wazua Mon, Jul 28, 2025

Free calls on Zain!!! woohoo
subzero
#1 Posted : Wednesday, October 21, 2009 3:37:00 PM

Zain Kenya has today launched a special Prepaid offer that will allow subscribers to TALK,TALK & TALK to up to 3 Zain numbers for FREE for 7days!!!
basically,when you load 100,you can talk to one number for free for 7 days,when you load 250 u talk to 2 numbers for free for 7 days,when u load 500,you talk for 3 numbers for free for 7 days

just reload and send the the word add + 'the number to talk for free' to the number 144
#2 Posted : Wednesday, October 21, 2009 3:49:00 PM

...but the problem is that I have nothing to say...
Kamaa
#3 Posted : Wednesday, October 21, 2009 4:23:00 PM

What if you load 1k..? @ magigi LMAO!

When you run so fast to get somewhere,you miss the fun of getting there... Life is not a race,so take it slowly....
When you hear what I say, you will not understand. When you see what I do, you will not comprehend
Eddy
#4 Posted : Wednesday, October 21, 2009 5:55:00 PM

I wish they would work on the internet to broadband and stop this crazy marketing gimmick that will not work unless the calls are to safaricom i dont see how they will gain on this and wonder what the excitement is all about.

cxz
#5 Posted : Wednesday, October 21, 2009 9:06:00 PM

forgive me for hijacking this threat,but what happened to orange?

'A stone is heavy,and the sand weighty; but a fool's wrath is heavier than them both.' (Proverbs 27:3).
#6 Posted : Wednesday, October 21, 2009 9:09:00 PM

sticking to the topic at hand,most people use Zain lines to make voice calls.good offer to top the gold card benefits especially going into the holiday season...hats off.
chris79
#7 Posted : Wednesday, October 21, 2009 11:06:00 PM

Finally Zain is set to launch 3G by the first half of next year. Too late in the day perhaps?

Be the change you want to see in the world...
Djinn
#8 Posted : Thursday, October 22, 2009 5:46:00 AM

@chris79 - the delayed launch of 3G does not necessarily mean they are lagging behind. With Safaricom it was perhaps 'ego driven' to be 'the first' with 3G in a market where less than 2% of total subscriber can afford a 3G handset. Remember Maria Antionette said 'the people want bread,not cakes' - the Kenyan subscriber basically needs good coverage and of good quality for voice. Data is growing exponentially but right now most people are happy with GPRS and EDGE - 3G is dependent on handsets - handsets which are really out of reach for most Kenyans....

The problem with equality is that we desire that it be with those that have more than us rather that those that have less
akowally
#9 Posted : Thursday, October 22, 2009 6:14:00 AM

Yeah,marketing gimmick. The country is more on the 50-20sh credit range. Will attract more of the upper class guys. Though might use it one of these days with my zain line...

@cxz

kwani there is something wrong with orange

When we pray in praise to God,he makes a difference in our lives.
JOIN MY FREE MINI-COURSE FOR WRITERS. CLICK HERE
Pretty
#10 Posted : Thursday, October 22, 2009 6:18:00 AM

@Djinn

v You are missing the point sir

v For a mobile telephony provider to go 3G,you must pay CCK 2 billion

v Yes,2 billion

v Djinn,am serious,oops!,am actually saying

v Zain were not willing or could not afford to pay 2 billion in order to activate their 3G capability

v Sawa papa?

v 'But you must remember that I didn’t set up to dominate,It’s unfair to criticize me for doing my job well' Michael Joseph on the monopolistic status of Safaricom which now controls over 79% of the mobile business market although they expected to lose market to Yu,Orange and Zain to settle at around 65 to 70%.

v Smart Company: Tuesday Oct 20,09 pg 2

v By the way,did you know MJ is a Jew? Or can someone correct me on this.

>>>>>>It saves you hell if you treat new acquaintances as enemies consistently until each proves otherwise or confirms - Jsanchiazh.
>>>>>>>In life,there are three classes of people,those who make things happen,those who watch things happen and those who ask what happened. Where do you fall?
>>>>>>
A thing of beauty is a joy for ever:
Its loveliness increases;
It will never pass into nothingness;
But still will keep a bower quiet for us,
and a sleep full of sweet dreams,
and health, and quiet breathing. - Keats

>>>>>>>In life,there are three classes of people,
1. Those who make things happen,
2. Those who watch things happen
3. And those who ask what happened.

Where do you fall?
Mpenzi
#11 Posted : Thursday, October 22, 2009 6:30:00 AM

Kama kawaida with Zain,not a mention of the offer on their website.
Mpenzi
#12 Posted : Thursday, October 22, 2009 6:33:00 AM

The 2 billion fee to CCK is a massive rip-off and a barrier to better mobile telephony in the country.
cxz
#13 Posted : Thursday, October 22, 2009 7:02:00 AM

@akowally,orange has been so quite. No offers,no promotions. They also rarely advertise on tv

'A stone is heavy,and the sand weighty; but a fool's wrath is heavier than them both.' (Proverbs 27:3).
akowally
#14 Posted : Thursday, October 22, 2009 7:37:00 AM

CXZ

They must be experiencing losses or cutting down. By the way word of advice,if you are on the bob forever tariff,don't make a mistake of 'trying' the Niaje Tariff. Once you migrate,there is no option of migrating back and all the new lines are on Niaje. The only solution for that is to buy a Telkom Wireless line....I guess the 1bob Forever thing is a flop to them ...

chris79
#15 Posted : Thursday, October 22, 2009 8:55:00 AM

@djinn,it's a given fact that revenues from voice are on the decline that data is the next big thing in telecommunications. Given that the Oranges and the safcoms of this world had the foresight to invest heavily in data while Zain tried- unsuccessfully- to tilt the market share for voice in it's favor,I think Zain is still at a distinct disadvantage compared to it's nearest competitors. From other posts in this site,it seems Zain is doing rather poorly even with the 'bread' of EDGE/GPRS. By the time they wake up from their slumber and go 3G,the competition will have locked in major accounts in contracts and will have recouped their investments. Hence they'll be able to offer the same service at a lower cost leaving Zain scrambling for crumbs yet again...

Be the change you want to see in the world...
#16 Posted : Thursday, October 22, 2009 11:47:00 AM

waste of time. tried to load some numbers on it and it could not because those numbers are already on vuka plus. so i have to unsubscribe them from vuka plus ( i cannot even recollect the process to subscribe or unsubscribe) before i can move them to free calls for 7 days. it happens that the numbers that you would want to call for free are already on vuka plus. rather pay kes 3 per minute than to go through all that hassle. probable a ruse to get guys out of vuka plus.

again,waste of time.
akowally
#17 Posted : Thursday, October 22, 2009 1:37:00 PM

This and Orange's Niaje are same script different cast .... Niaje was to kick out Bob Forever Tariff .... and this zain thing is to kick out Vuka+

mwanahisa
#18 Posted : Thursday, October 22, 2009 3:20:00 PM

This is just one more of the gimmicks that Zain has been trying unsuccesfully for a while. In the interest of competition,I would like to cheer them on though. As one of the peculiar Kenyans with active lines from all the providers (including a land line),I find that the Zain line is the one I use least. Their special offers all come with terms and conditions that make it really hard to utilise - consequently it is the one line on which I have airtime given that I hardly ever use it. Most of us have also not forgiven them for shortchanging us on Vuka Kshs 8 calls to other networks and the Ksh 65 all day calls. Talk of consistently being inconsistent!

As for 3G,Zain is only promising to launch this if and when CCK reduces the licence fee from US$ 25 million,which is by no means assured. However,even if that happens it may indeed be a little late. First mover advantage in our market has proved to be fairly insurmountable. Well,although thinking about it it is not so different in other regions. As an illustration - when was the last time you tried to use BING as opposed to Googling something?

Opportunity calls but few respond.
subzero
#19 Posted : Thursday, October 22, 2009 5:45:00 PM

i have a feeling this might be the best promo by Zain yet.
cxz
#20 Posted : Thursday, October 22, 2009 6:06:00 PM

This is the best promotion EVER! The terms and conditions are too easy to fulfil,simply top up with your preferred amount once every seven days and talk talk talk. Another service provider should try beat this