wazua Sun, Jul 27, 2025

End of double digit growth for old banks
Surealligator
#1 Posted : Wednesday, April 27, 2011 9:32:29 AM

This is the lead story in Business Daily today.

BBK and SCB are going to be the hardest hit as they still hold the biggest chunk of unclaimed assets.

BBK was smart to sell its Custodial Business as they saw this coming.

Equity bank is still young and thus has not accumulate alot of the unaccounted for assets.

Here is an excerpt.

Banks, for instance, draw from their pool of customer deposits - including unclaimed deposits - to fund their lending business but the new law is set to change this.

At an average lending rate of 14 per cent, banks could lose interest income of up to Sh14 billion should the more than Sh100 billion in unclaimed deposits --representing eight per cent of total deposits-- be taken by the authority.

http://www.businessdaily.../1/-/bx08kh/-/index.html
Go overdrive in purchasing the goods when there's blood on the streets, expecially if the blood is your own
Cde Monomotapa
#2 Posted : Wednesday, April 27, 2011 9:48:17 AM

Lol! Kwani what's up with Business Daily of late? It has been aggressively trashing listed Co.s! Interesting article nevertheless...
Burning Spear
#3 Posted : Wednesday, April 27, 2011 9:56:32 AM

[quote=Surealligator]This is the lead story in Business Daily today.

BBK and SCB are going to be the hardest hit as they still hold the biggest chunk of unclaimed assets.

BBK was smart to sell its Custodial Business as they saw this coming.

Equity bank is still young and thus has not accumulate alot of the unaccounted for assets.

Here is an excerpt.

Banks, for instance, draw from their pool of customer deposits - including unclaimed deposits - to fund their lending business but the new law is set to change this.

At an average lending rate of 14 per cent, banks could lose interest income of up to Sh14 billion should the more than Sh100 billion in unclaimed deposits --representing eight per cent of total deposits-- be taken by the authority.

http://www.businessdaily...1/-/bx08kh/-/index.html[/quote]

I do agree with you and support the authority in getting these assets.If you look at the recent happenings in the banks where the employees have been getting big from these unclaimed assets,you are left to ask who the beneficiaries are.If the beneficiaries cannot be traced,let the authorities take the assets back.
"You're not supposed to be so blind with patriotism that you can't face reality. Wrong is wrong, no matter who says it". Malcolm X
#4 Posted : Wednesday, April 27, 2011 10:08:29 AM

Hah... I trust these 'authorities' even less than the Banks!

Somehow, I have a feeling that if I complain about my cash at a multinational bank, I will get it or some of it back...

A govt institution does not care about bad publicity! Mta do?
#5 Posted : Wednesday, April 27, 2011 2:37:27 PM

What the hell are you talking about?
100 Birrions lying somewhere unclaimed?And banks lending this out?

#6 Posted : Wednesday, April 27, 2011 3:46:22 PM

People should have wills and they should also constantly update them. Sasa kwanini ufichie bibi au bwana yako juu ya 'ka account' flani umeficha?
#7 Posted : Wednesday, April 27, 2011 4:11:33 PM

youcan'tstopusnow wrote:

People should have wills and they should also constantly update them. Sasa kwanini ufichie bibi au bwana yako juu ya 'ka account' flani umeficha?
Lakini, these days you need them

Mpango Wa Kando phone number
MWK M-Pesa account
MWK salo
MWK apartment/flat
#8 Posted : Wednesday, April 27, 2011 4:47:42 PM

youcan'tstopusnow wrote:

MWK M-Pesa account
MWK salo
MWK apartment/flat

Man Can Live On Wife Alone
Cde Monomotapa
#9 Posted : Wednesday, April 27, 2011 5:16:35 PM

My chudren shud not suffer in my absence. Andikisha will na wakili -kama mimi smile ntawapatia discount- if I u don't trust ur wife (of which I don't advocate for).
#10 Posted : Wednesday, April 27, 2011 5:43:28 PM

youcan'tstopusnow wrote:

MWK M-Pesa account
MWK salo
MWK apartment/flat

Man Can Live On Wife Alone

Let me revise it to MwK...
#11 Posted : Wednesday, April 27, 2011 6:19:22 PM

youcan'tstopusnow wrote:

Kwasababu umekaficha. Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
#12 Posted : Wednesday, April 27, 2011 6:23:09 PM

Cde Monomotapa wrote:
My chudren shud not suffer in my absence. Andikisha will na wakili -kama mimi smile ntawapatia discount- if I u don't trust ur wife (of which I don't advocate for).

How now??? You don't trust your wife and you trust a lawyer? A Kenyan lawyer at that? Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly

Mpaka kuwe na some control mechanism. Mawakili no majambazi sugu! Watabadilisha kila kitu bila bibi na watoto kujua!!!
#13 Posted : Wednesday, April 27, 2011 7:37:08 PM

MaichBlack, what do you suggest?
Cde Monomotapa
#14 Posted : Wednesday, April 27, 2011 7:50:50 PM

Mcheew!
#15 Posted : Thursday, April 28, 2011 5:14:56 AM

Cde Monomotapa wrote:

How now??? You don't trust your wife and you trust a lawyer? A Kenyan lawyer at that? Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly

Mpaka kuwe na some control mechanism. Mawakili no majambazi sugu! Watabadilisha kila kitu bila bibi na watoto kujua!!!
At least my wife will steal from me... The lawyer will steal from my kids too!
Cde Monomotapa
#16 Posted : Thursday, April 28, 2011 6:21:30 AM

Cde Monomotapa wrote:

At least my wife will steal from me... The lawyer will steal from my kids too!

My reputation is impeccable! Nevertheless, I don't discount the presence of a couple of rotten apples in our legal practice; the same way we had a couple of rotten stock brokers in the equity business. ID reputable legal partners as you would reputable IBs.