o Mobile and fixed data revenue by 80.3% to Kshs5.4bn
o Number of fixed data connections up by 466.0% to 4,483
o Mobile data customers up 85.6% to 4.9mn
o M-PESA revenue by 56.0% to Kshs11.8bn
o M-PESA registered customers to 13.8m or 81.0% of our customer base
 EBITDA of Kshs35.7bn and a margin of 37.7%
 EPS of Kshs0.333 per share
 Ksh4.5bn free cash flow
 Successful issue of Kshs4.5bn domestic medium term notes (final tranche)
 Directors propose payment of a dividend of Kshs0.20 per share.
#2 Posted : Wednesday, May 18, 2011 4:55:07 PM

I note a 13% increase in revenue despite price wars meaning Safaricom is making more from MPESA customers (grew 45%)

Churn (people leaving) has grown slightly by 3%

But what would justify the 25.3% increase in operating expenses, or the 23.2% increase in administrative expenses? Is this the cuplrit that led to...

--12.9% decline in profit before tax
--12.9% erosion of earnings per share

At a P/E of 11.5 price direction - stagnant very slight movement

the deal
#3 Posted : Wednesday, May 18, 2011 5:01:44 PM

Full and Comprehensive analysis here http://contrarianinvestingkenya.blogspot.com/ later in the evening.
Barrywhite
#4 Posted : Wednesday, May 18, 2011 5:10:34 PM

Its clear the operating expenses are the culprit; voice revenue after such a brutal voice tariff war, went down only 1.7%. Clearly after tariff reduction, voice volumes doubled to achieve nearly the same revenue.
The laudable is more often than not rendered laughable by overclaim
#5 Posted : Wednesday, May 18, 2011 5:39:16 PM

@Barrywhite, well said, minutes of use per subscriber increased from 60.6 to 96 minutes which represents 60% increase. Tariff cut was 50% though only affected second half of period.

„Skiza‟, the caller ringback tone service has continued to grow in popularity and currently has 3.9 million users subscribed to it, a 22% penetration of our subscriber base in just 2 years!

I see 1,140 3G stations and 186 Wimax. In a telecom infrastructure game, it will take some time for Airtel to replicate.

Difficult not to appreciate efforts to diversify revenue from 76% voice to 67% voice. Net profit margin down from 18% to 13.9%. Why lie, last year was an easier year.

#6 Posted : Wednesday, May 18, 2011 5:42:43 PM

I think the recent re-organisation which was made to make the operations leaner was not factored here so going forward this cost cuts will make the cake more fat.
#7 Posted : Wednesday, May 18, 2011 5:44:10 PM

Barrywhite wrote:

Its clear the operating expenses are the culprit; voice revenue after such a brutal voice tariff war, went down only 1.7%. Clearly after tariff reduction, voice volumes doubled to achieve nearly the same revenue.

For how long were calls at 3 bob during the whole year?
#8 Posted : Wednesday, May 18, 2011 5:46:19 PM

The biggest plus in this results is the reduction of contribution of Voice from 76% to 67%
hisah
#9 Posted : Wednesday, May 18, 2011 6:22:07 PM

hisah wrote:
If the PBT is down 2 - 4B that will be a stellar result. At 6B down I get concerned... If revenues are above 78B that's stellar too.
I saw a bloomberg article suggesting revenues above 90B. That will be a shocker with kamikaze price wars!? Such an outcome will get people asking for lower rates smile

Hmmm... This elephant indeed got revenues past 90B up to 95B with the kamikaze price wars! Well above my expectations. I never thought the data curve was going parabolic that much...! AK is in trouble going by the growth of Safcom's fixed data revenues. AK clients (corporate) must have vuka'd to this fixed data service.
The PBT also down 2.6B well in line with my estimate.
The most stark fact is voice revenues in H2 only took a slight dent even with kamikaze price wars! That is going to get Airtel back to the drawing board asap. The Airtel board won't have nice words for the CEO and the strategy team.

Overall the results are commendable. At 3.90 the P/E is 11.8. So if the historic P/E is reversed to expensive levels in a bearish NSE this will be the targets.

A P/E of 14 = 4.60 (EPS - 0.33 x 14).
A P/E of 15 = 4.95.
A P/E of 16 = 5.25.

To be realistic, anything above 5/- will be sold.

My buy targets are now reversed down to 2.60 - 3.30 where the historic P/E will be between 8 and 10. At these levels most of the mboyz and long timers (term) will be busy buying bucket loads since the dividend yield would be 76% and 60% with the share price at 2.60 and 3.30 respectively.
$15/barrel oil... The commodities lehman moment arrives as well as Sovereign debt volcano!
#10 Posted : Wednesday, May 18, 2011 6:33:23 PM

hisah wrote:
My buy targets are now reversed down to 2.60 - 3.30 where the historic P/E will be between 8 and 10. At these levels most of the mboyz and long timers (term) will be busy buying bucket loads since the dividend yield would be 76% and 60% with the share price at 2.60 and 3.30 respectively.

Dividend yields are much lower than the 76% & 60% you are quoting.
hisah
#11 Posted : Wednesday, May 18, 2011 6:46:46 PM

hisah wrote:

At 2.60 with a DPS of .20 DY = 76% (0.20/2.60)
At 3.30 with a DPS of .20 DY = 60% (0.20/3.30)

At the current price 3.90 DY = 51%
$15/barrel oil... The commodities lehman moment arrives as well as Sovereign debt volcano!
mwanahisa
#12 Posted : Wednesday, May 18, 2011 6:48:54 PM

hisah wrote:

@hisah, Check your math!
#13 Posted : Wednesday, May 18, 2011 7:01:00 PM

mwanahisa wrote:
hisah wrote:

@hisah, Check your math!

DY = DPS/Price (not EPS)
mwanahisa
#14 Posted : Wednesday, May 18, 2011 7:05:45 PM

I have especially focused on the results for the 2nd half as I believe this gives an indication of the trend that we could infer from the results, "ceteris paribus."

H2 PAT was Kshs 5.349 B in 2010-11 against 7.72 B in H1 2010-11 and Kshs 8.52 B in H2 2009-10. Thus H2 2010-11 dropped by 29.55% against H1 2010-11 and 36.13% when compared to H2 2009-10.

This clearly indicates a steady decline in profitability for the last 18 months. Hopefully, this can be arrested but I am not really hopeful at this juncture unless Airtel/CCK can be made to behave!!!!.

DISCLAIMER: I STILL HAVE MY 100 SHARES IN SAFARICOM.
#15 Posted : Wednesday, May 18, 2011 7:14:38 PM

@mwanahisa - Well, you might lose your shorts on those 100 shares!

If (& when???) Airtel brings in decent reliable 3G is when life gets interesting... Safaricom rules the roost for data at the moment & is the saving grace.

I want Safaricom to make a 'fair' profit not the HUGE margins as they have in the past!
kenyainvesting.blogspot.com
#16 Posted : Wednesday, May 18, 2011 8:22:19 PM

Analysis and views on the Safaricom's results.

LINK:EXPENSES EAT UP SAFARICOM'S PROFITS
MY BLOG: Kenya Investing
BE MY FRIEND ON FACEBOOK: Kenya Investing Facebook Page
TWITTER HANDLE: @kenyainvestor
hisah
#17 Posted : Wednesday, May 18, 2011 10:05:13 PM

mwanahisa wrote:
hisah wrote:

@hisah, Check your math!

DY = DPS/Price (not EPS)

I see, the dot means a lot in math. Too much in a hurry to post smile

At 2.60 with a DPS of .20 DY = 7.6% (0.20/2.60)
At 3.30 with a DPS of .20 DY = 6.0% (0.20/3.30)

At the current price 3.90 DY = 5.1%
the deal
#18 Posted : Wednesday, May 18, 2011 10:25:44 PM

Safaricom FY 2010-11 Earnings Analysis: Buy on Price Dips

2011 vs 2010 Billions Ksh

Key words: at the bottom of the report.

Revenue 95 vs 84
Profit Before Tax 18.3 vs 20.97
EBITDA 35.72 vs 36.60
Profit After Tax 13.16 vs 15.15
EPS 0.33 vs 0.35
PER 12 vs 11.8
Dividend 0.20 vs 0.20
ARPU 439 vs 457-voice ARPU down due to tariff reduction

Commentary

Strong results from Safricom, revenue up by 13% to Ksh 95Billion despite a 60% drop in in voice tariff in 2H of 2010-11, EBITDA margins dropped by only 11% in the same period compared to 11.7% drop in EBTDA margins during the 1H of 2009-10 when voce tariffs dropped by 40% meaning the recent price cuts had little impact on Safaricoms EBITDA. ARUP another important measure only dropped by 4.73% despite a reduction in Voce ARPU ( well compensated by Mpesa and data ARUP UP 13%). The results where outdone by increase in COSTS as Safcom invested heavy into the future I.e. increase n number of shops and base stations.

Way forward

I expect Safcom to beat this years EBITDA of Ksh 36.6 Billion because EBITDA in the 2H was Ksh 16.6 Billion despite the adverse operating conditions and price wars, 16.8 X2=33.6 Billion (FY 2011-12) add to that the parabolic growth of data and Mpesa which is going global, in fact data penetration in Kenya as low as 22% so more room for growth. Voice too has potential only 60% mobile penetration in Kenya.
I expect costs to come down significantly as Mr Bob Collymore implements his 2.0 strategy remember the first thing he did was to chop down on Safcoms exec structure

Entire article here http://contrarianinvesti...1-earnings-analysis.html
earthvoice
#19 Posted : Wednesday, May 18, 2011 10:50:02 PM

kenyainvesting.blogspot.com wrote:
Analysis and views on the Safaricom's results.

LINK:EXPENSES EAT UP SAFARICOM'S PROFITS

Check the first line of your article:
"Safaricom today released its results for the year ending 31st March 2010". Really?
"All intelligent investing is value investing -- acquiring more than you are paying for. You must value the business in order to value the stock." - Charlie Munger.
#20 Posted : Thursday, May 19, 2011 8:09:41 AM

On twitter @KuiKinyanjui
Strange how there was no mention of market share in the #Safaricom results...

So what are Wazuans guestimates?
Subscriber market share Safaricom 75% allowing for slight decline from q1 2011 CCK sector report

The tricky one is revenue market share. I guestimate that Safaricom makes 3/= on average per call. But Airtel, and everyone else for that matter, makes 30% less on average from the same subscriber. So is it likely Safaricom could have a revenue market share of 75 + (25 * 30%) = 82.5%?