wazua Mon, Jul 28, 2025

Stanchart Q1 2011 PBT up by 11.5%, PAT up 13.9%
mwanahisa
#1 Posted : Tuesday, May 17, 2011 5:42:23 PM

I guess the surprise here is that SCBK almost matched BBK's Profit Before Tax and actually managed to surpass the Eagle on PAT.

Detailed results in comparison to Q1 2010 are as follows:

>PBT up 11.54% to 2,314,041,000
>PAT up 13.88% to 1,640,705,000

>Operating Income up 21.49% to 4.1 B

Interestingly, this was on the back of a 4% decline in interest income to 2.45 B from 2.55B in Q1 2010. This was however more than matched by a 52% reduction in interest expenses. Walinyoa wateja vikali.

SCBK's saving grace was a very solid 42.4% increase in Other Income to Kshs 1.9 B from 1.34 B in Q1 2010. This was driven largely by a more than 100% increase in foreign exchange trading income and an increase in other fees and commissions (Perhaps the Custodial business has started paying dividends already).

All in all not too bad for a bank we do not usually expect a lot from.
#2 Posted : Tuesday, May 17, 2011 5:58:19 PM

Not bad, but banks now eating the dust of Equity! Infact, Equity iko mbele hadi the dust seems to have dissapeared
Cde Monomotapa
#3 Posted : Tuesday, May 17, 2011 5:58:38 PM

Interesting..this beberu bank surpassed my expectation.
#4 Posted : Tuesday, May 17, 2011 6:01:21 PM

mwanahisa, where did you get the results? NSE and SCBK website have nothing
Cde Monomotapa
#5 Posted : Tuesday, May 17, 2011 6:01:44 PM

I AM OFFICIALY A VETERAN!! WOOHUU!! Drinks on me!! Na wewe ycsun wacha siasa hiyo.
mwanahisa
#6 Posted : Tuesday, May 17, 2011 6:07:44 PM

The roll of honour in terms of PBT stands as:

1. Equity Bank comes in FIRST at Kshs 2.89 B
2. KCB is SECOND at Kshs 2.5 B
3. BBK holds onto THIRD at Kshs 2.4 B
4. SCBK hot on BBK's heels, FOURTH at Kshs 2.3 B
5. Coop closes out the TOP 5 at Kshs 2.04 B

I am assuming that there will be no suprises from any of the smaller banks (e.g. CFC Stanbic and I & M Bank that have not yet reported.

I expect KCB to ratchet up its performance in Q2 and other subsequent quarters. But Equity's prformance was just brilliant going by these comparisons so far.
mwanahisa
#7 Posted : Tuesday, May 17, 2011 6:09:36 PM

Cde Monomotapa wrote:
I AM OFFICIALY A VETERAN!! WOOHUU!! Drinks on me!! Na wewe ycsun wacha siasa hiyo.

Congrats Comrade! Wea the drinks at?
#8 Posted : Tuesday, May 17, 2011 6:10:18 PM

Cde Monomotapa wrote:

Congrats on being a VET! Cde wacha niseme ukweli. Benki zingine zinakula vumbi mbaya sana!Laughing out loudly
mwanahisa
#9 Posted : Tuesday, May 17, 2011 6:11:32 PM

youcan'tstopusnow wrote:
mwanahisa, where did you get the results? NSE and SCBK website have nothing

Let's just say I have my sources e.g. an advance copy of tomorrow's paper d'oh! !
Cde Monomotapa
#10 Posted : Tuesday, May 17, 2011 6:12:13 PM

mwanahisa wrote:
Cde Monomotapa wrote:

Congrats Comrade! Wea the drinks at?

Psys langata. Frido!
Cde Monomotapa
#11 Posted : Tuesday, May 17, 2011 6:14:56 PM

youcan'tstopusnow wrote:
Cde Monomotapa wrote:

Congrats on being a VET! Cde wacha niseme ukweli. Benki zingine zinakula vumbi mbaya sana!Laughing out loudly

Thanks kwa shangwe na vigelegele! I agree but where you will also agree with me by the end of the year is when KCB topples your pet.
#12 Posted : Tuesday, May 17, 2011 7:00:57 PM

mwanahisa wrote:
The roll of honour in terms of PBT stands as:

1. Equity Bank comes in FIRST at Kshs 2.89 B
2. KCB is SECOND at Kshs 2.5 B
3. BBK holds onto THIRD at Kshs 2.4 B
4. SCBK hot on BBK's heels, FOURTH at Kshs 2.3 B
5. Coop closes out the TOP 5 at Kshs 2.04 B

I am assuming that there will be no suprises from any of the smaller banks (e.g. CFC Stanbic and I & M Bank that have not yet reported.

CFCStanbic might show flashes of brilliance but overall it is not match for the of the top 5! The assets may match the top 5 but the profits match #6-10

Nah, I&M Bank is too small. Its peers are NIC Bank, DTBank & Prime Bank.

Other strongly profitable (but non-investable) banks include CBA, Citibank.

@mwanahisa What about 6-10?
mwanahisa
#13 Posted : Tuesday, May 17, 2011 7:29:00 PM

CFCStanbic might show flashes of brilliance but overall it is not match for the of the top 5! The assets may match the top 5 but the profits match #6-10

Nah, I&M Bank is too small. Its peers are NIC Bank, DTBank & Prime Bank.

Other strongly profitable (but non-investable) banks include CBA, Citibank.

@mwanahisa What about 6-10?

You are right about CFC Stanbic.

However, w.r.t I & M, it came up very strongly through most of last year and I expect it to now be topping the rest of the brigade (i.e. after the top 5).

I will update my rankings with 6-10 once the other banks report. I & M and CBA have not yet reported and I expect them to be vying for these positions along with their listed peers NBK & CFC Stanbic - Results for DTB and NIC are already in.
#14 Posted : Tuesday, May 17, 2011 7:33:55 PM

Cde Monomotapa wrote:
youcan'tstopusnow wrote:
Cde Monomotapa wrote:

Thanks kwa shangwe na vigelegele! I agree but where you will also agree with me by the end of the year is when KCB topples your pet.

BOLD statement that!
Now we do nothing but wait.
The countdown begins...
moneydust
#15 Posted : Tuesday, May 17, 2011 7:44:57 PM

youcan'tstopusnow wrote:
Cde Monomotapa wrote:
youcan'tstopusnow wrote:
Cde Monomotapa wrote:

BOLD statement that!
The countdown begins...

I dont understand this obsession with KCB..we have been here before and it badly dissapointed
Cde Monomotapa
#16 Posted : Tuesday, May 17, 2011 8:01:48 PM

youcan'tstopusnow wrote:
Cde Monomotapa wrote:
youcan'tstopusnow wrote:
Cde Monomotapa wrote:

BOLD statement that!
The countdown begins...

Sure, sure comrade. Positive compe. Bottom line ni kila mtu arudi home na nyama!!
Cde Monomotapa
#17 Posted : Tuesday, May 17, 2011 8:03:45 PM

moneydust wrote:
youcan'tstopusnow wrote:
Cde Monomotapa wrote:
youcan'tstopusnow wrote:
Cde Monomotapa wrote:

BOLD statement that!
The countdown begins...

I dont understand this obsession with KCB..we have been here before and it badly dissapointed

Look up business cycles 101 is my advice.
Iborian
#18 Posted : Tuesday, May 17, 2011 8:41:16 PM

Cde Monomotapa wrote:
Sure, sure comrade. Positive compe. Bottom line ni kila mtu arudi home na nyama!!

Na vegeterians watado?
#19 Posted : Tuesday, May 17, 2011 9:00:34 PM

Iborian wrote:
Cde Monomotapa wrote:

Na vegeterians watado?

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Watarudi nyumbani na whoonga: WHOONGA
chaliwong
#20 Posted : Tuesday, May 17, 2011 9:16:29 PM

Lets hope that Donors funds through govas influence keep coming through Equity and they will never come to compete for deposits in the open market.

i.e get at 3% from China to lend at between 9-11%

Make Hay While The Sun Shines.