wazua Sat, Aug 2, 2025

5 Pages<12345>
CFC Insurance Holdings - Share Price to tumble!
Burning Spear
#41 Posted : Thursday, April 28, 2011 6:59:24 PM

hisah wrote:
the deal wrote:
While you expect it to fall its rallyyyyyyiiing.

CFC goes down to Ksh 40 in March 2010 after a profit warning a month before and within 6 months it hits a high of 90/- against all odds. Baffling smile

CFCI is listed in April and in a few days it rallies to a high of 16/- while everyone is baffled yet again smile

Now I'm a fan of conspiracy theories. So I'll try and explain it as a such. I have seen a math pattern between the two.

The CFC rally was 1.25 times the low price.
The CFCI high is 1.35 times the introduction price.

Coincidence smile

In a few months time the CFCI high will look like a trip to Pluto. Stay tuned smile

am not ready to touch where indians and south africans invest in kenya.
you may wake up with fully burnt legs if not fingers
"You're not supposed to be so blind with patriotism that you can't face reality. Wrong is wrong, no matter who says it". Malcolm X
PKoli
#42 Posted : Thursday, April 28, 2011 10:40:06 PM

Burning Spear wrote:
hisah wrote:
the deal wrote:

CFC goes down to Ksh 40 in March 2010 after a profit warning a month before and within 6 months it hits a high of 90/- against all odds. Baffling smile

CFCI is listed in April and in a few days it rallies to a high of 16/- while everyone is baffled yet again smile

Now I'm a fan of conspiracy theories. So I'll try and explain it as a such. I have seen a math pattern between the two.

Coincidence smile

In a few months time the CFCI high will look like a trip to Pluto. Stay tuned smile

We are yet to see value realization from the bank. We should see some price upsurge by release of HY results
#43 Posted : Friday, April 29, 2011 2:55:36 AM

Burning Spear wrote:
hisah wrote:
the deal wrote:

Coincidence smile

Kuweni serious! I am happy to invest in these. They are among the best run firms except merali, pattni & somaia who are politically connected. Only idiots trust these three!

So I assume you do not invest in
- DTBK, Jubilee, NMG, TPSEA [All which have made me good money! Never lost here. All are higher than the IPO or Rights price!]

- ScanGroup [Another profitable one for me. I bought at the IPO]

- ARM [I regret not buying these. 3/- a few years ago. If I had bought 100,000, for only 300,000/- I would have Sh17.5mn + dividends leo!]

- Carbacid [Apparently, the #1 shareholder is BC Patel? Lakini, very profitable company! I regret selling my shares but even then I made 100% return in 2 years!]

- City Trust [Illiquid but it has done well for me]

- Crown Berger [I sold mine at a slight profit but then it did very well. Stagnated of late]

C&G [Seems to be quite profitable but shares are illiquid. CEO & majority owner seems Gidoomal akina Giro Bank]

KenolKobil [A roller coaster but overall I made money. The price before the split was around 150/- so until we see 15/- I am still underwater for the 'old' shares I bought]

Historically, the best Banks have been multinationals. The worst have been local banks e.g. KCB, NBK, Kenya Finance Bank.
EXCEPT the phenomenal Equity Bank. Best bank ever for investors!

Coop listed recently so too early to tell.

CFC Bank [It did very well under former CEOs Jani & soundarajan but after Stanbic a disaster]

Failures

Pan-African Insurance [Before my time it was respectable firm. Apparently some Mhindi from Mombasa. Then came the crooks like nyammo & his friends. They destroyed Kenya Finance Bank. Even forced PAI to invest in KFB. Finally PAI sold to S.Africans but the performance has been lousy vs Jubilee. The profitable APA Insurance was run by Apollo Insurance]

Olympia [One of my WORST investments. matu wamae & michael matu. I do not think anyone has nice things to say about him. Dunlop was good until these nyeri guys came in then they took all teh cash out for themselves]

Uchumi [I remember a guy Suresh Shah. We made money in those days! 5/- dividends & 60/- share price! Then akina kirubi came with his kin akina thairu]

EAPCC [Bure kabisa! It was bigger than ARM but ARM has beat it by a mile! Managed by GoK appointees]

Marshalls [Once pattni & somaia got into it, it was all downhill]

Sasini, eveready, sameer [I avoid ALL merali firms. Only idiots buy into these long-term]

KenGen [eddy njoroge. Bure kabisa in my view. Better to buy KPLC]

KenRe [Useless. Compared to the Mhindis at Jubilee these guys are bure kabisa even with GUARANTEED concessions! They buy forest/land from ruto. Jubilee would not be so stupid]

Safaricom [Overall, I lost money. The firm is doing OK lakini we were conned into paying 5/-. Don't forget akina moi scammed us through mobitelea & kibaki did nothing. Bure kabisa!]

Mumias [Another perennial under-performer. Too political]

So-so

Unga [Run by kiereni & friends. Hopefully, the Americans will turn it around]

CMC [It did very well under Martin Forster but then ran aground. I made money on this one! Lucky to sell out in time]

Williamson & Kapchorua [They have been volatile. Owned & managed by kaburus. Magor family of UK]

Kakuzi [Owned & managed by kaburus but the land is worth a lot if Tatu City is developed]

Limuru Tea [Owned & managed by kaburus. The share price has not risen in years. That said, I sold out & I think I made money. Very illiquid]

HFCK [This one did a roller coaster on me. Overall, I lost money. If not for Equity, I would have lost even more! Equity saved HFCK]

KPLC [Gichuru then Njoroge. This was a disaster. At least the new guy is better but I am still in the hole]

KQ [I used to think Naikuni was awesome until you see he survived on Brian Presbury's early years' good work. Since then almost a disaster but I still have hope!]

So except for Equity... most of my best returns on the NSE over the past 20+ years [mimi ni mzee] have been from the Mhindi firms. Not sure what others say?

I would dread to have solely put money into Kenya Finance Bank, HFCK, Pan Africa, Uchumi [post- Shah], Mumias, KPLC, Olympia/Dunlop, etc when I started out!
#44 Posted : Friday, April 29, 2011 9:16:28 AM

VVS, you having been in the game for over 2 decades, I have a few questions.
Did you start out as a long term investor or first got into the market with the idea of frequently trading? Do you then believe that buying good companies and holding for a long period of time gives optimal returns to investors as opposed to any other method?
the deal
#45 Posted : Friday, April 29, 2011 9:49:16 AM

THE RAAAAAAAALLLLLYYY CONTINUEEEESSSS.......I'M GONNNNA RIDE THIS SUCKER TILL THE END....
#46 Posted : Friday, April 29, 2011 10:03:42 AM

We are just looking at earnings while judging this stock.

How were assets, liabilities etc. subdivided between the two companies. Anyone who has gone through this information meticulously? Why are investors so engrossed CFCI while largely ignoring CFC Stanbic? Is there something we don't know? Might we end up holding the monkey after selling the goose?
Aguytrying
#47 Posted : Friday, April 29, 2011 10:12:17 AM

Hapa kuna kitu, there's something we dont know. nice point about, division of liabilities, assets etc
The investor's chief problem - and even his worst enemy - is likely to be himself
#48 Posted : Friday, April 29, 2011 7:12:46 PM

youcan'tstopusnow wrote:
VVS, you having been in the game for over 2 decades, I have a few questions.
Did you start out as a long term investor or first got into the market with the idea of frequently trading? Do you then believe that buying good companies and holding for a long period of time gives optimal returns to investors as opposed to any other method?
I became a Warren Buffet fan very early on so I would say I am Buy & Hold but:
- I will sell if the price gets crazy. An example is when CMC really jumped. I bailed not coz the firm was doing poorly but the price on the PER & NAV was nuts!
- I see better opportunities elsewhere. Multiple examples & probably why I have sold out of good firms. I sold some 'other' shares to get into KenolKobil recently.

I never got into trading. I tried it but failed since the commission costs 20 years ago were even higher! So trading was more profitable for brokers than for me.

If the buy/sell cost was 5% then I would have to make more than 5% [+ loss of interest] to break even.

In the early 90s interest rates were 60% [5% per month] on T-Bills. Say I bought a stock at 100. I would need 5% per month capital appreciation + 5% to cover trading costs just to break even.
#49 Posted : Friday, April 29, 2011 7:18:35 PM

@youcant - I have to say the Aga Khan firms have done very well for me. All of them!

I was too young to get into DTB & Jubilee & NMG IPOs but TPS has done well. I have always bought into the Rights. All have paid off for me.
#50 Posted : Friday, April 29, 2011 8:38:56 PM

VVS, asante sana for sharing. Most wouldn't. You continually offer Wazuans new insights on investing. Once again, thanks very much!
PKoli
#51 Posted : Friday, April 29, 2011 8:48:01 PM

@VVS,

You have been in the market for long. I am sure u did manage to buy KPLC at 6, KQ at 6, Msc @3. What about EABL before many splits and bonuses? I am told there were days Kenol Kobil was 50 cents!
#52 Posted : Sunday, May 01, 2011 4:21:45 AM

@pkoli - I did not buy KPLC at 6/- [though I owned KPLC when the price dropped to 6/-] At the time, I thought KPLC will go bust [it was being run as an ATM machine for moi by gichuru]

MSC - I did not get into MSC @ 3 either. At the time there were other firms as well at low prices. It is not easy when so many firms were going cheap! I had very limited funds.

KQ - I do not recall 6/- but I did get in at 8/-. Those days you could buy even 1mn shares just like that at 8...!!! Of course, if you had KES 8mn...! In those days 8mn was real money not like now when it can't even buy 0.25 acres in Kileleshwa!

As for KenolKobil - Yes, I got in early but at 50cents after dilution. I saw the potential even back then. There was a jamaa/mzee who was #2 shareholder after biwott. I remember one day doing a calculation of his holdings in KK... KES 80mn back when money was money!
#53 Posted : Sunday, May 01, 2011 9:23:40 AM

@vvs i remember kina nmg at 37 without the splits,bonuses,dividends etc! Realizing gains was a nightmare. Getting in and out of a share took 2 months. you buy,wait for the certificate to be printed, then to sell you take take lt to the broker for verification. By that time price has moved to kisumu and back.
#54 Posted : Sunday, May 01, 2011 9:41:26 AM

@Sparkly: I had NMG at 14.50 & it never moved for years. It was only after the moi regime eased up on the restrictions on media houses.

Unfortunately, I had very few shares! Since then like other Aga Khan firms it has grown in leaps & bounds!
the deal
#55 Posted : Sunday, May 01, 2011 9:42:49 AM

This is an era of fast money...i'm afraid buy and hold wont produce the same returns as active trading...commissions at 1.9% what will stop me...if funds where unlimited i would wake up and trade everyday...look at scan it rallied 100% last year within hw many month? Cfc rallied from 39 to 90...perfect is C&G...for a trader who bought at 36 and sold at 68 made more than 70% but for a long termer who bought at 36...war do u say of him? wat i'm saying is buy n hold is dead.
What are the returns for a shareholder who has invested in Kenya Re,AK and Safcom since IPO?
#56 Posted : Sunday, May 01, 2011 4:31:48 PM

deal, what are the returns for those who invested in ARM many years ago? What about those who bought Equity when it listed through introduction? Please do tell... And there's dividends which can be reinvested
the deal
#57 Posted : Sunday, May 01, 2011 5:03:45 PM

youcan'tstopusnow wrote:
deal, what are the returns for those who invested in ARM many years ago? What about those who bought Equity when it listed through introduction? Please do tell... And there's dividends which can be reinvested

Times have changed...the world has changed...most Kenyan firms have matured...ARM will never give u the same returns again...the macro economics of the world have changed...as the world population continue to sage so is the competition for resources which results in conflicts...lol...dont listen to my crap...everything i own is for sale at the right price.
#58 Posted : Sunday, May 01, 2011 5:54:29 PM

LOL... Well, trading is OK for smaller shareholders but not the larger ones like WB who prefers to buy the ENTIRE good business then hold forever...

As for share prices, they are subject to emotion & volatility.

Would I trade more often if the commissions were lower? Probably, but not that much more nevertheless I do not want to make my broker rich!

Let's be clear. Everything is for sale. At the right price. [I agree with @thedeal on this]. Even the KK. At 10/- it screams a BUY. At some point I will sell them...

Why sell KK [or any other stocks/assets]?

1) I need the cash. For personal stuff, etc. I would sell at any price if it is an emergency.
2) It does not meet my criteria [dividend drops, profitability drops, industry stalls, the PE or PB is too high, etc]
3) I find a better deal. Say I can buy into another 'Equity Bank' which is where EB was 5 years ago... Bye bye [current] shares in Equity for the new Equity! [BTW, I thought it was Family Bank but it was not to be]
PKoli
#59 Posted : Sunday, May 01, 2011 7:47:22 PM

@VVS,

Thanks VVS for the your insights. I never knew shares then. I only used to hear from my dad but he had few bbk and kcb.

I think we may see few potential opportunities in our market, obviously not like in the past.

Having observed the market, I am still convinced the best way to grow in value is not through trading but value investing the WB way. Only tradfe a small shareholding.

#60 Posted : Sunday, May 01, 2011 7:49:28 PM

deal, of course everything is for sale at the 'right' price. But that price differs for everyone