro_Nasinyama
#26 Posted : Monday, May 23, 2011 12:26:47 PM

I&M is already on NSE thru City Trust
#27 Posted : Monday, May 23, 2011 12:29:48 PM

mukiha wrote:
@investor @cde The 'Other Income' should be split up by [per CBK reporting guidelines] into Bond Trading & other income e.g. rent, etc

Some banks get rental income e.g.
I&M @ Kenyatta Ave building has Safaricom, Standard Newspapers, etc
NIC @ masaba rd has other tenants as well
KCB @ Hilton has most offices as non-KCB!!! Doctors, lawyers, etc

So it is better for analysts to get a more detailed quarterly look at the split between the Bond Trading Income & 'other' (non-core) income...

@VVS; Kencom house does not belong to KCB.... neither does Barclays Plaza belong to BBK..

Kencom House is owned by KCB. The attempt to transfer it to the Pension Fund failed...
#28 Posted : Monday, May 23, 2011 2:17:24 PM

Ericsson wrote:
Kencom House belongs to KCB while Barclays Plaza belongs Barclays to the pension fund

And the new building next to Equity Centre in Upper Hill Belongs to KCB Pension Fund. Ama?Pray
Ericsson
#29 Posted : Monday, May 23, 2011 3:35:40 PM

@youcan'tstopusnow Yes
Wealth is built through a relatively simple equation
Wealth=Income + Investments - Lifestyle
invest0r
#30 Posted : Tuesday, May 24, 2011 11:27:50 AM

@investor - The full accounts/financial statements have the breakdown but the CBK format used for quarterly reporting does not. They should break out the line item for Bond Trading Income so we can monitor [rather than guessing] what is happening under 'Other Income"...

I hope someone in a position of responsibility in CBK has noted your observation. We need to get this info especially in this period when bond trading income is decreasing and banks are facing losses due to lower value of government securities held for trading purposes
#31 Posted : Tuesday, May 24, 2011 7:54:46 PM

Wazua leads, other follow!
http://www.businessdaily.../-/67k89vz/-/index.html

"I&M private share sale nets 2.4bn for expansion"

Has anyone used the M-Pesa + Prepaid Debit Card?
[If you have M-Pesa why would you need a Prepaid Card?]
The Merchant
#32 Posted : Tuesday, May 24, 2011 8:20:30 PM

To load up your card via mpesa when you are abroad (ask someone to mpesa you). CRAZY!! Applause
The Merchant
#33 Posted : Tuesday, May 24, 2011 8:25:32 PM

I&M had a major marketing campaign last year which brought in alot of new deposits, hence the phenomenal growth in deposit base. IM not so sure the deposits will grow that fast this year though. Investors, however, seem to love this company including the wazua folk. We should have formed a co. ASAP and bought the minimum shares on offer. Hmmmm...
#34 Posted : Tuesday, May 24, 2011 8:27:08 PM

The Merchant wrote:

To load up your card via mpesa when you are abroad (ask someone to mpesa you). CRAZY!! Applause

Lakini, isn't the Prepaid card in Kenya Shillings? [I know there is a US$ Prepaid Card but is that linked to M-Pesa too?]

I do not understand the benefit to someone in Kenya. Or is it geared towards regional travel where M-Pesa does not work?
The Merchant
#35 Posted : Tuesday, May 24, 2011 8:28:06 PM

Check out this quote from the article (and don't bash me because its from an analyst,he could be one of us):

'Though the management of the bank said that they had no immediate plans float an IPO, analysts said they expected I&M to list in three to four years.“Development partners usually have an exit strategy and the best exit for them in Sub-Sahara has been listing,” said Mr Mwangi.'
#36 Posted : Tuesday, May 24, 2011 8:32:33 PM

Sorry, this was the item I wanted to highlight! Wazuans were way ahead about discussing these firms and events.
#37 Posted : Tuesday, May 24, 2011 9:56:43 PM

VVS, I bet there is BDAFRICA writer who is a registered member of Wazua.
#38 Posted : Wednesday, May 25, 2011 6:17:17 AM

The Merchant wrote:
Investors, however, seem to love this company including the wazua folk. We should have formed a co. ASAP and bought the minimum shares on offer. Hmmmm...
That is an excellent idea! 20mn is a lot of cash for one person but not for 20 joined together!

Apparently the CMA (Company Act) wanted less than 100 shareholders thus to raise 2.4bn I&M Bank needed to sell large chunks to each investor. Even then it was 26% oversubscribed without widespread advertising.
#39 Posted : Wednesday, May 25, 2011 6:18:50 AM

The Merchant wrote:
Check out this quote from the article (and don't bash me because its from an analyst,he could be one of us):

'Though the management of the bank said that they had no immediate plans float an IPO, analysts said they expected I&M to list in three to four years.“Development partners usually have an exit strategy and the best exit for them in Sub-Sahara has been listing,” said Mr Mwangi.'
I would say 2 years from now [after the 2012 elections] so 2013 unless we have a repeat of 2008!
The Merchant
#40 Posted : Wednesday, May 25, 2011 9:11:04 AM

The Merchant wrote:
Investors, however, seem to love this company including the wazua folk. We should have formed a co. ASAP and bought the minimum shares on offer. Hmmmm...
That is an excellent idea! 20mn is a lot of cash for one person but not for 20 joined together!

Apparently the CMA (Company Act) wanted less than 100 shareholders thus to raise 2.4bn I&M Bank needed to sell large chunks to each investor. Even then it was 26% oversubscribed without widespread advertising.

Yup! 20 of us put in a million each and there we are, we can start discussing a company we own part of. Just sacrifice a few tuskers each!!!!Laughing out loudly