Investor
Stocks
KENOL/KOBIL
So you do not mind get shafted as long as it is done in a smaller (presumably less painful) way  . I certainly do. Gordon Gekko wrote:[quote=the deal]Rwanda now caps fuel prices http://www.bloomberg.com...oil-costs-increase.html[/quote] US$ 1.76/litre = ksh 149. This means that it costs ksh 38 (140 - 111) to transport a litre from NBO to KGL - is that realistic? So why are we complaining when other people are being shafted in a bigger way?
Rank: Chief Joined: 1/3/2007 Posts: 18,261 Location: Nairobi
Gordon Gekko wrote:[quote=the deal]Rwanda now caps fuel prices http://www.bloomberg.com...oil-costs-increase.html[/quote] US$ 1.76/litre = ksh 149. This means that it costs ksh 38 (140 - 111) to transport a litre from NBO to KGL - is that realistic? So why are we complaining when other people are being shafted in a bigger way? It's the inefficiencies. Look at how long it takes for trucks to move from Mombasa to Nairobi then to Kisumu, cross the border [delays] then to Kampala before another border crossing before it gets to Kigali! Greedy when others are fearful. Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase Warren Buffett
Here is a blog post I googled from January 2009. Was it prophetic? http://coldtusker.blogsp...oldtusker-told-you.html
Now there are silly proposals to: - Introduce price controls (bad, bad idea) - Give NOCK (another inefficient 100% gov't owned firm) the right/guarantee to import 30% of Kenya's fuel requirements rather than compete vs the rest of the importers. What if NOCK negotiates prices that are say a little over market... the difference going to some politician's bank account in Cayman?
Do I smell scandal & corruption if the proposal were to pass? YES.Greedy when others are fearful. Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase Warren Buffett
Rank: Elder Joined: 9/25/2009 Posts: 4,534 Location: Windhoek/Nairobbery
Rank: Chief Joined: 3/24/2010 Posts: 6,779 Location: Black Africa
VVS, I christen you the Sage of Nairobi  GOD BLESS YOUR LIFE
youcan'tstopusnow wrote:VVS, I christen you the Sage of Nairobi  >>I second. Very Veritus Sage in a similar way we've use rt reverend. The opposite of courage is not cowardice, it's conformity.
youcan'tstopusnow wrote:VVS, I christen you the Sage of Nairobi  Nairobi is too small for Herr vvs!!
BTW, KK just acquired/leased a Fuel Depot in Tanzania. 33,000m3 capacity. They can expand their export operations to DRC, Burundi, Rwanda & Uganda! Greedy when others are fearful. Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase Warren Buffett
VituVingiSana wrote:BTW, KK just acquired/leased a Fuel Depot in Tanzania. 33,000m3 capacity. They can expand their export operations to DRC, Burundi, Rwanda & Uganda! Just got the email. See you at the AGM tomorrow?
Gordon Gekko wrote:VituVingiSana wrote:BTW, KK just acquired/leased a Fuel Depot in Tanzania. 33,000m3 capacity. They can expand their export operations to DRC, Burundi, Rwanda & Uganda! Just got the email. See you at the AGM tomorrow? I will be incognito lakini yes... Even if I miss it, it will be on youtube! Greedy when others are fearful. Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase Warren Buffett
Gordon Gekko wrote:VituVingiSana wrote:BTW, KK just acquired/leased a Fuel Depot in Tanzania. 33,000m3 capacity. They can expand their export operations to DRC, Burundi, Rwanda & Uganda! Just got the email. See you at the AGM tomorrow? >>AGM morrow? I thought it was on 29th? The opposite of courage is not cowardice, it's conformity.
Rank: Elder Joined: 3/2/2009 Posts: 26,330 Location: Masada
What identification is required to attend the AGM? I hope the rally seen today will be maintained ex 29th onwards. Portfolio: Sold You know you've made it when you get a parking space for your yatcht.
Mmm...Seems KK will be spared from LIFO action. Mrudi na ujumbe kuu!!
jerry wrote:Gordon Gekko wrote:VituVingiSana wrote:BTW, KK just acquired/leased a Fuel Depot in Tanzania. 33,000m3 capacity. They can expand their export operations to DRC, Burundi, Rwanda & Uganda! Just got the email. See you at the AGM tomorrow? >>AGM morrow? I thought it was on 29th? Kesho. 10am at InterCont. They changed the time from 11am to 10am. No chakula. No sodas. No swag. Hopefully, no chami? Greedy when others are fearful. Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase Warren Buffett
Interesting....TuskerBaridi/ColdTusker = VVS?
ecstacy wrote:Interesting....TuskerBaridi/ColdTusker = VVS? If VVS is ColdTusker then TuskerBaridi is not ColdTusker. I was reading up on past StocksKenya threads and TuskerBaridi seemed to be a very big speculator, while VVS is the opposite. Ama TuskerBaridi banged his head and turned into VVS GOD BLESS YOUR LIFE
They were also contributing to the same threads. I doubt VVS possesses Multiple Personality Disorder like 'You Know Who' Remember a guy called Capital Markets Geek? Anyone GOD BLESS YOUR LIFE
youcan'tstopusnow wrote:ecstacy wrote:Interesting....TuskerBaridi/ColdTusker = VVS? If VVS is ColdTusker then TuskerBaridi is not ColdTusker. I was reading up on past StocksKenya threads and TuskerBaridi seemed to be a very big speculator, while VVS is the opposite. Ama TuskerBaridi banged his head and turned into VVS Nope... none of the above! Lakini, I am on Twitter & follow a lot of people like bankelele, FCapital, etc Greedy when others are fearful. Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase Warren Buffett
ecstacy wrote:Interesting....TuskerBaridi/ColdTusker = VVS? Wacha ku-confuse watu...! Are you also on Twitter? Greedy when others are fearful. Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase Warren Buffett
youcan'tstopusnow wrote: I doubt VVS possesses Multiple Personality Disorder like 'You Know Who' Remember a guy called Capital Markets Geek? Anyone Ticha! Ticha! Me, me, me!
Investor
Stocks
KENOL/KOBIL