wazua Tue, Apr 28, 2026

5 Pages«<2345>
Buying a House or to Build-Pros and Cons
runjam
#31 Posted : Tuesday, May 10, 2011 1:42:13 PM

Any ladies who have built ? How was your experience with the fundis ?

Sometimes i get scared when i hear of all the challenges that people go through when building their homes.
Blackberry
#32 Posted : Tuesday, May 10, 2011 2:26:40 PM

runjam wrote:
Any ladies who have built ? How was your experience with the fundis ?

Sometimes i get scared when i hear of all the challenges that people go through when building their homes.

I did. well, still building ....was told mwako nduthiraga!?". I had labour contract with the main fundi who comes with fundis he trusts. we agree on what we shall do, I pay him and he pays his guys. never had a problem as his budgets are spot on.

Opinion is free, truth is sacred.

Eddy
#33 Posted : Tuesday, May 10, 2011 4:13:12 PM

Blackberry wrote:
A lot of headaches in building but you won't get the kind of home you want to build for 5 times the price if you choose to buy. I'm currently building and the house I'm building would have cost me over 25m if I was to buy it so I guess the headache is worth it plus how much can the fundis really steal? At most I give it 1m.

what you say makes a lot of senseApplause Applause a bag of cement disapearing once in a while is nothing compaired to the Markup your contractor will be making of the whole deal.

I bet the contractors factor in pilferage as well, in fact there is more loss with contractors than when on is building on their own. When you factor 1m they might factor 2.5m, hence their high cost.
yekeyeke
#34 Posted : Wednesday, May 11, 2011 10:15:24 AM

@Cohen

the fittings are hot high end, but good standard fiitings that you woudl find in a normal home. What o would advice is for you to see the sample and judge for yourself.
TD
#35 Posted : Wednesday, May 11, 2011 11:14:03 AM

@yekeyeke,

When you talk of 29k per sqm of plinth area, does it include you doing things like the septic and general paving of the driveway? Ama ni nyumba peke yake.

Secondly, it may help if you gave general fittings info.
eg. Roofing - clay tiles/ cement tiles/ decra / mabati
Ceiling - ?
Kitchen - granite/marble/tiles/concrete etc and max dimensions
wardrobes - max width of...

yekeyeke
#36 Posted : Wednesday, May 11, 2011 2:13:39 PM

@TD My reply in CAPS
When you talk of 29k per sqm of plinth area, does it include you doing things like the septic and general paving of the driveway? Ama ni nyumba peke yake. ALL AREAS.

Secondly, it may help if you gave general fittings info.
eg. Roofing - clay tiles/ cement tiles/ decra / mabati. THIS IS FOR MABATI THAT LOOKS LIKE TILES. EG. http://www.kaluworks.com/karm/tower_metcoppo.htm

Ceiling - ? STANDARD CEILING USING GYPSUM BOARD
Kitchen - granite/marble/tiles/concrete etc and max dimensions. THE COSTING IS FOR TILES AND COST WILL DEPEND ON PLINTH AREA.
wardrobes - max width of... THE COST WILL BE WITHIN THE 29k BUT YOU WILL DO THE SELECTION OF WHAT YOU WOULD LIKE IN THE HOUSE.

Capri
#37 Posted : Thursday, May 12, 2011 3:50:57 PM

yekeyeke wrote:

eg. Roofing - clay tiles/ cement tiles/ decra / mabati. THIS IS FOR MABATI THAT LOOKS LIKE TILES. EG. http://www.kaluworks.com/karm/tower_metcoppo.htm

As a point of interest, is the water harvested off these aluminum sheets potable ?
Pablo
#38 Posted : Saturday, May 14, 2011 11:40:33 AM

Good comments by SAC and Jason.
However I dont know if what Jason says is practical in terms of dont change a single detail. We are human beings and change is one constant that will be there. About the 29k per sqM. Wont say anything. Yani a 400SqM house would cost 11M to build? Interesting.
Mwafrika31
#39 Posted : Sunday, May 15, 2011 6:13:55 PM

Eddy wrote:
Blackberry wrote:
A lot of headaches in building but you won't get the kind of home you want to build for 5 times the price if you choose to buy. I'm currently building and the house I'm building would have cost me over 25m if I was to buy it so I guess the headache is worth it plus how much can the fundis really steal? At most I give it 1m.

what you say makes a lot of senseApplause Applause a bag of cement disapearing once in a while is nothing compaired to the Markup your contractor will be making of the whole deal.

I bet the contractors factor in pilferage as well, in fact there is more loss with contractors than when on is building on their own. When you factor 1m they might factor 2.5m, hence their high cost.

I am currently putting up an apartment building, and my experience is that you the owner, must be on site to run things. Massive pilferage only occurs when you hand over the project to some 'foreman'. Fundis hardly get an opportunity to steal, after all, how many of you have ever lifted a cement bag to realize just how heavy it is? Kinda hard to run off with many. Fundis generally rob each other of tools. Your foreman is your problem, he's the blood sucking vampire.

If you can, purchase the stones, ballast and sand in sufficient quantities, then take 3 months leave from work to be on site daily. Only pay cash at delivery for these materials. Dont trust anyone, always verify quantities.

The best way to deal with fundis is to allocate production quotas. For example, each of my fundis for walling must per day use up 6 full wheelbarrows of mortar at 1:4 mix otherwise I sack them immediately. For plastering its the same, electrician is by contract. Ive paid the electrician 7,500 per every two bedroomed apartment he completes. etc etc. If you will not be at the site DAILY please add 1.2 million to your budget. If you hand over to a construction company, add 1-5 million to whatever budget you have.

Lastly, 29,000 kshs per sqm is too expensive. My direct experience is 15,000 kila kitu. However, finishes is up to you, why you would need to install toilets that cost 45,000 is up to you. Construct your own home, its quite an experience and not as hard as people fear, as you know humans can get used to anything. At first it will be challenging but very quickly you'll get the hang of things unless you are thick. Goodluck.
Wa_ithaka
#40 Posted : Sunday, May 15, 2011 8:19:07 PM

Ksh29,000! Yekeyeke-your plan trying to discourage guys from using contractors has worked perfectly.
The Governor of Nyeri - 2017
5 Pages«<2345>