wazua Thu, Feb 6, 2025

Ching'ende is all over!
#1 Posted : Thursday, May 05, 2011 7:36:55 PM

And our Luhya friends are having a field day.
Munching them live-live....
And RAW that is....
I cant enter the house coz they have jammed the security loght....
Impunitet is scared about these creatures...
Brought about by recent rains....
The so called flying termites....

murenj
#2 Posted : Thursday, May 05, 2011 9:10:17 PM

get smart culturally. They are called 'chiswa'. Highly nutritious, full of protein and mineral salts............I prefer them roasted........such a delicacy....
#3 Posted : Friday, May 06, 2011 8:15:36 AM

Delicacy while fried...bila mafuta!Drool Drool
cmk
#4 Posted : Friday, May 06, 2011 8:20:32 AM

i have a termite hill in my compound..any chiswa takers..will give out the hill for free.
Every man is guilty of all the good he didn't do-
Voltaire
#5 Posted : Friday, May 06, 2011 8:32:26 AM

@Murenj,
Many years back,i almost killed a neighbour of mine.He fed my son on chiswa (Roasted) kwa ugali and when the mom inquired,the boy narrated happily how he had taken ugali kwa mende....wacha tuu
#6 Posted : Friday, May 06, 2011 8:34:10 AM

Silly me... I thought ur house has been jammed by luhya relatives. Lol! Had to re-read ur post
#7 Posted : Friday, May 06, 2011 8:37:02 AM

@Murenj,
Many years back,i almost killed a neighbour of mine.He fed my son on chiswa (Roasted) kwa ugali and when the mom inquired,the boy narrated happily how he had taken ugali kwa mende....wacha tuu

@Guka, i'm guessing you didnt take him to hospital? and he might be an addict of the same now?
#8 Posted : Friday, May 06, 2011 8:53:24 AM

@cmk its the flying types that are edible,not the crawling ant-like species.

danas10
#9 Posted : Friday, May 06, 2011 9:20:32 AM

murenj wrote:
get smart culturally. They are called 'chiswa'. Highly nutritious, full of protein and mineral salts............I prefer them roasted........such a delicacy....

my classmates ate them way back in boarding school coz they were the only alternative to githeri with 5 beans per plate for 7 days a week.
#10 Posted : Friday, May 06, 2011 9:24:46 AM

@Nostoppin',

Nope....As Murenj says,the stuff is damn nutritious.
Burning Spear
#11 Posted : Friday, May 06, 2011 9:33:12 AM

danas10 wrote:
murenj wrote:

my classmates ate them way back in boarding school coz they were the only alternative to githeri with 5 beans per plate for 7 days a week.

we must have attended one school.
I had a classmate who rejoiced when the dudus were flying andd he was working on them as they stared at him.
"You're not supposed to be so blind with patriotism that you can't face reality. Wrong is wrong, no matter who says it". Malcolm X
Ja-Kom
#12 Posted : Friday, May 06, 2011 9:36:06 AM

Almost emptied whatever i ate in the morning....ching'ende i believe means jiggers (correct me if wrong,anyone),...could not imagine anyone eating them...
For just as through the disobedience of the one man the many were made sinners, so also through the obedience of the one man the many will be made righteous. Romans 5:19
#13 Posted : Friday, May 06, 2011 9:41:41 AM

@Nostoppin',

Nope....As Murenj says,the stuff is damn nutritious.

was thinking in line of allergic reactions...
For Sport
#14 Posted : Friday, May 06, 2011 10:28:20 AM

Ja-Kom wrote:
Almost emptied whatever i ate in the morning....ching'ende i believe means jiggers (correct me if wrong,anyone),...could not imagine anyone eating them...

Correct on that...jiggers. yuck
cmk
#15 Posted : Friday, May 06, 2011 10:41:33 AM

@impunity, i know ,they are leaving the anthole in thousands..u only need to sing mwanawambeli to them..and direct them into a container...
Voltaire
cmk
#16 Posted : Friday, May 06, 2011 10:44:25 AM

@ guka,how do those dudus compare with roast goat ribs in terms of nutrition? goat ribs is what i call nutritious of course if washed down with tusker.
Voltaire
QD
#17 Posted : Friday, May 06, 2011 12:08:38 PM

For Sport wrote:
Ja-Kom wrote:

Correct on that...jiggers. yuck

@ Ja-Kom kwani ua jakom from where? ching'ende = Nguen
The problem with the world is that the intelligent people are full of doubts while the stupid ones are full of confidence
#18 Posted : Friday, May 06, 2011 12:33:51 PM

@Murenj,

mmmmmmh... my son happily narrated to me how they ate these things over this past holiday at my brother's place when he visited. They were cooking them outside with tins when playing with other boys... Clearly, my bro dint stop him and when i asked him, he said the other kids had not died... hehehehe... I was surprised at how excited my son looked when narrating how they ate them......

yesterday, when i got home, i found some in a dish...... na zilikuwa na mafuta mafuta... My housegal told me that it was my son who wanted to eat... and she "refused" him... Now, this boy cant cook.. those things were cooked.... The gal being a lunje, its a story i am yet to believe but i do not deny my son would "love" to eat them again given a chance going by earlier excitement about them... me thinks, both, have a huge appetite for these things.... hehehehehehe
#19 Posted : Friday, May 06, 2011 12:34:38 PM

Just a thought if chiswa is taken live can they crawl in ur stomach coz i have seen people eat them raw.
Me siwes mek hii
Ja-Kom
#20 Posted : Friday, May 06, 2011 12:59:40 PM

@QD,thats why i asked for correction if my understanding was skewed.ng'uen is tsiswa,i agree,but ching'ende am sure rhymes with tsinyende which in Luhya language connotes jiggers no?
For just as through the disobedience of the one man the many were made sinners, so also through the obedience of the one man the many will be made righteous. Romans 5:19