Culture
Wrong Number
Dia wrote:
Got the one for Mungiki and it scared me to pieces! Glad to see it was fake.
@Leona, call Safaricom's 234 and report the number. They'll ask you to forward it to them at no cost to you.
Did the caller identify himself as Irungu? He has used that name on all the victims I know of the Mungiki prank. What a wicked man I am!The things I want to do,I don't do.The things I don't want to do I find myself doing
leona wrote:MaichBlack wrote: Siz nitumie majina na ID ya Ken. Nimeongea na Kianga CGS wa D.O.D. Amekubali kuchukua Ken na vijana wengine 5 kujaza nafasi hapa R.T.S. Eldoret kwa Jeshi.
Thank God for Wazua! I also received the sms above,this morning and almost txd back to inform the sender that its a wrong number... But just as i was about to do so,my instinct told me not to and am soo glad i didn't! The idiot's number is 0722 167462@Wazua admin or anyone who works for safcom/airtel... please assist us in stamping out this scammers via tracing the numbers listed above. I still have the sms on my phone and wouldn't mind producing it as evidence... Washindwe! Got the same sms sometimes in Dec but of course ignored it, assumed just wron no..
kangi wrote: Caller; Niukuinamia ngui ino
then the guy switches off (somebody Translate)
![Laughing out loudly](/Images/Emoticons/msp_lol.gif) ....That's a classic! Nothing great was ever achieved without enthusiasm.
kadonye wrote:Dia wrote:
Got the one for Mungiki and it scared me to pieces! Glad to see it was fake.
@Leona, call Safaricom's 234 and report the number. They'll ask you to forward it to them at no cost to you.
Did the caller identify himself as Irungu? He has used that name on all the victims I know of the Mungiki prank. Somehow, I always missed their calls and when I got the sms, I did absolutley nothing except pray for safety. At the time I blamed some ruffians I had approached for business and it looks like I blamed them unfairly. Tis truly a pity I lost that business coz of some prank!
Rank: Veteran Joined: 5/13/2010 Posts: 869 Location: Nairobi
Got this from 0718790155 'Hey siz tell jack 2 cal me as soon as possible & add me 3people wth c+ & above 4 replacement in previous recruitment in Kenya army do faster thanks ur bro bye.' I am written it exactly as it came.... He is still waiting for me to call back i guess ![smile](/Images/Emoticons/msp_smile.gif) ....above all, to stand.
Rank: Member Joined: 12/18/2009 Posts: 316 Location: nairobi
got one yesterday and it went like this " Dear Sir Madam, Your number has been selected by our official company to win $5000 call now to recieve your prize, call imedietly.congrutaltions. came from a funny number - +50090867 (plus the spelling mistakes) God loves a Trier!
Rank: Member Joined: 4/14/2010 Posts: 806 Location: Nairobi
Rank: New-farer Joined: 2/16/2010 Posts: 92 Location: Nairobi
Got this one just today, from +254739583857 Hi sis, This is inspector MUTUNGA we are doing Recruitment of KENYA POLICE,GSU,& AP. i we need 3pples wth C+ & above. sms or email details of kennedy, do faster. 07337715 Entrepreneurship is a cognitive bias. They can’t teach it to you.
manuPK wrote:Got this one just today, from +254739583857
Hi sis, This is inspector MUTUNGA we are doing Recruitment of KENYA POLICE,GSU,& AP. i we need 3pples wth C+ & above. sms or email details of kennedy, do faster. 07337715 Really? these guys must think people are stupid... or may be people are really that gullible! How can you introduce yourself to your sister using your official title? Kwani hakujui?
Wendz wrote:manuPK wrote:Got this one just today, from +254739583857
Hi sis, This is inspector MUTUNGA we are doing Recruitment of KENYA POLICE,GSU,& AP. i we need 3pples wth C+ & above. sms or email details of kennedy, do faster. 07337715 Really? these guys must think people are stupid... or may be people are really that gullible! How can you introduce yourself to your sister using your official title? Kwani hakujui? When I got it, I didn't know whether to laugh - @ the incoherently executed scam- or cry - that some people out there might actually fall for it. Entrepreneurship is a cognitive bias. They can’t teach it to you.
Rank: New-farer Joined: 8/7/2010 Posts: 32 Location: Kenya
also got an sms addressed to a 'mr.straw ' with some codes for containers at the port.i immediately deleted it,and never heard from them since. word of advice,even if someone genuinely sends you money by mistake via m-pesa,dont send it back.ask them to call customer care to reverse the transaction. What a man can be,he must be.
manuPK wrote:Got this one just today, from +254739583857
Hi sis, This is inspector MUTUNGA we are doing Recruitment of KENYA POLICE,GSU,& AP. i we need 3pples wth C+ & above. sms or email details of kennedy, do faster. 07337715 Yet another one from +254733694587 Hi mum i've talked to the deputy ACP, he agreed to take David to the police force.Email her details before recruitment kick off on 27/4/11 Bure kabisa.....but it's unfortunate that some desperate unemployed person out there might fall to these scammers. Entrepreneurship is a cognitive bias. They can’t teach it to you.
manuPK wrote:manuPK wrote:Got this one just today, from +254739583857
Hi sis, This is inspector MUTUNGA we are doing Recruitment of KENYA POLICE,GSU,& AP. i we need 3pples wth C+ & above. sms or email details of kennedy, do faster. 07337715 Yet another one from +254733694587 Hi mum i've talked to the deputy ACP, he agreed to take David to the police force.Email her details before recruitment kick off on 27/4/11 Bure kabisa.....but it's unfortunate that some desperate unemployed person out there might fall to these scammers. Yaani now this scams are becoming too much. Now that's 3 in one month, is it just me or is this a ploy to annoy me? +254726099704 "From safaricom we are celebrating easter your number have won ksh50,000 call 0729333333 or 0717006541 bonga ushinde promotion and don't pay anything the better option." Entrepreneurship is a cognitive bias. They can’t teach it to you.
Culture
Wrong Number