wazua Fri, Mar 27, 2026

3 Pages<123
Price controls debate
#21 Posted : Friday, December 04, 2009 7:24:53 AM

@tony - You are mixing tax avoidance & evasion...

By reducing taxes (whether by avoidance or simply fewer/lower taxes) we encourage the legit tax-paying businesses to become more competitive & prosper. FYI, I prefer less complex tax rules that reduce the need for tax avoidance.

What matatus, etc do is tax evasion... that needs to be cracked down on... that will relieve the burden on legit businesses e.g. bus firms.
For Sport
#22 Posted : Thursday, April 14, 2011 4:26:24 PM

"The Government’s decision to introduce price controls on petroleum products is to blame for the rising cost of fuel and living standards."
http://www.standardmedia...14&j=&m=&d=

what were people expecting when these measures were adopted? Price controls are rarely (if ever) a good idea.
Tommy
#23 Posted : Thursday, April 14, 2011 4:58:32 PM

@For sport, i am with you on this one, The price of fuel has hit an all time high of Ksh. 111 in Nairobi, I wonder where/ how we will survive.
Don't wait for the Last Judgment. It happens every day. ~Albert Camus, The Fall, 1956
#24 Posted : Thursday, April 14, 2011 7:50:58 PM

Without controls, we could have hi 110 a month ago. Im ok with them so long as they dont lead to shortages.
amga
#25 Posted : Friday, April 15, 2011 7:52:36 PM

hii hapana maneno worth laughing seriously Ephraim is among our cowboy contractors bak in Moi's time and now he wants to lecture us wapi hii watu wa civil societies i really smell a big rat this dude has never been to any good. watch how he single handedly ruined the mathira cdf kitty from the best ranking to now among the worst in Kenya
3 Pages<123