wazua Mon, Nov 18, 2024

5 Pages<1234>»
ICC suspect loses 840M Kshs at JKIA
#21 Posted : Friday, April 15, 2011 9:57:38 AM

SAC Cohen wrote:
This story is Rubbish. US$10 million in cash is equivalent to 1000 bundles of $100 dollar bills which are bundled into U$10,000 sets.

According to the U.S. Treasury, "In $100 bills, the weight of $1
million is about 22 pounds." [that's 10 kg.]...
http://www.ustreas.gov/press/releases/rr2748.htm

This implies that the guy was carrying 100Kg of hand luggage...

the area of a single bill is 6.6294 cm by 15.5956 cm which is
.066294 m by .155956 m = 0.0103389471 square meters

Since $1,000,000 requires 10,000 bills, the total area of the bills is
103.389471 square meters... multiply this by 10, to get $10million
and the total thickness is 124 micrometers * 10,000 = 1,240,000
micrometers = 1.24 meters.
So the height of a single stack is 1.24 meters.
And the volume of the stack is 103.389471 * 0.000124 = 0.01282 cubic meters

I rest my case.

And here I was thinking liquidated assets cannot be frozen......
#22 Posted : Friday, April 15, 2011 10:04:33 AM

gogeta wrote:
SAC Cohen wrote:
This story is Rubbish. US$10 million in cash is equivalent to 1000 bundles of $100 dollar bills which are bundled into U$10,000 sets.

According to the U.S. Treasury, "In $100 bills, the weight of $1
million is about 22 pounds." [that's 10 kg.]...
http://www.ustreas.gov/press/releases/rr2748.htm

This implies that the guy was carrying 100Kg of hand luggage...

the area of a single bill is 6.6294 cm by 15.5956 cm which is
.066294 m by .155956 m = 0.0103389471 square meters

Since $1,000,000 requires 10,000 bills, the total area of the bills is
103.389471 square meters... multiply this by 10, to get $10million
and the total thickness is 124 micrometers * 10,000 = 1,240,000
micrometers = 1.24 meters.
So the height of a single stack is 1.24 meters.
And the volume of the stack is 103.389471 * 0.000124 = 0.01282 cubic meters

I rest my case.

or may be he is the guy who writes the sunday nation article .i guess its called 'world of figures' or something like that.

I dont think so... but I suspect another wazuan writes that article....

sometimes you wonder what background check the journalists do before they feed us all this crap! And google is everywhere, even on their phones. I think it should be a shame being a journalist these days.... Wale wa kitambo they used to do thorough work.
#23 Posted : Friday, April 15, 2011 10:07:45 AM

Maybe being at the hague gave someone an opportunity to be paid since pharmacies are legal over there and Kenya acts as a transit centre.
All in all thats alot of money to be carried in cashsmile
#24 Posted : Friday, April 15, 2011 10:40:55 AM

Wheres there's smoke, there's fire...

May not be $10m, but looks like one of our "future leaders" lost cash at the airport...

And this is the guy we want as president...

hmmmmmmmm
Wa_ithaka
#25 Posted : Friday, April 15, 2011 10:43:30 AM

True story. Have you thought that it is not actually cash but travellers cheques? Some of us who have never travelled don't know the difference
The Governor of Nyeri - 2017
#26 Posted : Friday, April 15, 2011 10:51:31 AM

@Wabushes, you killing Cohen's argument!! :)
Was Simon Mbugua and Embakasi MP at the airport at the time?
#27 Posted : Friday, April 15, 2011 10:52:56 AM

The Standard is all trash...Last week I looked at the exchange rates page and what was there were figures for December 2010. They are just too lazy they can copy the information provided daily by CBK...Bure kabisa...akia Mungu ( Did I hear Kibaki right last night!!!)...This is so UNTRUE
#28 Posted : Friday, April 15, 2011 11:04:37 AM

The Standard is all trash...Last week I looked at the exchange rates page and what was there were figures for December 2010. They are just too lazy they can copy the information provided daily by CBK...Bure kabisa...akia Mungu ( Did I hear Kibaki right last night!!!)...This is so UNTRUE

Nini hii?
wanyuru
#29 Posted : Friday, April 15, 2011 11:06:00 AM

Mtu Biz wrote:

@ Wazua

I propose huyu bwana SAC Cohen akue annointed "Elder" with immediate effect.

Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause

I second that!

[quote]@ gogeta, the guys name is Mungai Kihanya. Btw, coincidentally he is uhurus cousin!/quote]

Weka LinkLaughing out loudly This wazuan is not a cousin to UK
#30 Posted : Friday, April 15, 2011 11:08:57 AM

That story must have a KK kind of error.the weight[100kg] itself, I think cannot be allowed as a carry on in any airline.
wanyuru
#31 Posted : Friday, April 15, 2011 11:09:15 AM

@Wabushes, you killing Cohen's argument!! :)
Was Simon Mbugua and Embakasi MP at the airport at the time?

BTW Saimo was involved in a 'scuffle' with Muthama at the airport....They should have questioned this thug first!!....but he's gone into hiding, perhaps with the $$
SAC Cohen
#32 Posted : Friday, April 15, 2011 11:15:55 AM

TC's died a natural death like the cassette tape (Maxell- Chrome smile)
if the news artcle said the colour was in 100 dollar bills... then the guys were carrying atleast 100kg as hand luggage
Wa_ithaka
#33 Posted : Friday, April 15, 2011 11:23:46 AM

sa cohen- who told TC have died? Thy are the mode of travel in the west as far as I know.
Ata our thugs won't carry that cash allowed. Both have travelled before.
Saimo would start a fight in the indian ocean. Even if he was the only one for miles...
The Governor of Nyeri - 2017
#34 Posted : Friday, April 15, 2011 11:30:44 AM

selah wrote:
That story must have a KK kind of error.the weight[100kg] itself, I think cannot be allowed as a carry on in any airline.

The weight allowed for carry on luggage depends on who they are dealing with...

#35 Posted : Friday, April 15, 2011 11:55:16 AM

Wa_ithaka wrote:
sa cohen- who told TC have died? Thy are the mode of travel in the west as far as I know.
Ata our thugs won't carry that cash allowed. Both have travelled before.
Saimo would start a fight in the indian ocean. Even if he was the only one for miles...

I beg to differ with wa-bushes... these things died a natural death... In kenya its Amex (used to be at hilton dont knwo if they are still there) that used to issue... they no longer do. In any case, if you have TC, you get lesser value when you cash it... so it really didnt make sense. Most major organisations no longer use them. If there are still people using it, it will be a matter of time before they become another "diskett"
gmg
#36 Posted : Friday, April 15, 2011 11:55:44 AM

Thinking outside the box what if the guy want to con an insurance company by making a claim for a lost luggage. Wazuans let us think outside the box. very possible that standard media has been duped and the guys will benefit by making a claim because i expect them to have a cover fot lost luggages.Think from that angle
innairobi
#37 Posted : Friday, April 15, 2011 12:07:23 PM

If it is TCs, it would not make the headlines. If you lose $10 million worth of TCs, you do not start looking for them. You simply cancel them before they are cashed.

Wa_ithaka wrote:
True story. Have you thought that it is not actually cash but travellers cheques? Some of us who have never travelled don't know the difference

All my friends are heathens, take it slow. Wait for them to ask you who you know. Please don't make any sudden moves.
#38 Posted : Friday, April 15, 2011 12:24:40 PM

[quote=wanyuru][quote=Mtu Biz]

@ gogeta, the guys name is Mungai Kihanya. Btw, coincidentally he is uhurus cousin!/quote]

Weka LinkLaughing out loudly This wazuan is not a cousin to UK

Is Muigai Kihanya a wazuan?

Then it must be MUKIHA

MUigai KIHAnya = MUKIHA

smile smile smile smile
#39 Posted : Friday, April 15, 2011 12:26:30 PM

gmg wrote:
Thinking outside the box what if the guy want to con an insurance company by making a claim for a lost luggage. Wazuans let us think outside the box. very possible that standard media has been duped and the guys will benefit by making a claim because i expect them to have a cover fot lost luggages.Think from that angle

Thought Insurance for luggage is up to a certain point? paying back such an obscene amount of money...sioni! That amount can run the campaign of two political parties simultaneously..
wakagori
#40 Posted : Friday, April 15, 2011 12:26:59 PM

<cP>Standard need to look even at the QUALITY of writing. Look at this line from the story:
…”However, police, though uncertain about who walked away with the cash, however suspect the politician may have, in the excitement of rushing out to be met by supporters dancing, and praising him, forgot the treasured bag.”….
seriously someone wrote this on a nationwide paper????