wazua Mon, Jul 28, 2025

5 Pages<1234>»
Safaricom FY 2011 Results due on 18th May
Jamani
#21 Posted : Wednesday, May 11, 2011 1:06:13 PM

Jamani wrote:
As a consumer... pole for the job losses but the economy has benefited from cheaper calls too!

VVS are you serious to state that the economy benefited, when there are job loses and the government has also lost income(taxes) and prices are escalating to meet the challenge! get serious kidogo dont only look at the ability to have cheap calls

[/quote]
Absolutely! Cheaper fuel will benefit more Kenyans overall & so cheaper phone calls will benefit more Kenyans. The 'increased' profits simply means Vodaphone, Airtel or Orange France will benefit more than Kenyans!

Or perhaps you think we should get rid of cars & go to mkokotenis so that we do not need to import fuel & provide many more jobs for Kenyans?

Ahhh! Let's get rid of 'cheap' computers so more people can be hired as secretaries using typewriters![/quote]

Simple mind.......
Iborian
#22 Posted : Wednesday, May 11, 2011 1:16:40 PM

Jamani wrote:

Simple mind.......

You just described yourself real nicely by not taking VVS up on his arguements. I may not like VVS but one can never depict him thus.
Jamani
#23 Posted : Wednesday, May 11, 2011 1:20:23 PM

Iborian wrote:
Jamani wrote:

Simple mind.......

You just described yourself real nicely by not taking VVS up on his arguements. I may not like VVS but one can never depict him thus.

no problem and thanks
Renegade
#24 Posted : Wednesday, May 11, 2011 4:48:56 PM

There is no doubt that Safaricom will survive this onslaught (and many others to come) but it looks like its best days as an investment are over.Sad
Cde Monomotapa
#25 Posted : Wednesday, May 11, 2011 4:55:43 PM

Renegade wrote:
There is no doubt that Safaricom will survive this onslaught (and many others to come) but it looks like its best days as an investment are over.Sad

Roger that! With the major & ABRUPT re-alignment in the telco industry, S.com is now more beneficial to customers over its owners in revenue terms. Period!
mwanahisa
#26 Posted : Wednesday, May 11, 2011 5:58:07 PM

The problem with Safcom is that even if it reports reasonable results, it has lost its ooomph. Assuming it reports an improved EPS of 40 cts with a dividend of 25 cts, I still think this will hardly do anything to its price as its future is now clouded.
#27 Posted : Thursday, May 12, 2011 8:18:07 AM

Cde, Renegade: True that. Safcon is a customers heaven but an investors hell!
VVS, keep telling it like it is! Ukweli Udumu!
#28 Posted : Friday, May 13, 2011 7:37:58 AM

Its likely to be bad news gauging by the reaction of the share in the past few days.

COOP 255,000 ABP 15.85; IMH 5,000 ABP 35.55; KQ 604,200 ABP 6.96; MTN 23,800 ABP 5.20
#29 Posted : Friday, May 13, 2011 8:17:54 AM

mwanahisa wrote:
The problem with Safcom is that even if it reports reasonable results, it has lost its ooomph. Assuming it reports an improved EPS of 40 cts with a dividend of 25 cts, I still think this will hardly do anything to its price as its future is now clouded.

The era of super normal growth is gone but safaricom remains a giant among dwarfs. Best strategy is to accumulate slowly when share goes down... My 2 cents
#30 Posted : Friday, May 13, 2011 8:21:38 AM

mwanahisa wrote:

The era of super normal growth is gone but safaricom remains a giant among dwarfs. Best strategy is to accumulate slowly when share goes down... My 2 cents
the deal
#31 Posted : Friday, May 13, 2011 9:34:16 AM

Its likely to be bad news gauging by the reaction of the share in the past few days.

share price and earnings are two different things...the later is influenceed by sentiment and jittery investors like you.
Cde Monomotapa
#32 Posted : Friday, May 13, 2011 9:47:37 AM

the deal wrote:

share price and earnings are two different things...the later is influenceed by sentiment and jittery investors like you.

I believe you meant to say the former but it makes me go a big TIHIHI @Obiero.
#33 Posted : Friday, May 13, 2011 9:57:26 AM

mwanahisa wrote:

I can bet you scom would hit 6/- same day with that EPS and dividend. I'm one of the people who would buy.

#34 Posted : Friday, May 13, 2011 10:24:04 AM

Hehehehe... I thank Safaricom for the service, M-pesa, etc lakini as @Renegade said... as an investment [@ 4/-] it is toast!

@jamani - Pole sana if you or your relas work there... I support Airtel [or anyone] who lowers MY expenses thru competition!

Poor safaricom shareholders... [I will buy but at 3/-]...
Cde Monomotapa
#35 Posted : Friday, May 13, 2011 10:27:12 AM

@VVS - hata 3 bob ni doe mob. 1-chwani, 2 bob sawa.
#36 Posted : Friday, May 13, 2011 10:54:14 AM

HI support Airtel [or anyone] who lowers MY expenses thru competition!

Airtel is on borrowed time. This 'NGO' strategy is not sustainable.

hisah
#37 Posted : Friday, May 13, 2011 11:21:22 AM

If a poll was to be conducted to wazuans today on the direction of safcom share price, the larger % would indicate downwards something like 70% bearish and 20% bullish and 10% neutral. Now the best time to board this bus would be after July when CCK implements the interconnection fee cut and another price swoon would see it at 3/- or lower.
When the poll reads 90% bearish and 10% neutral that's the time to bet the house for a rally and the volume spike will tell you so.

This is what I am looking for as a trader in Q3 2011 on this counter before they announce their H1 2011 results in Nov. I'll signal this move when it happens. In the meantime watch May 17th and 19th volumes.
$15/barrel oil... The commodities lehman moment arrives as well as Sovereign debt volcano!
Jamani
#38 Posted : Friday, May 13, 2011 8:13:23 PM

Hehehehe... I thank Safaricom for the service, M-pesa, etc lakini as @Renegade said... as an investment [@ 4/-] it is toast!

@jamani - Pole sana if you or your relas work there... I support Airtel [or anyone] who lowers MY expenses thru competition!

Poor safaricom shareholders... [I will buy but at 3/-]...

VVS I have mentioned many times to you that i do not work for safaricom neither do i have relas there. pole sana continue looking for cheap things, it tells me all about you.....
#39 Posted : Friday, May 13, 2011 10:11:06 PM

@cde. usimkosoe huyu mnamibia. he meant the later! its like im on the board or something.. ha ha

COOP 255,000 ABP 15.85; IMH 5,000 ABP 35.55; KQ 604,200 ABP 6.96; MTN 23,800 ABP 5.20
Cde Monomotapa
#40 Posted : Friday, May 13, 2011 10:48:02 PM

@cde. usimkosoe huyu mnamibia. he meant the later! its like im on the board or something.. ha ha

Insider trading pap!! Lol!