wazua Mon, Aug 4, 2025

21 Pages<1234>»
BRITAK IPO: The Money Maker
#21 Posted : Thursday, May 05, 2011 3:57:06 PM

the deal wrote:
Quick Facts on Britak: None of the current shareholders will be selling their shares during the IPO...therefore new shares will be offered during the IPO...the current Britak owners will be diluted by this new shares...there will also be a lock in period for the current owners.

A snippet from my upcoming blog post on Britak....kesho if i have i time.

What is your blog name?
The Merchant
#22 Posted : Thursday, May 05, 2011 4:50:49 PM

underweight wrote:
Most of their clientele are common mwanaichi and to win their loyalty they'll have to be considered expect the min will cater for the Wanjikus!

HUH?d'oh!
earthvoice
#23 Posted : Thursday, May 05, 2011 5:21:11 PM

For more info:
http://www.british-american.co.ke/index.php?id=193
"All intelligent investing is value investing -- acquiring more than you are paying for. You must value the business in order to value the stock." - Charlie Munger.
the deal
#24 Posted : Thursday, May 05, 2011 5:39:23 PM

the deal wrote:
Quick Facts on Britak: None of the current shareholders will be selling their shares during the IPO...therefore new shares will be offered during the IPO...the current Britak owners will be diluted by this new shares...there will also be a lock in period for the current owners.

What is your blog name?

http://contrarianinvestingkenya.blogspot.com
Salesman
#25 Posted : Thursday, May 05, 2011 6:14:39 PM

Alah!!
@ imp
given opportunity to vet subscribers based on tribe, u wud lock out how many?
Kweli hii ni Kenya.
Peperusha barua to rls.nbo@gmail.com
Muthawamunene
#26 Posted : Thursday, May 05, 2011 6:53:37 PM

They should limit amount of investment to kindu 100K to bar off kina wanjiru.

have u ever read George Orwel's 'The Animal Farm'?. You post reminds my of the phrase, 'all pigs are equal, but some pigs are more equal than others'. Now am not calling any one a pig, well may be our mp's, but lets give kila mtu a chance , even wanjiku. If she sells the next day, then u can buy her share. After all, the buyer is always in controll.
#27 Posted : Thursday, May 05, 2011 7:23:16 PM

It is an issue of cost. Whether you issue shares for 10,000/- or 100,000/- or 1,000,000/- the cost to the Issuer is (almost) the same.

So it makes sense [if the market is there] to issue 100 shareholders x 1,000,000/- than 10,000 shareholders x 10,000/- coz the former is significantly cheaper.
QW25071985
#28 Posted : Thursday, May 05, 2011 10:21:03 PM

Muthawamunene wrote:
They should limit amount of investment to kindu 100K to bar off kina wanjiru.

have u ever read George Orwel's 'The Animal Farm'?. You post reminds my of the phrase, 'all pigs are equal, but some pigs are more equal than others'. Now am not calling any one a pig, well may be our mp's, but lets give kila mtu a chance , even wanjiku. If she sells the next day, then u can buy her share. After all, the buyer is always in controll.

i am kamau and this post if offending ...Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
erifloss
#29 Posted : Thursday, May 05, 2011 10:27:47 PM

Entered this market with only 23,750 and years later it's a different story altogether for me. If you were never born in Kenyatta's or akina RAO's family then you started out as a wanjiku before you got to where you are.
'They say money cannot buy me happiness but when i compare when i had none and now, i'm happier' Kevin O'leary
QW25071985
#30 Posted : Thursday, May 05, 2011 10:31:21 PM

me i am 50/50 about dipping any money in such an uncertain market...with very few players showing interest even in A+ results like co-ops or equitys how will such an ipo fair...
i urge you guys to trade cautiously.
#31 Posted : Thursday, May 05, 2011 11:20:10 PM

What are u saying?cfc insurance which cant by all means be compared to britak was introduced at about 6bob and now at 19.50..i expect britak to do better.
#32 Posted : Friday, May 06, 2011 8:04:19 AM

MaichBlack, HEKO!
#33 Posted : Friday, May 06, 2011 8:47:06 AM

the deal wrote:

What is your blog name?

http://contrarianinvestingkenya.blogspot.com

Good man. Will check it out.
#34 Posted : Friday, May 06, 2011 10:32:41 AM

mlennyma wrote:
I disagree,GOD cannot love you because you are poor,we have poor sinners.

Luke 6:20-21. Blessed are you who are poor, for yours in the kingdom of God. Blessed are you who hunger now, for you shall be satisfied. Blessed are you who weep now, for you shall laugh.

Matthew 19:24. Again I tell you, it is easier for a camel to go through the eye of a needle than for a rich man to enter the kingdom of God."

For Sport
#35 Posted : Friday, May 06, 2011 10:55:15 AM

mlennyma wrote:

Luke 6:20-21. Blessed are you who are poor, for yours in the kingdom of God. Blessed are you who hunger now, for you shall be satisfied. Blessed are you who weep now, for you shall laugh.

Matthew 19:24. Again I tell you, it is easier for a camel to go through the eye of a needle than for a rich man to enter the kingdom of God."

"Blessed are the poor in spirit...
(not poor meaning nothing in your bank account or whatever other indicators of wealth we use).

"Blessed are they who hunger and thirst for righteousness
(not necessarily hunger for ugali and potatoes)
#36 Posted : Friday, May 06, 2011 10:58:26 AM

Where does Britak rank in insurance? Are they bigger than ICEA and Jubilee?

#37 Posted : Friday, May 06, 2011 11:04:27 AM

For Sport wrote:
mlennyma wrote:

"Blessed are the poor in spirit...
(not poor meaning nothing in your bank account or whatever other indicators of wealth we use).

That's Matthew 5:3 and not Luke 6:20-21.
"Blessed are the poor in spirit, for theirs is the kingdom of heaven.

Now check up Luke 6:20-21!

#38 Posted : Friday, May 06, 2011 11:30:47 AM

Thanks @for sport.i was about to respond but i guess you may be a pastor or preacher...2012 interpretes the bible like a novel.
#39 Posted : Friday, May 06, 2011 11:44:57 AM

@wazuans seems like I have been grossly misquoted.
I didnt mean to lock out small investors per se, but for the small investors to join hands in investment groups so that the share price does not pull a safcon on us;the share should be a bit rare.
Pray Pray Pray

bartum
#40 Posted : Friday, May 06, 2011 12:10:53 PM

@wazuans seems like I have been grossly misquoted.
I didnt mean to lock out small investors per se, but for the small investors to join hands in investment groups so that the share price does not pull a safcon on us;the share should be a bit rare.
Pray Pray Pray

dont take bashing lieing down,you have gone plan B.