wazua Wed, Mar 25, 2026

Ching'ende is all over!
#1 Posted : Thursday, May 05, 2011 7:36:55 PM

And our Luhya friends are having a field day.
Munching them live-live....
And RAW that is....
I cant enter the house coz they have jammed the security loght....
Impunitet is scared about these creatures...
Brought about by recent rains....
The so called flying termites....

murenj
#2 Posted : Thursday, May 05, 2011 9:10:17 PM

get smart culturally. They are called 'chiswa'. Highly nutritious, full of protein and mineral salts............I prefer them roasted........such a delicacy....
#3 Posted : Friday, May 06, 2011 8:15:36 AM

Delicacy while fried...bila mafuta!Drool Drool
cmk
#4 Posted : Friday, May 06, 2011 8:20:32 AM

i have a termite hill in my compound..any chiswa takers..will give out the hill for free.
Every man is guilty of all the good he didn't do-
Voltaire
#5 Posted : Friday, May 06, 2011 8:32:26 AM

@Murenj,
Many years back,i almost killed a neighbour of mine.He fed my son on chiswa (Roasted) kwa ugali and when the mom inquired,the boy narrated happily how he had taken ugali kwa mende....wacha tuu
#6 Posted : Friday, May 06, 2011 8:34:10 AM

Silly me... I thought ur house has been jammed by luhya relatives. Lol! Had to re-read ur post
#7 Posted : Friday, May 06, 2011 8:37:02 AM

@Murenj,
Many years back,i almost killed a neighbour of mine.He fed my son on chiswa (Roasted) kwa ugali and when the mom inquired,the boy narrated happily how he had taken ugali kwa mende....wacha tuu

@Guka, i'm guessing you didnt take him to hospital? and he might be an addict of the same now?
#8 Posted : Friday, May 06, 2011 8:53:24 AM

@cmk its the flying types that are edible,not the crawling ant-like species.

danas10
#9 Posted : Friday, May 06, 2011 9:20:32 AM

murenj wrote:
get smart culturally. They are called 'chiswa'. Highly nutritious, full of protein and mineral salts............I prefer them roasted........such a delicacy....

my classmates ate them way back in boarding school coz they were the only alternative to githeri with 5 beans per plate for 7 days a week.
#10 Posted : Friday, May 06, 2011 9:24:46 AM

@Nostoppin',

Nope....As Murenj says,the stuff is damn nutritious.