3 Pages<123
MOBILE NUMBER PORTABILITY
#41 Posted : Friday, March 18, 2011 2:36:08 PM

Dod wrote:
selah wrote:
Dod wrote:
Airtel will pay for those porting to their network.

Thats a fantastic Idea .... you try their network for free and when you are not satisfied you pay to get out.

#42 Posted : Friday, March 18, 2011 3:38:34 PM

200/- is affordable to port over... Though @vimto says it is only 35/- in India!

Though with calls at 1/- or less in India, why even bother?
K22
#43 Posted : Friday, March 18, 2011 4:05:34 PM

The only thing that will save Safcom is MPESA & Data (3G).

You can still receive Mpesa with your ported number but it will be expensive to Withdraw.... or will Airtel also waive these charges?

A successful man is one who makes more money than his wife can spend. A successful woman is one who can find such a man
#44 Posted : Tuesday, April 12, 2011 12:55:38 PM

Now safaricom accuses Airtel of Sabotage.
Safaricom is complaining over serious unethical competitor behavior by Airtel in the implementation of mobile number portability and is looking for the intervention of CCK.

http://bit.ly/ie6qVh
Barrywhite
#45 Posted : Tuesday, April 12, 2011 1:49:50 PM

From that link, Safariom seems to have a point. Methinks MNP has not been the success Airtel envisaged it to be after spending so much on its marketing, so they are now crying victim to shift attention!

The laudable is more often than not rendered laughable by overclaim
#46 Posted : Tuesday, April 12, 2011 3:06:34 PM

Quite true; if I were SCOM, I wouldn't honour any request that is not on the agreeed standard form.
manuPK
#47 Posted : Tuesday, April 12, 2011 6:32:35 PM

MNP in my opinion will only be beneficial and cost effective to customers on post-pay. For example in the UK, mobile service providers use it as a marketing tool to lure contract/pay monthly customers when they're due for an upgrade from their current service provider to another one that can give them a better deal, in which they can retain their number if they jumped ship.
Entrepreneurship is a cognitive bias. They can’t teach it to you.
aydenjason
#48 Posted : Tuesday, April 12, 2011 6:57:45 PM

Now safcom is realy Bhavin like a Truly 'FORMER' market leader. Y r they insecure. We thot airtel was insignificant, bt alas! Its bcomin a pain in their *ss and slowly dethroning saf. The kingdom is on fire! Kenya's watching
Namukhaywa: walk by me & ill take u thea.
Caveman
#49 Posted : Tuesday, April 12, 2011 8:06:45 PM

aydenjason wrote:
Now safcom is realy Bhavin like a Truly 'FORMER' market leader. Y r they insecure. We thot airtel was insignificant, bt alas! Its bcomin a pain in their *ss and slowly dethroning saf. The kingdom is on fire! Kenya's watching

This sounds rather like a wish. It is far fetched.
I think Safaricom concerns were about subscriber mis-information, mis-presentation of facts and witholding vital information from subscribers. This doesn't show in any way that Safaricom is terrified.
miser
#50 Posted : Wednesday, April 13, 2011 11:40:43 AM

Caveman wrote:
aydenjason wrote:

I think Safaricom concerns were about subscriber mis-information, mis-presentation of facts and witholding vital information from subscribers. This doesn't show in any way that Safaricom is terrified.

Mzee wa pangoni a.k.a caveman,ukweli ni huu katika haya malumbano ya Saf na Airtel.Yatakayo tokea ama yameshatokea ni haya:Swali kwanza,inamaana gani nijulishe kila mtu nambari yangu ya M-pesa?Kwa kifupi malipo yakupiga simu ukitumia Airtel ni nafuu.Hivyo basi mwenye akili kiasi cha haja atahama na mara moja anunue simkadi nyingine ya M-Pesa peke yake!Lakini Saf masharti watayatoa baadaye kwamba nambari ambayo haitumiki kupigia simu itafutiliwa mbali!!!
chris79
#51 Posted : Wednesday, April 13, 2011 12:03:11 PM

miser wrote:
Caveman wrote:
aydenjason wrote:

Mzee wa pangoni a.k.a caveman,ukweli ni huu katika haya malumbano ya Saf na Airtel.Yatakayo tokea ama yameshatokea ni haya:Swali kwanza,inamaana gani nijulishe kila mtu nambari yangu ya M-pesa?Kwa kifupi malipo yakupiga simu ukitumia Airtel ni nafuu.Hivyo basi mwenye akili kiasi cha haja atahama na mara moja anunie simkadi nyingine ya M-Pesa peke yake!Lakini Saf masharti watayatoa baadaye kwamba nambari ambayo haitumiki kupigia simu itafutiliwa mbali!!!

Bwana Mkono Birika aka miser, kuna haja gani ya kuhamisha laini yako ya MPESA kisha ununue lingine ambalo linakupa huduma ile ile? Kwa nini usinunue laini ya Airtel kisha uweze kunufaika na huduma za mitandao yote mawili?Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you
miser
#52 Posted : Wednesday, April 13, 2011 12:43:45 PM

Bwana Cris79,
Haja kubwa sana ya nambari ya simu ni kuwasiliana.Hivyo nikipata laini mpya itanibidi niwajulishe wote nambari yangu mpya!Lakini kumbuka pia nambari yangu namie tuko na uhusiano fulani...kwa hivyo singetaka kuibadilisha kwani mie niko na akili kiasi cha haja!
Nadhani jawabu langu limekuridhisha.Na pia hongera kwa kutumia lugha!!!
#53 Posted : Friday, April 15, 2011 6:32:04 PM

The risk of ‘kuhama’

Mke kanunua line ya Airtel amsurprise mumewe. Mume amekaa sitting room, mke akaenda jikoni akampigia mume na number mpya akasema "HALLO DARLING." Mume hakuijua number, akajibu kwa sauti ya chini "KATA NTAKUPIGIA...! HII NG'OMBE YANGU IKO JIKONI"

..........Tafakari HAYO!
miser
#54 Posted : Monday, April 18, 2011 10:45:08 AM

The risk of ‘kuhama’

Mke kanunua line ya Airtel amsurprise mumewe. Mume amekaa sitting room, mke akaenda jikoni akampigia mume na number mpya akasema "HALLO DARLING." Mume hakuijua number, akajibu kwa sauti ya chini "KATA NTAKUPIGIA...! HII NG'OMBE YANGU IKO JIKONI"

..........Tafakari HAYO!

Nimeyatafakari haya lakini hapa hamna ukweli wowote!Mume yupi hawezi kuitambua sauti ya mkewe?Basi hawa si bibi na bwana hata chembe!!!
niclasclause
#55 Posted : Monday, April 18, 2011 11:09:58 AM

I think the mobile companies in Kenya have long forgotten that they are only service providers since the way they act its only about their profits and not about the consumers of their services. They should learn from the West and realize that consumer satisfaction is number one. No consumer satisfaction -no consumer - no profits - no company. Its about the common man and not about the company.
kenyatelecommunitaction
#56 Posted : Wednesday, July 27, 2011 7:47:25 AM

MNP is a service offered by all mobile service providers that allows you to switch over to another service provider while retaining your existing mobile phone number. This process is called porting. You will however require a new SIM card from the network you join as explained below.
#57 Posted : Wednesday, July 27, 2011 9:49:57 AM

With a light touch, to bring @kenyatelecommunitaction up to speeed...

In Kenya, Mobile Number Portability is also a service which saw a former Dealer with a dominant mobile Operator, turn protagonist to invest Kshs 350 million belonging to one of his Suppliers, in a bid to stick his thumb at a dominant Operator.

In Kenya, Mobile Number Portability is an example of technology put before the peculiar needs of the people, who prefer to carry 2/3 sims any day of the week. A failure that has seen only 40,000 out of 24m adopt the product (0.15%)

Finally, Mobile Number Portability is almost a taboo term noting Kenyan courts have prevented anyone from speaking about the Clearing House, dominant Operator, aggressive Competitor in one sentence smile
#58 Posted : Wednesday, July 27, 2011 10:07:04 AM

With a light touch, to bring @kenyatelecommunitaction up to speeed...