wazua Mon, Jul 28, 2025

5 Pages<12345>
SAFARICOM FY 2011 Results Announcement LIVE STREAMING
sky5
#41 Posted : Wednesday, May 18, 2011 5:28:18 PM

The price war worked to their advantage since there was a doubling of voice volume. Actually the reduction in PBT could also be attributed to reduction in disposable income.

More tarrif reduction will cause increased voice volume with added investment to increase capacity.
#42 Posted : Wednesday, May 18, 2011 5:28:21 PM

Am keenly monitoring through safaricom live.
#43 Posted : Wednesday, May 18, 2011 5:28:37 PM

That is impressive coming from a very difficult year. Phenomenal, suddenly has safcom become a buy?
#44 Posted : Wednesday, May 18, 2011 5:33:52 PM

Have you realised the low cost high volume can work best for safcom and not this other kencell,celtel,zain,airtel,and lastly baniani?
the deal
#45 Posted : Wednesday, May 18, 2011 5:35:52 PM

Breaking News: Airtel has suddenly made a U turn increasing their Voice tarrifs to 8 bob while in the other news @Mzee VVS blood pressure is at an all time high.
#46 Posted : Wednesday, May 18, 2011 5:39:20 PM

Don't forget that this financial year, Safaricom will have to contend with calls at 3 bob for the WHOLE YEAR! Will growth in data be enough to cover up for this? Discuss
#47 Posted : Wednesday, May 18, 2011 5:40:46 PM

To those chiding VVS, I doubt he has any shares in Airtel
Papa Investor
#48 Posted : Wednesday, May 18, 2011 5:48:29 PM

muganda wrote:
12.9% increase in Turnover
Revenue growth faster than subscriber growth

Most interesting is that half 2 revenue...after price wars started...voice dropped only 10% from 33bn to 30bn compared to appox 60% price drop...indicating clearly that there was price elasticity. and coupled with heavy laptop and modem sales driving acquisition revenue 2nd half revenue came out slightly above H1!
#49 Posted : Wednesday, May 18, 2011 5:51:00 PM

@youcantstop weee nini?kichwa imeenda mteja?...we are saying the price wars are working towards safcom because of their huge volume.they even could not manage a 2% drop.
Hunderwear
#50 Posted : Wednesday, May 18, 2011 5:52:02 PM

This serves to tell you how much safaricon conned us.So far Airtel are my hero.Now with the new Tech offcer expect 3G soon and safcon data monopoly wil juz evaporate
Jamani
#51 Posted : Wednesday, May 18, 2011 5:52:10 PM

youcan'tstopusnow wrote:

No he has free ones somewhere there,
#52 Posted : Wednesday, May 18, 2011 5:58:42 PM

@chupi,safcom didnt con you,all you did was your free will decision,am sure on data safcom will beat all others including ak hands down.
#53 Posted : Wednesday, May 18, 2011 6:21:17 PM

mlennyma wrote:
News just in...rene mezza has fainted.

@mlennyma - Any news on @vvs? What is his status?
Niko na Rene d'oh! d'oh! d'oh!

[Anyway, like someone said... as a consumer what Safaricom makes matters little to me as long as I get cheaper calls!

Safaricom needs to stop lying or frightening us about the KES 26bn 'drop' in revenue. I doubt that since the minutes usage has JUMPED & will continue rising!

As an investor, I am wary of investing in Safaricom at 4/-, and my reasons have not changed...

1) Much lower margins on voice in 2011-12
2) Data will grow since there is NO credible competitor. Margins will drop but revenue will jump huge!
3) M-Pesa will grow [Zap, Orange, etc are not the same]

Bottomline (as investor): An expensive PE for me.
Bottomline (as customer): Cheaper calls/data for me

Safaricom will not collapse [I never said that, show me...] but its profits will drop further in 2011-12 unless they can really ramp up data & M-Pesa.
#54 Posted : Wednesday, May 18, 2011 6:23:30 PM

youcan'tstopusnow wrote:
LOL... Sina Airtel!!! You know which firms I have shares in... I am pretty open about that!

So safaricom has been lying to us... ati, revenues will drop by 26bn coz rates went from 8/- to 3/-... the minutes used have compensated just as Airtel said they would!
#55 Posted : Wednesday, May 18, 2011 6:38:47 PM

I know bw. njoroge at cck is among the guests hapo chini and will soon enforce. ..
can't wait for future drop in interconnect rates...
mwanahisa
#56 Posted : Wednesday, May 18, 2011 6:55:27 PM

Safaricom results were commendable in that they did not fall as much as might have been expected or had been feared. I am very impressed by the increase in revenue but equally distressed by the rise in costs/expenses.

In my forecast spreadsheet I had an EPS of 0.33 based on assumption that H2 earnings would be 30% less than H1 as a consequence of the price wars. Interestingly, this was bang on target.
#57 Posted : Wednesday, May 18, 2011 7:03:03 PM

Hunderwear wrote:
This serves to tell you how much safaricon conned us.So far Airtel are my hero.Now with the new Tech offcer expect 3G soon and safcon data monopoly wil juz evaporate

Airtel cannot survive this way for long. You can't run a loss making enterprise perpetually!
#58 Posted : Wednesday, May 18, 2011 7:03:17 PM

So a 12x PER is quite high in my books when I can buy banks with lower PERs...
the deal
#59 Posted : Wednesday, May 18, 2011 7:06:24 PM

I have a BUY recommendation on Safaricom.
#60 Posted : Wednesday, May 18, 2011 7:14:19 PM

Been waiting for a one adyjenson a.k.a airtel mutua to comment.