wazua Sun, Feb 2, 2025

Churchill live
#41 Posted : Friday, May 13, 2011 7:59:33 AM

I notice something about the children we are shown being asked a few questions. They are so good in singing the music of musicians but fare terribly when asked general questions.

sample yesterdays question: mwenda tezi na omo?....... ng'arisha maisha was the kids response!

And then they took on singing 'kigeugeu' like it was a cup of tea!

Pathetic! Horrible! Scary! Disturbing! Bewildering!
#42 Posted : Friday, May 13, 2011 10:04:25 AM

YesuWangu wrote:
I notice something about the children we are shown being asked a few questions. They are so good in singing the music of musicians but fare terribly when asked general questions.

sample yesterdays question: mwenda tezi na omo?....... ng'arisha maisha was the kids response!

And then they took on singing 'kigeugeu' like it was a cup of tea!

Pathetic! Horrible! Scary! Disturbing! Bewildering!

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly I Usually wonder why a kid would sing a song with lewd message like the one they sang last week abt a chick who is not into boyz I think its a song by marya and the 'mathururia' chick.

#43 Posted : Friday, May 13, 2011 12:26:10 PM

@Yesu Wangu, aiiih? Kwani where did you grow up? Ama ulikuwa boarding school in primary?

Kids get lyrics very fast. And also advertisements. The interesting stuff. That's why they answered 'hung'arisha'.

Also, they appeared not to know the proverb at all. i.e. never heard of it.
duky
#44 Posted : Friday, May 13, 2011 12:49:11 PM

shenzitype wrote:
That dere chick is fly....... and to think she's atleast 18+14~ >32! Makes me wanna...........

The fella who does the jokes immediately after the interlude is also good "wase wase! Poa!"

The chick says she is a single mother but there is somebody in her life... Huyo ni bwana ya mtu!! Lakini hakuna shinda... Kwani mnataka wasichana kama yeye wafanye nini? She is too mature for the young boys!
#45 Posted : Friday, May 13, 2011 12:52:12 PM

duky wrote:
shenzitype wrote:
That dere chick is fly....... and to think she's atleast 18+14~ >32! Makes me wanna...........

The fella who does the jokes immediately after the interlude is also good "wase wase! Poa!"

The chick says she is a single mother but there is somebody in her life... Huyo ni bwana ya mtu!! Lakini hakuna shinda... Kwani mnataka wasichana kama yeye wafanye nini? She is too mature for the young boys!

wewe duky.it never occured to you that there was a single mat dere who is into the lady dere
#46 Posted : Friday, May 13, 2011 2:44:29 PM

@Yesu Wangu, aiiih? Kwani where did you grow up? Ama ulikuwa boarding school in primary?

Kids get lyrics very fast. And also advertisements. The interesting stuff. That's why they answered 'hung'arisha'.

Also, they appeared not to know the proverb at all. i.e. never heard of it.

Wewe wacha. What is the point of school if all one needs to know is the interesting adverts and music?

Inasmuch as they are learning 'kigeugeu' and ng'arisha maisha, they ought to also know mwenda tezi na omo marejeo ni ngamani. And what it means. And how to use it.

There is no excuse about this, whether the learner learnt in a bush boarding primary school or not or a city day school.
Dash
#47 Posted : Friday, May 13, 2011 2:50:28 PM

@Laughing out loudly you are not a parent are you?
#48 Posted : Friday, May 13, 2011 2:53:33 PM

YesuWangu wrote:
[

Wewe wacha. What is the point of school if all one needs to know is the interesting adverts and music?

Inasmuch as they are learning 'kigeugeu' and ng'arisha maisha, they ought to also know mwenda tezi na omo marejeo ni ngamani. And what it means. And how to use it.

They appeared totally ignorant. Maybe those 'deeper' meaning proverbs are taught in the higher levels.

Complete this one

Cha mkufuu...
#49 Posted : Friday, May 13, 2011 2:57:05 PM

Dash wrote:
@Laughing out loudly you are not a parent are you?

I'm not. But at class 4 I did not know all the proverbs. I was quick to judge them too but then I realised maybe they were too young for that particular proverb.

Complete this Swahili proverb for me

Cha mkufuu...
#50 Posted : Friday, May 13, 2011 3:04:36 PM

YesuWangu wrote:
sample yesterdays question: mwenda tezi na omo?

I consider myself fairly good in Kiswahili but neither do I know the answer to that question nor understand what the question is. It's greek to me and I doubt whether a swahili teacher would get it right either.

#51 Posted : Friday, May 13, 2011 3:20:06 PM

YesuWangu wrote:

I consider myself fairly good in Kiswahili but neither do I know the answer to that question nor understand what the question is. It's greek to me and I doubt whether a swahili teacher would get it right either.

Mwenda tezi na omo marejeo ni ngamani.

Tezi ni sehemu ya mbele kwenye meli

Omo ni sehemu ya nyuma

Ngamani ni sehemu ya katikati.

I think syllabus yao haijafika hapo.
#52 Posted : Friday, May 13, 2011 3:23:14 PM

YesuWangu wrote:

You are kidding. Right?

It's only that nowadays kids don't read - TV, Series, Movies, PS etc. For us you had to have a book for proverbs, another one for similes/metaphors etc. - both English and Swahili. And you had to go through that stuff and understand the meanings and use. You were always assured five random questions from each and that is what made all the difference in the top positions. And then there were teachers who insisted that they did not want "flat compositions". You must use proverbs, metaphors etc. if you want anything above 12/40. To get 30/40 and above you had to write like an experienced author. Dare you use sheng or slang - utaona siku mrefu! Then you have to write like two or more compositions a week - kwisha!!!
#53 Posted : Friday, May 13, 2011 3:28:29 PM

YesuWangu wrote:
[

They appeared totally ignorant. Maybe those 'deeper' meaning proverbs are taught in the higher levels.

Complete this one

Cha mkufuu...

I am not the one on trial here, bwana Laughing out loudly, neither are the children. I am the accuser. smile and the children are the innocent by standers.

when I say they

ought to also know mwenda tezi na omo marejeo ni ngamani. And what it means. And how to use it.

then the adults concerned, with whom the children spend most of the day with, should feel the urgency, like they are delaying education, to do something about it.

So that cases of people saying things not in radio or television are 'greek' to them do not arise. (sorry 2012 smile )

Its a big shame on the teachers of that school, and the parents too.

Psst......I wouldnt pounce on the children. Stop making it appear like I am doing that.
#54 Posted : Friday, May 13, 2011 3:34:41 PM

YesuWangu wrote:

You are kidding. Right?

Walahi sijui hiyo. If I was in 'who wants to be a millionare and that was the question to win $1m I'd quit. I would not even know who to call if I had the 'call a friend' option open

#55 Posted : Friday, May 13, 2011 3:39:04 PM

Reminds me of high school. Totally messed me misemo wise/proverb wise.

We had this habit of corrupting the misemo/proverbs especially while competing against other schools. We repeated the corrupted versions so much [and consistently] that when it came to the exam, it was almost impossible to remember the original versions!

Examples:

Haba na haba - ni haba mbili

Asiyefunzwa na mamaye - matako hulia mbwata

Mtaka cha mvunguni - Sharti avu(ru)te kitanda

Sikio la kufa - Lazima life

Mgema akisifiwa - wateja kwisha lewa

Mwenda tezi na omo - huchoka sana!

Asifuye mvua - lazima ni mkulima

Too many cooks - fill the kitchen

A stitch in time - saves the trouser

A bird in hand - a knife in the other

Do unto others - before they do unto you

And one for Friday:

To beer or not to beer - By William Shakes-beer.

And don't forget:

Beauty is the eye of the beer holder - Don't chips funga - Utashangaa kesho asubuhi. Nini hii kwa kitanda changu? Ilitoka wapi? Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
#56 Posted : Friday, May 13, 2011 3:44:41 PM

Maichblack, you guys were wicked. Ati a bird in hand a knife in the other. Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
#57 Posted : Friday, May 13, 2011 3:49:05 PM

YesuWangu wrote:

You are kidding. Right?

Walahi sijui hiyo. If I was in 'who wants to be a millionare and that was the question to win $1m I'd quit. I would not even know who to call if I had the 'call a friend' option open

In such a case, you call ANY kikuyu friend in your phone book. He will definitely save the day. This is what he/she will tell you;

Weee twedi twerof. Washa ujiga. Shukua hiyo $500,000. Washa kucheza na besha!!! Unajua hiyo ni buroti gapi ya by-pass ama Rwai?? Utanunua buroti kadhaa, ujege, ununue ka - 110 na bado ubakishe ya kufugua hardware na bushere!!!

On a lighter note. Msiniletee tribal emotions. I'm just joking. It's Friday after all!!!
duky
#58 Posted : Friday, May 13, 2011 3:49:43 PM

carygoh wrote:
duky wrote:
shenzitype wrote:

wewe duky.it never occured to you that there was a single mat dere who is into the lady dere

@carygoh at her age (about 34yrs) she can only relate well with a guy at least 40yrs and most serious guys of that age are married.
marex
#59 Posted : Tuesday, May 31, 2011 3:58:42 PM

Todays show, the main guest is none other than Raila
The way I am
#60 Posted : Tuesday, May 31, 2011 4:17:52 PM

marex wrote:
Todays show, the main guest is none other than Raila

And that is how another RAO thread began! smile