wazua Wed, Feb 5, 2025

Dubious - Looking to connect with Kenyans who are driven.
innairobi
#21 Posted : Thursday, April 28, 2011 9:12:20 AM

Brilliant post.

Differences between Kenyans and Kenyamericans are mainly due to culture (e.g. how each 'normally' communicates) & stereotypes (Lazy Kenyans can earn & learn from my bottomless fountain of riches & knowledge -vs- Kenyamericans are full of it when we know they are flipping burgers & washing the aged).

Probably an extreme version of what Nairobi and Mombasa residents think/thought of each other.

jasonhill wrote:
We need a moratorium on this "West" concept.

Let's take a year, and pretend that the "West" doesn't exist and never did.

Western aid, Western NGOs, diplomats, statements, visas, western universities, western jobs, education, movies, music, media, clothing, attitude, beliefs, statistics, expectation, EVERYTHING.

Let's just ignore it all for ONE year.

And lets rely on what WE know, have learned, and have experienced. Know what you know, but just forget where you learned it, and see if it's still worth knowing.

Now, In one month without the West, where are we? We are precisely where we were at. But within a year without hating, loving, admiring, aping, trusting, suspecting, relying on, seeing or listening to this "West" concept, maybe, just maybe we can focus on ourselves and stop this incessant colonial mindset of divide and conquer, back-and-forth, bickering and infighting.

It's painfully obvious that all the issues on the continent seem to all lead back to hating, loving, admiring, aping, trusting, suspecting, relying on, seeing or listening to this "West" thing.

It's the evening, and we are all staring West, blinded hopelessly by the sun. Let's look away for a minute. Now can you see? That man next to you is YOUR brother. You can't win if WE can't win.

Without the West blinding you with bling and bright lights, you could look away and regain clear sight, with all your increased worldly knowledge and capability right at this very moment.

What would you do?

Anything you put your mind to.

Hill

All my friends are heathens, take it slow. Wait for them to ask you who you know. Please don't make any sudden moves.
luttz
#22 Posted : Thursday, April 28, 2011 10:41:38 AM

Good posts here.

@ Rollout, this is typical of Wazua. While you may have an impressive CV, be reminded that this forum has great minds too. Very successful people with great CV's as well. When you approach the forum with an imposing personality, you ca be assured to receive the treatment you have received. If anything, we have see many people return from "Stato" with nothing except the American accent. We have seen many others who came back quietly but with great and impressive CV's and worthy millions of Kenya shillings. That a side, do not loose site of what you aspire to achieve. However, as mentioned in one of the posts, there was no need to start your introduction the way you did" Neither job hunting nor searching for a wife". The introduction alone says so much of the typical you.
"You've never lived until you've almost died; for those who have fought for it, life has a flavour the protected will never know."
fantony
#23 Posted : Thursday, April 28, 2011 3:32:45 PM

are you interested in real estate?
bendi3
#24 Posted : Thursday, April 28, 2011 4:41:20 PM

Rollout wrote:
Hello everyone! I am a Kenyan, 28 yrs old, I left the country 10 yrs ago for education and I have lived in USA ever since, I will be making my first trip in 10 yrs not to look for a woman to marry but to visit my family and in process to also try to meet people who can help me understand more about the opportunities in Kenya and atleast have something to take away.
I am not in anyway looking for a job but I am open to investment opportunities, a little of myself; Professionaly, I am a senior Merger and acquisition analyst with a fortune 20 insurance company with just over $2.3 billion(6 companies) complete mergers executed within the last 12 months. Before that, I was a senior financial analyst for a fortune 20 Bank. I would like to meet anyone in healthcare insurance business, Hedge Funds, Private equity funds, IB and start up businesses. I think we can learn from each other. Thanks

Guys,first answer the greeting before anything else.....................
Hello Rollout.Welcome to Kenya after 10 years away from home.This ten years have been great.When you left my grandmother had no way of communicating other than me visiting her.Now she owns a kabambe and knows a thing or two about greenhouse farming and mpesing.

When you left,we were on the verge of making history by ending a dynasty in kenya.We ended that and we are now in the process of RE-creating a new one.I do not know if you were present among the thousands of people present for your president's inaguration,or whether you even voted,but in kenya i have had the chance of having my pinky coloured (sometimes in iremovable ink) so many times without any tangible change and attended so many 'inagurations' that i know my way around streets where teargas does not reach.

But all is well my dear brother.In 10 years,we have managed to grow our GDP by comendeable rates,this according to government reports.The same government reports that vehemently deny that the poor are becoming poorer each passing day.

You are not looking for a wife nor a job.Pity.....Even if you are not looking for one,just pretend you are.It matters to look at prospects you might change your mind and end up with a gachugwa,as for the job,you might be creating yourself a chance to be an ambassador in the next government depending on who you talk to.

I do not know about investments so much,mine was to welcome you back home.

P/S bring me a bugger from McDonalds,or do they sell fries?

yours trully,
bendi.
The early worm, is the one caught by the early bird.........
erifloss
#25 Posted : Thursday, April 28, 2011 4:58:15 PM

bendi3 wrote:
Rollout wrote:
Hello everyone! I am a Kenyan, 28 yrs old, I left the country 10 yrs ago for education and I have lived in USA ever since, I will be making my first trip in 10 yrs not to look for a woman to marry but to visit my family and in process to also try to meet people who can help me understand more about the opportunities in Kenya and atleast have something to take away.
I am not in anyway looking for a job but I am open to investment opportunities, a little of myself; Professionaly, I am a senior Merger and acquisition analyst with a fortune 20 insurance company with just over $2.3 billion(6 companies) complete mergers executed within the last 12 months. Before that, I was a senior financial analyst for a fortune 20 Bank. I would like to meet anyone in healthcare insurance business, Hedge Funds, Private equity funds, IB and start up businesses. I think we can learn from each other. Thanks

Guys,first answer the greeting before anything else.....................
Hello Rollout.Welcome to Kenya after 10 years away from home.This ten years have been great.When you left my grandmother had no way of communicating other than me visiting her.Now she owns a kabambe and knows a thing or two about greenhouse farming and mpesing.

When you left,we were on the verge of making history by ending a dynasty in kenya.We ended that and we are now in the process of RE-creating a new one.I do not know if you were present among the thousands of people present for your president's inaguration,or whether you even voted,but in kenya i have had the chance of having my pinky coloured (sometimes in iremovable ink) so many times without any tangible change and attended so many 'inagurations' that i know my way around streets where teargas does not reach.

But all is well my dear brother.In 10 years,we have managed to grow our GDP by comendeable rates,this according to government reports.The same government reports that vehemently deny that the poor are becoming poorer each passing day.

You are not looking for a wife nor a job.Pity.....Even if you are not looking for one,just pretend you are.It matters to look at prospects you might change your mind and end up with a gachugwa,as for the job,you might be creating yourself a chance to be an ambassador in the next government depending on who you talk to.

I do not know about investments so much,mine was to welcome you back home.

P/S bring me a bugger from McDonalds,or do they sell fries?

yours trully,
bendi.

'They say money cannot buy me happiness but when i compare when i had none and now, i'm happier' Kevin O'leary
Rollout
#26 Posted : Thursday, April 28, 2011 5:29:19 PM

@ Alma...yes merger at that level could also be a good strategy.
@ Fantony... my main interest is learning from some people back there and having a take away, if that will be about real estate then thats great, but in overall I just want to learn more about the general business soundness of investing in Kenya, the risk of investing in some of these developing countries is somehow wrongly estimated and learning is the first part.
@ Luttz I know Kenya and Wazua have great minds, but I don't think great minds are stupidly arrogant, I have interacted with few of the smartest people and if anyone does that you can learn alot from them espacially on how much they try to learn and connect with people who can help them, I am not here to help anyone, I am not here to help USA or Kenya, I am here to help myself it is upto anyone to judge if it is a win win situition, If in the process of me trying to help myself you benefit thats great. A few days ago I connected with a Friend from a few years ago, He is 26yrs one of the smartest Kenyan Harvard undergra and currently finishing Oxford Phd what I was interested is his research project and the potential of a business opportunity out of his project and what he was interested is how he can finance his project which is based in a remote village in Uganda, he didn't feel threaten by me and I didn't feel threaten by him, that is how I think we should relate, you're stupid if you beat you chest because you have Ksh 1 million, thats is pocket change to alot of people, lower the pride it is not gonna get you anywhere.Mr Luttz, this doesnt apply to you but to people lik Erifloss

@ Erifloss... you remind me of those kids back in school who always were too eager to prove someone wrong instead of eager to learn, I want to tell you that, you probably think you know alot about the US or US companies but until you're there or you're intimately involve with dealings with those companies they're assesment that you cannot make, Like I cannot come here and make assesment about equity bank or Safaricom, I can make overal assesment but I cannot act like I know them that much. I noticed that you listed the companies that went down in USA and compared to the companies that came up in Kenya, that is actually wrong in the first place, you compare success with success, down with down and just to get the record straight the losses that AIG, cITI, FREDDI, FENNIE... in 2010 adds to $108 billion, the profit that fortune 100 companies in 2010 is $325 billion.
bird_man
#27 Posted : Thursday, April 28, 2011 7:23:31 PM

@Rollout . . .If that CV of yours is for real . . .I suggest you open a LinkedIn account.I also suspect that some of your pals or workmates in your fortune . . .companies have some Kenyan contacts.I think you will be more successful then.But that will work if indeed your CV and assertions are true.Since you are so smart,educated and handling millions and billions of dollars . . .stop the exchanges with these 3rd world people.Haha!
Formally employed people often live their employers' dream & forget about their own.
Rollout
#28 Posted : Thursday, April 28, 2011 7:46:59 PM

@bird_man, my initial thought about wazua was that it is potentially a place where the're young, smart and creative people eager to progress, I didn't think this place could turn out to be a "I am better than you even if you're in a developed country" environment. I have a Linkedln account but you'll be surprise how many people actually check the yahoo, gmail accounts leave alone track the Linkedln.
Just to correct you, nobody is so smart or so educated and by the way a few people have or even know Kenya from the business perspective,wallstreet IB are only interested in offering advisory services to countries like kenya but no one want to invest money!

Anyway, now I know how this place is!
erifloss
#29 Posted : Thursday, April 28, 2011 7:52:35 PM

@rollout, 'ignorance is no defence.' 10 years in the States and you can now proudly refer to you birth country as 'these third world countries', i am a proud citizen of this red black and green republic that you seem to think nothing of.
Some of us here have travelled far and wide others stay in Kenya for less than a week in a month and you never find them shouting nonsense here. Some guys here are savvy Kenyan investors and funny enough don't even reside in Kenya a good example is the deal, we even have threads that check on foreign markets(please read the various threads to see how brilliant minds work)
We are also proud of the meagre millions we manage, please inject and manage your billions of dollars using your 'brilliant' mind with the assistance of your 'brilliant' phd friends.
As the the saying goes, 'the ignorant assume they know while the arrogant think they are brilliant.' Combine both and you get a fully useless ignorant arrogant but 'brilliant' mind and with that i fully close this nonsense.

'They say money cannot buy me happiness but when i compare when i had none and now, i'm happier' Kevin O'leary
holycow
#30 Posted : Thursday, April 28, 2011 8:16:15 PM

I use a matatu. Hope that qualifies as driven.Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
How about sinking some of those dollars into paka. Being an acquisition and merger specialist, go ahead and have Kengen acquire Eveready so that Kenya gets more power.
jasonhill
#31 Posted : Friday, April 29, 2011 7:04:32 AM

Ooooooo kkkkkkaaaayyyy. Let's get back on topic.

First, as far as the US Fortune 500, let's make it very clear, and I speak from experience:

It's not that they are smarter or more business savvy. It's capital. PERIOD. US companies have access to an obscene amount of credit and money (courtesy of China), so much so, that they are actually pretty relatively poorly managed and are fairly inefficient; this is why China is gaining, economically, on the US and will surpass them by 2016 according to the IMF.

What the US had going for it is that in the past, they got people from around the world- the best and the brightest. People seem to forget that Americans are a melting pot from around the world. There is no special education or savvyiness to American success. They recruited the best, and they have the most money, after them and uncle UK basically cleaned the 3rd world out of all the resources with the help of propped-up dictators.

But that period of history is over.

I won't go into the huge problems facing the West. Forget the West. It isn't important. I won't go into the fact that the Fortune 500 really isn't impressive at all, and if anyone would like to debate why, I'll tell you, from an insiders point-of-view how and why the Fortune 500 is a joke, no matter how much money they make (check some of my other posts for starters).

Here's what's important:

The NSE, and Kenya as a whole, is a the crown of Africa, and is ready to become an economic leader. Think about it on a professional and personal level:

1. Educated, capable university graduates who's salary requirements are LOW. You could start a lab or a manufacturing plant for CHEAP. And unskilled workers are plentiful and even less expensive and hard working! You could train a person to do metal or glass-work, and have a personal army of workers for very very low cost. And blue-collar jua kali artists, mechanics, and machinists are absolute geniuses.

2. Real food- not pumped with preservatives or hormones or genetically modded- mostly farm grown, fresh, and not even trucked in refrigerated cars. Massive opportunity for greenhouses, refrigeration, drying/smoking, and agro tech in general... one could even buy or retrofit refrigerated cars on trucks/lorries and make money transporting and storing farm produce and meats.

3. Real soil and good climate- you could grow almost ANY crop, and the soil isn't terrible, poisoned, and abused.

4. Access to the rest of the EAC market, which is emerging and large.

5. Kitu Kidogo! You can get things done and wheels turning with relatively small "lobbying and consulting fees". Think about it... pay an official 500,000 Ksh in Kenya, or 500,000 USD in the USA... I'd rather pay shillings.

6. FAR less business competition than in the USA... in Kenya, there is a certain ethnic group of folks from Asia that are considered the business savvy... in the Fortune 500, they are considered the least business savvy and the low-cost option for process work. Think about that...

7. Good banks! The banks in Kenya are more than willing to loan you money if you have a good business plan, a respectable CV, and small collateral. In the USA, you'd be fortunate to get a credit card with a decent limit.

8. The NSE! A "real, proper, clean" stock exchange! There hasn't been one of those in the West since the 60s! You can actually use the numbers and analysis to come up with REAL valuations and play the market as it was designed. Toss in a couple grand just for fun, like you are in Vegas, and watch what it does. In addition, the market capitalizations are fairly low, so you could make REAL M&A moves if... and here comes the downside...

1. If there was more capital influx. Westerners are mostly scared of Africa as a whole because of years of bad press, and the Western media and education systems makes it far worse. They teach and show only the slums. Nothing else. Which is a shame, because if someone starting making big hostile takeovers on the NSE, they'd make an absolute killing IF they managed the company from the ground. That's the key to managing a company in the EAC... you'd better come down out of the highrise and MANAGE your operations, or, they might just walk out the door LOL.

2. Slow bureaucracy. It used to be that way in the US 20 years ago, where it took FOREVER to get a business started, or land purchased, but now, it's under a week. Kenya... slooooooow. Too many signatures, desks to cross, etc.

3. Short workweek- Kenyans go home at 5pm. They value their work/life balance. Americans will work 80 hours a week if you force them. Kenyans won't do that, culturally.

4. Shipping problems. Shipping is slow, and customs is nuts. If you need something from China, you'd better fly KQ and get it yourself, and fly back with it. Shipping is a joke. Distribution centers are also a joke. There aren't many, so you pay more for computer and business equipment in Kenya than you do in the US. Unless you have a friend at the ports LOL.

5. Roads. Far too few. That messes up shipping, distribution, logistics, and employees getting to work on time.

6. Water and power. Low pressure, and power that dips and bucks like crazy. Better put EVERYTHING on a regulator, a UPS, and generator backup. Better get water tanks and pumps. That makes setting up a lab or datacenter expensive... especially since you have to wait a MONTH for spare parts to come from China, since shipping and roads are so messed up.

7. Self-hate. People simply just don't believe that they "can". People gripe about the government, the MPs, the Universities, this, that, and the other, and it hurts their belief in themselves and their countrymen. That's why the Mzungus and Muhindis can come into Kenya and make a killing in profits, because while black Kenyans are murmuring and complaining, others are just accepting what it is and just DOING, and making money. This leads to the need to really manage your teams more than you would elsewhere- people's own self-doubt. You have to encourage encourage encourage, or you and your team will loose the dream and the drive it takes to be successful, from the CEO on down. In America, you have the dream, and Hollywood helps keep you in it. That dream keeps people from seeing the downsides, and keeps them motivated, even if they are going to end up working in Walmart as a door greeter until they die.

Kenya is a great place, with great people, and great promise. Sure, there are some infrastructure and bureaucracy issues, but so what? You do what you have to do and work around the problems. Shipping? Buy a Cessna Caravan and go get it yourself. Then, charter the plane out to others while you aren't using it. Power? Buy some African Wind Power windmills, diesel gens (which can be bio-fuelled using bad maize and sorghum), and get back to work! Then sell the surplus power.

Remember, in the US or UK, you'd be working for someone, making anywhere from $8 an hour to $80 an hour, but that's it. There is nowhere else to go. And, the more you make, the WORSE you are taxed... it's sometimes like making LESS! Start your own business? LOL don't make me laugh. Prepare for millions of dollars in bribes in order to get tenders and contracts, or even to get a product on a shelf in a store, and millions more to hire employees, pay for insurance, real estate, etc etc... how are you going to get that kind of money working a job? You CANT. It's all big corporate out here. In Kenya, you can build something big- the barriers to entry are far lower.

Just look for a gap... something useful to the EAC that you may have seen in the US or UK, go online and get the patent and some textbooks, learn all you can, and EMULATE or COPY it! Then set up shop and sell the product or service in the EAC. That's all. Or, eliminate the middle man. If people are buying Android tablets from Pranav's PCs on Koinange street for $300, and you see them on US websites like EBay and Amazon for $100, then you know they are $50 on the streets of Guangzhao... go make a trip (see my earlier posts).

And lastly, after decades of living in the west, working 80 hour weeks, not knowing who your neighbors are, feeling like a second class citizen because of your race or citizenship status, eating "processed" food, watching meaningless TV, and wondering how the old Mzungu lady working the door at Walmart that has a Masters Degree and worked 60 years straight has NOTHING to her name, you will feel FREE and NATURAL and BLESSED walking down a Kenya road, buying fruit from a Kiosk, talking to a kind person, and letting your mind drift into the beautiful skies, and flowers, and people, and will realize that this is how and where the African man was intended to live. That this, is HOME, and that is more important than any 3 bed 2.5 bath home in Dallas, Boston, Los Angeles, or Atlanta.

And you can always go back to the West and live dirt poor while you get more dollars to send home to turn into shillings to invest... year on year off... then retire... that's a strategy.

And if you are REALLY into M&A, watch the foreigners doing business in Kenya. Electronics stores, clothing stores, chemists, opticians, etc. etc. Watch their operations, pricing, the way they treat customers, etc. etc., set up across the street, DO BETTER- run your business better, and exploit their weaknesses using what you learn from the internet as far as pricing, etc., treat customers better, and

RUN THEM OUT OF BUSINESS. How's that for M&A?

That's all for now.

Best Wishes,

Hill
erifloss
#32 Posted : Friday, April 29, 2011 7:53:02 AM

@Hill, a nice read.
mkonomtupu
#33 Posted : Friday, April 29, 2011 10:21:20 AM

@Hill great great stuff
innairobi
#34 Posted : Friday, April 29, 2011 10:39:18 AM

Realest. Hii @jasonhill ni mutu yetu.
All my friends are heathens, take it slow. Wait for them to ask you who you know. Please don't make any sudden moves.
Chaka
#35 Posted : Friday, April 29, 2011 10:55:18 AM

@Jason,
Bravo!You should come to Kenya and get a wife from here..
On the other had I am wondering,how would the world be without Uncle Sam?
As in the Internet,Windows,Intel,Cisco,Boeing,Coke,FacebookGoogle etc...
Why is it that Americans keep getting Nobel prizes each year?
Genghis Khan
#36 Posted : Friday, April 29, 2011 11:05:27 AM

"The problem is not what we don't know... it's what we know for sure that just ain't!" - MARK TWAIN

I think no one is so smart that they cannot learn something new from ANYONE. I dare say that smart people have the most to learn.

If I had a chance to meet Rollout (or anyone else) for a chat over a drink, I definitely would, if i had the time.

The success of America can largely be attributed to the Liberties they enjoy.

The middle and lower classes have the fair chance to make decent and comfortable lives for themselves.

However, they may not be financially savvy enough to remain successful. When smart pips borrow, its Leverage... they make more money! When not-so-smart pips borrow, its Consumer Debt... they spend more money!

In contrast, we have had fewer such liberties in Kenya. Our Elite and higher middle classes (mostly politicians) enjoy a monopoly of ideas, information, capital and access through KituKidogo.

I dare say that there are still greater opportunities in Kenya (than say the USA) for ALL those determined to get rich. For those who nuture small ambitions, the middle class in Kenya is called the RatRace. (ie. if you wanna get a well paying job... goto Corporate America, if you want to get rich... try to StartUp an SME in Kenya.

@Hill, you should come walk the talk on Kenyan soil... take a risk, you'll probably make more money...
"I'd rather be lucky than clever... every time!" - ME
"The problem is not what we don't know... it's what we know for sure that just ain't!" - MARK TWAIN
"Space we can recover... time never!" - NAPOLEON BONAPARTE
Genghis Khan
#37 Posted : Friday, April 29, 2011 11:47:56 AM

jasonhill wrote:

6. FAR less business competition than in the USA... in Kenya, there is a certain ethnic group of folks from Asia that are considered the business savvy... in the Fortune 500, they are considered the least business savvy and the low-cost option for process work. Think about that...

Interesting... do you suggest that in terms of "business savvy" we have:
1. white folk
2. brown folk
3. black folk

I agree, I think its a systemic thing for blacks... were just lazy (most of us).

Its almost cultural. Idleness / mediocrity / Inefficiency... we don't even keep time, many times we don't keep deadlines either(most of us).

jasonhill wrote:

7. Good banks! The banks in Kenya are more than willing to loan you money if you have a good business plan, a respectable CV, and small collateral. In the USA, you'd be fortunate to get a credit card with a decent limit.

I am a bank employee & I disagree, I think its much harder to get credit for business.

Banks are force-selling consumer loans and mortgages to salaried employees. Its extremely hard to get a bank to do proper trade finance or OD for working capital... they mostly want security (plot in nairobi area - 60%, property - 80%, listed securities - 50% etc.)

I know for sure that my banker (not my employer, name witheld) will give me 250k to but leather sofas, a big telly and some curtains cos i have a salo!? They will not give my start up biz a line!?

I don't need these consumer goods, especially not at 15% plus... I could just take a personal loan from my employer at a much lower rate!

Funny thing is my employer will NOT finance my side hustle with an overdraft... we get F***** in Kenya but we trysmile
"I'd rather be lucky than clever... every time!" - ME
"Space we can recover... time never!" - NAPOLEON BONAPARTE
KenyanLyrics
#38 Posted : Friday, April 29, 2011 3:16:06 PM

@Jasonhill, are you an entrepreneur really? No entrepreneur worth his salt would blame lack of capital on their woes
#39 Posted : Friday, April 29, 2011 6:02:39 PM

@Rollout: Stating your day job and achievements that have come with it is an indirect demand for cred. Wazua does not work that way, which is why you see that "Rank" business next to your username. You are judged mostly by the wisdom you write here smile
Anyway, we should move past the slight, real or imagined - Welcome, sir. Now, how would you like to conduct the idea-share meet? virtual? an informal meeting perhaps (like bloggers used to)? what are the more focused interests?

Stop defending yourself, provide more info.
Rollout
#40 Posted : Friday, April 29, 2011 6:09:43 PM

@Jason,
I want to disagree with you without being slam, I don't know where you got your fortune 500 experience but your judgement about poor management and inefficiency of fortune 500 companies sound like it is from someone outside, I have also spend part of my time consulting in China and you won't be impressed by how chinease do their business, you can sell shit to Chinease and they'll buy it in the name of acquiring the world and yes I have sold shit to Chinease and I reap them big time and if you do that your boss smile and tap your back and you move on job group up! To outsider fortune 500 companies are greedy, reckless and arrogant but when you walk into JP,Wallmart,IBM,UHG,Wellsfargo, Goldman you will stare at hardwork, long hours, commitment,dedication and the level of efficiency that you'll never see it anywhere. When you're hired you're made to understand that you have a fudiciary duty to the employer and it's investors and your resposibility is to make money for the company in return, you'll never see brokeness in your entire life. Everyone including the directors work atleast 10hrs a day, everything you evaluate you have 15 outside analyst following and doing their own analysis if you make a mistake, you get an invite to an hotel office for a meeting with your boss, who happen to sit just across you, Just because some outside analyst called and ask questions about the deal and if you're lucky to get away with the mistake whether it is valuation or anything, I can assure you that it will come back to you during the quarterly conference call with the analyst so there is no room for inefficiency.
And if spending money on employee treat is considered mismanagement then I guess then be it.This is how employees from these companies feel, and when I say employees, I mean those who actually make money for the company not those who just come to work for 8 hrs and leave, I mean those who stay late and go home thinking about work assignments, those who you'll find online in office communicator on sunday morning, those who took loan to go to good schools and gave up most of their social lifes, they feel that no one has a right to question their decisions and no one has a right to question their compensations and above all they always feel underpaid.
About China, no one is scared of China apart from politicians, with a growth rate of 10% and a cyclic economy, low GDP per Capita i.e economy 1/2 as larger as the USA economy and population six times that of USA, Jesus will come back before china can pass USA, and yes, I will send my grandkid to Harvard and the day China will be about to pass USA, my grandkid together with his colleages of that time will advise the US government to default the chinease debt, effectively errasing a few trillion dollars of Chinease future cashflows and then we will have a new beginning!