wazua Mon, Jul 28, 2025

5 Pages«<2345>
Safaricom FY 2011 Results due on 18th May
QW25071985
#61 Posted : Tuesday, May 17, 2011 11:41:47 AM

youcan'tstopusnow wrote:
[quote=VituVingiSana]Cheaper calls coming! http://www.businessdaily...-/10p3c1wz/-/index.html[/quote]
YIPEE!

i bet @ VVS will we his pants in joy !!!!!

nani kama CCK !!!! Laughing out loudly
#62 Posted : Tuesday, May 17, 2011 1:56:45 PM

QW25071985 wrote:
youcan'tstopusnow wrote:
[quote=VituVingiSana]Cheaper calls coming! http://www.businessdaily...-/10p3c1wz/-/index.html[/quote]
YIPEE!

I hope CCK will come up with the infrastructure and finance the development of new products because with reducing margins there is no way Telcom companies will put money in these areas. I know there is no way CCK will do such a thing but I'm just saying.

Celebrate now but make sure you have one eye on the future.
Kulchaz
#63 Posted : Tuesday, May 17, 2011 4:20:17 PM

CCK should establish a clearing house for the mobile money transfers. If this happens...................... sisemi kitu!
#64 Posted : Tuesday, May 17, 2011 4:44:25 PM

Mpesa and all other mobile money transfers will become useless if the bureaucracy of banks is introduced like the clearing you are dreaming about.
#65 Posted : Tuesday, May 17, 2011 9:49:39 PM

QW25071985 wrote:
youcan'tstopusnow wrote:
YIPEE!

I hope CCK will come up with the infrastructure and finance the development of new products because with reducing margins there is no way Telcom companies will put money in these areas. I know there is no way CCK will do such a thing but I'm just saying.

Celebrate now but make sure you have one eye on the future.

M-Pesa belongs to Safaricom & they should have 'first' dibs. As for for voice, I am happy with lower costs. As for infrastructure development, USA has almost zero interconnection fees yet has one of the world's best networks...
mwanahisa
#66 Posted : Tuesday, May 17, 2011 9:52:47 PM

I think folks had better be prepared to be dissapointed by SCOM results, if not tomorrow, then soon. But I am praying that it be otherwise!
#67 Posted : Tuesday, May 17, 2011 10:04:30 PM

mwanahisa wrote:
I think folks had better be prepared to be dissapointed by SCOM results, if not tomorrow, then soon. But I am praying that it be otherwise!
Data will show HUGE growth & as long as the rest flounder [like Airtel & Orange] Safaricom will lead the pack!

Nevertheless, I would never write off the others. Look at Equity vs BBK 5 years ago!!!
the deal
#68 Posted : Tuesday, May 17, 2011 10:40:11 PM

If Safcom Flops tommorrow the NSE flops too...so Pray...fast...for better results.
#69 Posted : Tuesday, May 17, 2011 11:13:20 PM

the deal wrote:
If Safcom Flops tommorrow the NSE flops too...so Pray...fast...for better results.
So what? No company is too big to fail...!

Plus at most Safaricom will see a 'reduction' in profits on 2011-12 not a 'collapse'...

Also just as lower fuel prices benefit MOST Kenyans, lower calling costs benefit MOST Kenyans!
Cde Monomotapa
#70 Posted : Wednesday, May 18, 2011 6:13:52 AM

the deal wrote:

Whatever man. Let it trade on merit.
the deal
#71 Posted : Wednesday, May 18, 2011 7:01:23 AM

Highly Anticipated...Results to be announced at 4PM Kenyan Time...live streaming on your Safcom mobile and Website...Safaricom we go Hard(DieHard Fan)....!
hisah
#72 Posted : Wednesday, May 18, 2011 7:19:12 AM

If the PBT is down 2 - 4B that will be a stellar result. At 6B down I get concerned... If revenues are above 78B that's stellar too.
I saw a bloomberg article suggesting revenues above 90B. That will be a shocker with kamikaze price wars!? Such an outcome will get people asking for lower rates smile
$15/barrel oil... The commodities lehman moment arrives as well as Sovereign debt volcano!
#73 Posted : Wednesday, May 18, 2011 9:40:29 AM

It's come down to this
The last few hours before results
Who will get it right? The locals or the foreigners...

My bet is the foreigners on this one!

Revenue is expected to jump 14 percent to 96.1 billion shillings ($1.1 billion) while earnings per share will rise 8.6 percent to 0.415 shilling, according to African Alliance’s forecast, which is higher than the 0.367-shilling mean estimate by seven analysts polled by Bloomberg.

http://www.bloomberg.com/news/2...ork-fee-cut-support.html
the deal
#74 Posted : Wednesday, May 18, 2011 10:01:29 AM

What to Look forward to in Safaricom Earnings 2010-11?
Today at 15:30 PM Kenyan time Safaricom Kenya's most profitable company will announce their earnings for 2010-11, the earnings will be streamed live on Safaricom's website as well as on Safaricom subscribers mobile handsets.

So what should one look towards to in this numbers? As an investor or analyst i will be looking at the following metrics:-

1. Earnings Before Interests, Taxes, Depreciation and Amortization (EBITDA)-which is a measure of the companies performance, its calculated as Revenue-expenses

2. Churn Rates-the rate at which customers leave for a competitor, it will be quite interesting to see how many Safaricom customers ported since the start of price wars.

3. Average Revenue per User(ARPU)-it's a useful measure of growth performance but it's harder to maintain with tough competition, together combined wit the churn rates it will be interesting to see how they were impacted Bharti Airtel fronted priced wars

4. Mpesa and Data-what will be their contributions to the bottom line?

Courtesy of http://contrarianinvesti...rd-to-in-safaricom.html

Analysis of the results later in the day
#75 Posted : Wednesday, May 18, 2011 11:04:46 AM

Yes profits up but immediately after airtel will announce 50/- cents calls across all networks and the cck boss will talk of "super normal profit" and the share will fall to 3.50/- due to panic and pedestrian revenue calculations, this is for a very long term person, till the day airtel is unable to pay it's debts, the share price is going nowhere.
Meru Holiness
Barrywhite
#76 Posted : Wednesday, May 18, 2011 11:15:04 AM

To announce calls at 50 cts across the network would be well below the 1.44/= interconnectivity. Even now, calls across the network by Airtel are 3/= at interconnectivity of 2.21/=. Besides, if reports on that task force are anything to go by, interconnect revenue only contributes about 7% of the total telco industry revenue. For airtel, the % is much higher as they have alot of outbound calls. For Safaricom,I imagine its much lower as they have less outbound compared to inbound calls. I doubt the impact would be as severe as you predict. Time will tell though.
The laudable is more often than not rendered laughable by overclaim
Jamani
#77 Posted : Wednesday, May 18, 2011 6:03:27 PM

VVS sema kitu bwana! uko wapi?
#78 Posted : Wednesday, May 18, 2011 6:06:15 PM

Jamani wrote:

As expected... Profits are down! [I am glad Revenues are up coz it underlines the false arguments presented by Safaricom that Revenues will suffer with the price wars!]

I need to look at the results in detail though...

Revenues are UP as they should be with the jump in usage of Voice minutes + data!!!
Jamani
#79 Posted : Wednesday, May 18, 2011 6:07:42 PM

Jamani wrote:

As expected... Profits are down! [I am glad Revenues are up coz it underlines the flase arguments by Safaricom that Revenues will suffer with the price wars!]

I need to look at the results in detail though...

Revenues are UP as they should be!!!

Ahsante!! angalia kabisaAnxious
#80 Posted : Wednesday, May 18, 2011 6:30:26 PM

Barrywhite wrote:

To announce calls at 50 cts across the network would be well below the 1.44/= interconnectivity. Even now, calls across the network by Airtel are 3/= at interconnectivity of 2.21/=. Besides, if reports on that task force are anything to go by, interconnect revenue only contributes about 7% of the total telco industry revenue. For airtel, the % is much higher as they have alot of outbound calls. For Safaricom,I imagine its much lower as they have less outbound compared to inbound calls. I doubt the impact would be as severe as you predict. Time will tell though.

The 50cents offer is on-net calls so not interconnection fee...