wazua Thu, Feb 6, 2025

Harrasment by Kanju
specky
#1 Posted : Friday, May 06, 2011 4:01:55 PM

The by laws in the city............are they made /created every other day,very soon it might be illegal to go to your place of work.
The other day,there was a lorry /canter deliverring some goods in a shop in town,then the makanga /turnboy was behind the canter directing the driver on how to reverse,kanju guys just came picked the makanga - who was in his company uniform and went away with him..reason....it is illegal to direct a driver on how to reverse his vehicle in Nairobi....aaaai,is this a crime?
FancyFace
#2 Posted : Friday, May 06, 2011 6:16:59 PM

isn't that touting?? #justasking

Problems can get out of proportion, and not only in the wee small hours. Don't let the problems eclipse the Master. Let the Master eclipse the problems.
#3 Posted : Friday, May 06, 2011 6:55:53 PM

@Specky, when did they release you?
#4 Posted : Friday, May 06, 2011 7:09:20 PM

@Specky - You will be surprised. Here is another one; It is illegal to trim you hedge/fence without a permit from the kanjo!

But some by laws are fake. The Askari Kanjo know that most Nairobians are ignorant of their stone age by laws and they can unleash a fake one on you. They bet on the fact that you will not want to 'julia mbele' if the offence is fake or real. You will be a nice Kenyan and 'chota kitu kidogo'.
#5 Posted : Friday, May 06, 2011 8:52:04 PM

Intelligentsia wrote:
@Specky, when did they release you?

The 'a friend of mine' myth strikes again. Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
PONDI
#6 Posted : Friday, May 06, 2011 11:13:49 PM

have you seen the breakdowns chasing mats picking up passengers at non designated points? eg LA and south c mats at afya centre? they actually ram into the mats! i wish some journalist can go armed with their cam at around lunchtime to around 3pm?
specky
#7 Posted : Saturday, May 07, 2011 10:00:39 AM

@Intelligentsia..........thank God it wasnt me.The guy was released after three hours and having parted with 1K
brav
#8 Posted : Saturday, May 07, 2011 11:33:48 AM

.The guy was released after three hours and having parted with 1K

usijali "..of men get lost in many places" thats how wanjohi would tell you.Laughing out loudly
#9 Posted : Monday, May 09, 2011 7:53:43 AM

specky wrote:
The by laws in the city............are they made /created every other day,very soon it might be illegal to go to your place of work.
The other day,there was a lorry /canter deliverring some goods in a shop in town,then the makanga /turnboy was behind the canter directing the driver on how to reverse,kanju guys just came picked the makanga - who was in his company uniform and went away with him..reason....it is illegal to direct a driver on how to reverse his vehicle in Nairobi....aaaai,is this a crime?

Send the story to "The Watchman" in Daily Nation and ask for Kisia to clarify. he usually rersponds to such issues... Would be good to include details - date, time, street, vehicle no., council officers names [if known], council vehicle they were riding in etc
action!
#10 Posted : Monday, May 09, 2011 9:29:26 AM

Where can we get a copy of the Nairobi by-laws?
specky
#11 Posted : Monday, May 09, 2011 9:52:23 AM

@action
i think from the city council offices.But...............they could mislead as the officers just create their own laws at anytime,anywhere
#12 Posted : Monday, May 09, 2011 11:57:44 AM

and they are burly bully fellas, not guys you can scare and refuse..

just wondering, what can you do if they harass you, beba you juu juu and throw you into those ugly trucks..?

then again, its a case of the poor oppressing themselves, me thinks