wazua Mon, Jul 28, 2025

PORTFOLIO IN RED
Querry
#1 Posted : Wednesday, April 20, 2011 10:19:52 AM

Well I have been in the stocks trade for quite a while now and seems like am still learning the hard way.

Right now my portfolio is highly in RED :

Security Buy (average) Gain/loss Portfolio %

NIC 0rd 47.833 -4.73% 27.87%

Mumias 9.53 -15.19% 20.369289

Carbacid 141 -3.55% 18.302181

KPLC 22.375 -5.96% 17.458463

Kenya Re 12.4 -19.68% 8.0510125

KCB 22.5 15.56%[/b) 4.3808411

Co-op 18.3 -6.01% 3.5630841

Safaricom 6.5 -36.92 (500 shares)
[b]
Total Loss -8.11%

I think I trade to save and at the moment it would be better if i banked the money in a current account(0% interest).Well excluding the dividends

What to do to improve these ratings?

#2 Posted : Wednesday, April 20, 2011 10:28:50 AM

"Well I have been in the stocks trade for quite a while now and seems like am still learning the hard way." Incorrect statement as NIC only recently came to the 40s - I'm doing positive 75% on it, first investment in 2006/7 in the 20s, coupled with the bonuses!!!
mkonomtupu
#3 Posted : Wednesday, April 20, 2011 10:41:35 AM

You do nothing...just sit tight wait and wait, is it Jesus who said good things come to those who wait.

Querry
#4 Posted : Wednesday, April 20, 2011 11:26:32 AM

Gordon Gekko wrote:
"Well I have been in the stocks trade for quite a while now and seems like am still learning the hard way." Incorrect statement as NIC only recently came to the 40s - I'm doing positive 75% on it, first investment in 2006/7 in the 20s, coupled with the bonuses!!!

Well dont get it- but i bought NIC @ 50 and av been trying to average down
the deal
#5 Posted : Wednesday, April 20, 2011 11:42:35 AM

Next time learn to cut your losses at 15% maximum my friend...always protect your capital... cant tell you what to sell cos those losses r too huge...but KK and JUB are worth looking at.
#6 Posted : Wednesday, April 20, 2011 11:47:51 AM

Your portfolio looks good apart from of course scom @ 6.50/- which I'm sure you bought immediately after the IPO nevertheless it's a very small part of your portfolio and the rest of it will raise for sure. I would hold and set a percentage gain sell and stick to it - say if one gets to like +20% you sell.

mgeman
#7 Posted : Wednesday, April 20, 2011 12:04:46 PM

Good sell/hold advise if you have the discipline to quickly cut your and never, yes never average down! This is sending good money after bad. Rather pyramid up, these if a are right and a stock you bought goes up, sell your losers and increase your holding on the winner.
I am an African

-Thambo Mbeki Speech
#8 Posted : Wednesday, April 20, 2011 4:50:11 PM

@Querry for one you can restructure your portfolio by reducing the number of counters you own because it will help to avoid splitting your research resources among many...

Then when you speculate you should adopt a stop loss system of 10%-20% depending on the circumstance(eg political instability relative to poor operations of the company)

#9 Posted : Wednesday, April 20, 2011 4:58:30 PM

guru267 wrote:
@Querry for one you can restructure your portfolio by reducing the number of counters you own because it will help to avoid splitting your research resources among many...

Then when you speculate you should adopt a stop loss system of 10%-20% depending on the circumstance(eg political instability relative to poor operations of the company)

Hapo @guru umenena kama madem watatu. Wish had done that for Mumias (12 to 7) and KQ (54 to 33)
Muthawamunene
#10 Posted : Wednesday, April 20, 2011 8:19:38 PM

Gordon Gekko wrote:
guru267 wrote:

Hapo @guru umenena kama madem watatu. Wish had done that for Mumias (12 to 7) and KQ (54 to 33)

mii hupenda watu kama wewe Gordon, got on K.Q at 47 na sasa we all know wea its @. lakini back then I was a novice na siuzi hata kamwe. let it serve as a reminder.
Cde Monomotapa
#11 Posted : Wednesday, April 20, 2011 9:32:51 PM

Muthawamunene wrote:
Gordon Gekko wrote:
guru267 wrote:

mii hupenda watu kama wewe Gordon, got on K.Q at 47 na sasa we all know wea its @. lakini back then I was a novice na siuzi hata kamwe. let it serve as a reminder.

@MwM I likey!!
erifloss
#12 Posted : Wednesday, April 20, 2011 10:04:20 PM

1. Never fall in love with a share. Did it once and i regreted it.
2. Always have a stop loss.
3. You are in to make money period. As one American trader nicely put it 'if you care too much on how much you are going to make and how, someone else is actually making the cash and he doesn't care about who is losing it'
Always ensure that you have the cost factor in your mind when investing or trading. For example bought Kq at 33 (real price-33.693) sold the same batch at 37.5 (real price-36.7125) gain 14% (real gain 9%). While others i bought with are still holding i'll get back in at 34 ( real price 34.714). As opposed to one who waited i made an extra 2 bob and i still believe on Kq's fundamentals as a long term investment.
All in all always understand what you are investing in.
'They say money cannot buy me happiness but when i compare when i had none and now, i'm happier' Kevin O'leary
#13 Posted : Thursday, April 21, 2011 10:40:00 AM

Muthawamunene wrote:

[/quote]

@MwM please practice the stop loss system because it has prevented the destruction of many people's wealth...

For guys who bought mumias at 14.. How long will they wait before it gets back there...

But if the same people activated a stop loss at 12.6 they would be making money from other opportunities like Jubilee, scangroup, Ea cables, C&G and KCB....

But if they stuck with the share they are currently at a 50% loss with 40cents dividend to look forward to...

Ps: this only applies to speculative shares
Querry
#14 Posted : Wednesday, April 27, 2011 10:17:51 AM

mkonomtupu wrote:
You do nothing...just sit tight wait and wait, is it Jesus who said good things come to those who wait.

Amen to that. i will watch and wait
Querry
#15 Posted : Wednesday, April 27, 2011 10:20:12 AM

mgeman wrote:
Good sell/hold advise if you have the discipline to quickly cut your and never, yes never average down! This is sending good money after bad. Rather pyramid up, these if a are right and a stock you bought goes up, sell your losers and increase your holding on the winner.

Thank you. thats a whole new concept to me(pyramid)
Querry
#16 Posted : Wednesday, April 27, 2011 10:24:25 AM

guru267 wrote:

1. What is the ideal number of counters to hold.

well Lesson no.2; Stop loss system.
The Merchant
#17 Posted : Wednesday, April 27, 2011 10:27:31 AM

guru267 wrote:
Muthawamunene wrote:

@MwM please practice the stop loss system because it has prevented the destruction of many people's wealth...

For guys who bought mumias at 14.. How long will they wait before it gets back there...

But if the same people activated a stop loss at 12.6 they would be making money from other opportunities like Jubilee, scangroup, Ea cables, C&G and KCB....

But if they stuck with the share they are currently at a 50% loss with 40cents dividend to look forward to...

Ps: this only applies to speculative shares[/quote]

oh oh!!! Im doing -23% on a particular stock....I wonder why, hmmmmm...
Querry
#18 Posted : Wednesday, April 27, 2011 10:31:20 AM

Well in my short life span at Wazua i have learnt quite a lot on trading in the stock market. Previously i was just investing(stocking up money in the SE)

Well this is my lay man understanding so far:
1.Choose a stock with a high dividend yield and a low p/e ratio. (thats all av managed to learn so far on stock analysis)
2. in a bear market; buy in portions as the market is going down
3. you can never predict the bottom out /top of the market
4. people will tend to buy when the market is going up and sell when its going down
5.In a bear market; emotions reign high @ Wazua