wazua Fri, Nov 15, 2024

NEW USER CHARGES AT KNH
murenj
#1 Posted : Tuesday, May 03, 2011 3:24:27 PM

Bed charges up by 90%. Services which used to be free eg oxygen administration to be charged. A doctor's fee of 300 bob per day introduced................HAPPY INFLATION 2011
#2 Posted : Tuesday, May 03, 2011 5:25:24 PM

Say what! KNH is becoming just like another private hospital! Kenyans are doomed! Sad
mgeman
#3 Posted : Tuesday, May 03, 2011 10:36:43 PM

Daktari, what are the new figures.
I am an African

-Thambo Mbeki Speech
#4 Posted : Wednesday, May 04, 2011 9:09:51 AM

wololo, what happens to those poor folks whoc cant afford doc fees?
@murenj, has congestion now eased at KNH given the new hospital opened in eastlands?
murenj
#5 Posted : Wednesday, May 04, 2011 12:47:22 PM

Intelligentsia wrote:
wololo, what happens to those poor folks whoc cant afford doc fees?
@murenj, has congestion now eased at KNH given the new hospital opened in eastlands?

yes. The numbers are down by some 20% for general services. But specialised services are still in high demand......and the population growth rate will soon erode the relief.
kangi
#6 Posted : Wednesday, May 04, 2011 12:49:55 PM

The last time the charges were reviewed was way back in 1999. The cost then and now is not even remotely comparable.

Where do you find a doctor who charges shs.300 for consultation and please lets differentiate a clinical officer with a doctor.I doubt whether an intern can charge such a fee.

The idea is to allow/filter those with headaches going to see a doctor- who is trained to deal with more serious cases.More so, the govt subsidises most of these services by footing the salaries of the doctors who are grossly underpaid.

The budgetary allocation for health services is underfunded and one way of bridging this is by slightly raising the user fee to enable health institutions procure drugs as well as other consumables.

Lets please not see every increase in cost sharing as an affront to the citizenry.
Accept no one's definition of your life; define your life.
murenj
#7 Posted : Wednesday, May 04, 2011 12:52:17 PM

mgeman wrote:

Daily bed charges, general wards...............800 up from 450./=! Consultation fees in KNHcasualty.........250/= up from 220/= will post a more comprehensive list of charges next week
msupious financially
#8 Posted : Wednesday, May 04, 2011 1:08:29 PM

murenj wrote:
mgeman wrote:

Daily bed charges, general wards...............800 up from 450./=! Consultation fees in KNHcasualty.........250/= up from 220/= will post a more comprehensive list of charges next week

Kwani these beds....what have they fixed that they dint have? Ama the mattresses are now massage beds...nktest...
This is serious....if a gov't hosi can do this, how about the others?
#9 Posted : Wednesday, May 04, 2011 1:20:50 PM

murenj wrote:
mgeman wrote:

@ Murenj,

I really appreaciate the way you look at the medical profession as a vocation and not a trade. I say so because of your various postings on medical issues.

Everytime I visit Kenyatta, I remember what was said a while back. ' To be Poor is a curse' I always think to myself, kama sio shida ya pesa hawa watu hawangekua hapa! It is a very dehumanising experience. I do not believe that raising the cost will solve anything other than push those guys to suffer at home. To me that is administration ineptitude. There are many ways to help those patients than kicking them out.Shame on you
mgeman
#10 Posted : Wednesday, May 04, 2011 8:53:54 PM

murenj wrote:
mgeman wrote:

Ahsante sana. I think it is time we thought of universal social insurance scheme. As much as the prices seem high we need to consider service improvement and insurance by the principle of spreading will bcover both bases.
I am an African

-Thambo Mbeki Speech
Dia
#11 Posted : Thursday, May 05, 2011 8:09:45 AM

bwenyenye wrote:
murenj wrote:
mgeman wrote:

@ Murenj,

I really appreaciate the way you look at the medical profession as a vocation and not a trade. I say so because of your various postings on medical issues.

Everytime I visit Kenyatta, I remember what was said a while back. ' To be Poor is a curse' I always think to myself, kama sio shida ya pesa hawa watu hawangekua hapa! It is a very dehumanising experience. I do not believe that raising the cost will solve anything other than push those guys to suffer at home. To me that is administration ineptitude. There are many ways to help those patients than kicking them out.Shame on you

I thought KNH is supposed to be a referral hospital and routine illnesses are supposed to be treated at district hospitals and those local dispensaries our city council has been busy selling off Sad

Between Anyang Nyongo and Beth Mugo, one of them is supposed to be making sure health services are easily accessible and not focusing on KNH as the be-all for serving the common mwananchi.