wazua Mon, May 4, 2026

3 Pages<123
ACUTE SHORTAGE OF DRIVERS IN KENYA......!!!!!
#21 Posted : Thursday, April 28, 2011 1:53:47 PM

selah wrote:
YesuWangu wrote:
There's a certain institute under the Ministry of Roads.....KENYA INSTITUE OF HIGHWAYS AND BUILDING TECHNOLOGY....kwani what is it all about, i thought it also trains its students on such things. Ati he can't find drivers, enyewe pardon my ignorance but how difficult is it to train Kenyans on excavators, earth mover, compactors, bulldozers etc

Sasa Taz, wewe you dont know what is 'taught' in that institute but you think it teaches on such things....is there a driving school that offers training in driving or operating these machines? Laughing out loudly

kenya youth service offer such training why not source drivers from there.

......indeed from the driving school one can competently drive a bulldozer!!!!!

.....I agree we got drivers for such machines in kenya who are qualified and competent, the fact remains that they are not so many, wengi wanajua kuendesha forklift na malorry....look around you!!!!!
#22 Posted : Thursday, April 28, 2011 2:00:32 PM

@Yesuwangu...Fortunately i've been able to get what those guys learn and this is part of it

Civil Engineering
- Highway Engineering
- Land Surveying
- Mechanical Engineering (Automotive, Construction Plant and Industrial Plant)
- Electrical Engineering (Electrical, Electronics, Electrical Power)
- Computer Studies
- Building (Building Construction, Architecture and Quantity Surveying)

We don't need a "driving school" ya Earth movers, excavators......hata kanjo know to operate a Bulldozer.

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly .......to drive?????....pengine Europa!!!
#23 Posted : Thursday, April 28, 2011 4:17:07 PM

@ macreggae,

you see my beef with the pig kajwang is illegaly and corruptly bringing in immigrants into the country to do odd jobs that kenyans can do and giving a lame excuse (lying) to justify his actions...

secondly on plant drivers, like some wazuas have said you will never go to any school to be taught how to operate a plant you have to learn it on job, but the basic requirement is to have an appropriate licence to drive it...

actually there is no shortage of these plant operators...it is the plants themselves that are very few.
#24 Posted : Thursday, April 28, 2011 4:40:12 PM

selah wrote:
YesuWangu wrote:
There's a certain institute under the Ministry of Roads.....KENYA INSTITUE OF HIGHWAYS AND BUILDING TECHNOLOGY....kwani what is it all about, i thought it also trains its students on such things. Ati he can't find drivers, enyewe pardon my ignorance but how difficult is it to train Kenyans on excavators, earth mover, compactors, bulldozers etc

Sasa Taz, wewe you dont know what is 'taught' in that institute but you think it teaches on such things....is there a driving school that offers training in driving or operating these machines? Laughing out loudly

kenya youth service offer such training why not source drivers from there.

The National Youth Service is open to Kenyan Citizens who are 18 years and above.
It gives the youth the opportunity to participate in nation building while preparing them for a wide range of occupations.

There are currently 14 National Youth Service schools and institutions in Kenya as shown below:

NYS Engineering Institute - Nairobi
NYS Institute of Business Studies - Nairobi
NYS Engineering Craft Training School - Nairobi
NYS Technical College - Mombasa
NYS Advanced Building School - Gilgil
NYS School of Agriculture - Yatta
NYS Early Childhood Education Centre - Gilgil
NYS Plant Operators and Mechanics School - Yatta
NYS Rural Craft Training Centre - Turbo
NYS on the job Training School - Kerio Valley
NYS on the job Training School - Tana Basin
NYS Technical Training Institute - Naivasha
NYS Vocational Training Institute and Driving School - Nairobi

Courses offered at National Youth Service (NYS)

Certificate Courses

Copy Typist
Driving Courses
Engineering and Building
K.A.T.C (KASNEB)
Shorthand Typist Courses
Tailoring and Dressmaking
Telephonist/Receptionist/Front Office Course

Diploma Courses

CPA (KASNEB)
Electrical Engineering
Mechanical Engineering
Secretarial Studies
Supplies Management
Trade Course Grade III - I

ministry of youth affairs

The driving courses must be there.

#25 Posted : Thursday, April 28, 2011 4:43:04 PM

Kaigangio wrote:
@ macreggae,

you see my beef with the pig kajwang is illegaly and corruptly bringing in immigrants into the country to do odd jobs that kenyans can do and giving a lame excuse (lying) to justify his actions...

secondly on plant drivers, like some wazuas have said you will never go to any school to be taught how to operate a plant you have to learn it on job, but the basic requirement is to have an appropriate licence to drive it...

actually there is no shortage of these plant operators...it is the plants themselves that are very few.

@Kaigagio, the Dept of Immigration does not import these cheap "rocket" workers but what it does is that it irregularly and corruptly issues with with permits to do menial jobs that should ideally be done by our brothers and sisters.

I can vouch that the Permits section of this Dept is the last frontier of sleaze. The passports section was reformed and graft is minimal though the next question is who gets the passports with the increase in questionable issue of ID to foreigners as well as certificates of birth.

At the permits section, the "pig" has immense influence bordering on sabotaging the Director who is the technocrat- a very incorruptible man. The permits are issued to "brief case" companies and the systems there are so lax that they don't even check the background of these companies in the name of "foreign investors".

The issue raised by the MP is of grave nationla concern, The Wajir South MP and Maina Kamau pointed out rightly though they did not have the required evidence to substantiate their claims. The enforcement of the Act relating to immigration has been lacking and needs to be strengthened the raids on factories no longer take happen.
#26 Posted : Thursday, April 28, 2011 5:00:14 PM

Please let no one misunderstand me. If there be people with such knowledge, skill and competence let them be employed as appropriate.
#27 Posted : Thursday, April 28, 2011 5:19:11 PM

@Rahatupu,
I totally agree with you.From where i am standing,i can see twenty or more of those "Asians" doing practically what our youth go to polytechnics to learn and is also readily available in the Jua Kali industry.....The Kenyan and Ugandan sugar industry has of recent been invaded by hundreds of this "asians" and to the best of my knowledge,Kenya has never been short of welders,fitters,masons,electricians,fabricators,riggers and labourers......Pay a visit to the following and you will witness how Kenyan youths are being robbed of by this Mpig,the opprtunities.Maasai Mara sugar,Butali,Kibos sugar and Kinyara sugar.....In one comical case,a group of this desperate "Asians" is in the country working for another sugar industry,using the work permits of their previous client and they roam freely......!!Kajwang is just another corrupt white liar leading an even more corrupt retinue of civil servants....BK!....If anybody cared,i would gladly give the names of this Indian and Dubai registered companies which are in the business of importing crap human labour into Kenya.
#28 Posted : Thursday, April 28, 2011 6:45:07 PM

@Rahatupu,
I totally agree with you.From where i am standing,i can see twenty or more of those "Asians" doing practically what our youth go to polytechnics to learn and is also readily available in the Jua Kali industry.....The Kenyan and Ugandan sugar industry has of recent been invaded by hundreds of this "asians" and to the best of my knowledge,Kenya has never been short of welders,fitters,masons,electricians,fabricators,riggers and labourers......Pay a visit to the following and you will witness how Kenyan youths are being robbed of by this Mpig,the opprtunities.Maasai Mara sugar,Butali,Kibos sugar and Kinyara sugar.....In one comical case,a group of this desperate "Asians" is in the country working for another sugar industry,using the work permits of their previous client and they roam freely......!!Kajwang is just another corrupt white liar leading an even more corrupt retinue of civil servants....BK!....If anybody cared,i would gladly give the names of this Indian and Dubai registered companies which are in the business of importing crap human labour into Kenya.

@Njunge... Name and shame them what else are we waiting for even wikileaks shamed the mighty
#29 Posted : Friday, April 29, 2011 8:07:09 AM

@Mcreggae, interacting with wahindi is one thing, working for them a totally different ball game.
#30 Posted : Friday, April 29, 2011 8:45:59 AM

Robinhood wrote:
@Mcreggae, interacting with wahindi is one thing, working for them a totally different ball game.

I hear you Robin, Otieno kajwang' like many other ministers is corrupt but this disease of illiterate indians coming into the country has more to do with govt policy than an individual, it has been happening for so long as I can remember and as I said earlier the situation down in Kampala is deplrable to say the least!!!
3 Pages<123