wazua Mon, May 4, 2026

3 Pages<123
Relocating to Kenya
jasonhill
#21 Posted : Thursday, April 14, 2011 4:29:17 PM

[quote=waridi1]

@JasonHill, asante sana. $500 a month should do it. One of the best things our parents did for us was to invest in houses for us so I don't have to worry about rent. If I have a home office, that minimizes transport costs.

You're very welcome. I have a question for you. Would you be kind enough to lay out a budget for me for $500/month for living expenses? I would really like to know, as I am also interested in a relo there. Are you sure of the number? I hear inflation, drought, fuel costs, and the housing bubble has given rise to the cost of goods in Kenya.

Best,

Hill
waridi1
#22 Posted : Friday, April 15, 2011 8:50:20 AM

Asante sana @Gohill..
Asante sana @User.. shares.. I'll think about it.
@Elder, thanks! Ngoja you'll see when I become your MP! I absolutely LOOOOVE my country! Mbigi fish, smoro fish, fat fish, thin fish, oro manner of fish are loved un aporogeticarry!!!
@Tebes, Athi is cool!! We go?
@Magigi, done, niambie tu size..
@Wendz I'm interested in Athi too!!
@Marty, thank you so much!!

@JasonHill:
My case might be a little weird because like I said before, thanks to my parents there's a 3bed apartment in my name somewhere in Nai.

My plan is hopefully:

1) If it won't jeopardize my Kenyanness, get US citizenship.. that's not just to be able to skive if things go wrong. It's also so that I don't have to travel back every year to keep my my paperwork. $900 for citizenship vs $2000 a year to travel - makes sense to me.

2) SAVE like a jinga,and like you and User have advised.

BUDGET:

Rent = 0
Transp = prob sh. 1,000 a month to javv ONLY where I MUST.
Groceries = about 10-15k a month. It's just me.
Stima, gas, maji, I'm thinking max sh. 30,000 a month.
Mboch, dere = 0, I haven't had any for six years anyway;
Internet = probably 3-10k monthly, I'll go for 3 if it's available;
Salon = As you know, this is very important to us ladies. I can do my own hair, thankfully, kukiumana, KenMart to braid every 2 months; for my nails, skin, etc, I'll just stock up on akina Cutex from Walmart before I go home; $50 should yield enough for a year;
Clad = same thing; clothing is so expensive in Kenya, I can't even afford some places that people laud like Ngara/Toi.. leave alone sijui Sarit.. so I'll stock up here hopefully..

Total: Incidentally, it comes to about 50k.

KUKIUMANA:

- Rent out the hse and live in the servants' quarters; I'm simple like that;
- Rent out the servo to someone, rent out one bedroom to a friend;
- Become an MP/Senator.. lol.

THINGS I WILL NOT ALLOW:

- "What did you bring for us from Stato?"
- 1000 visitors every weekend
- Traversing the region to see people; nishavuka ocean kuwakaribia - do the least and panda a matatu if you really want to see me although I know what you probably want is to see what's in the suitcase.
- People visiting me and asking for bus fare back... okay I'll probably give if I have the cash but that is so not ungwana, jameni people have guts.

That's it Mr. Hill... I guess to be safe let's say $1,000, give or take. Have a lovely Friday people!
Pablo
#23 Posted : Friday, April 15, 2011 9:06:35 AM

[Waridi1]Transp = prob sh. 1,000 a month to javv ONLY where I MUST.
Stima, gas, maji, I'm thinking max sh. 30,000 a month.
Mboch, dere = 0, I haven't had any for six years anyway;
Salon = As you know, this is very important to us ladies. I can do my own hair, thankfully, kukiumana, KenMart to braid every 2 months; for my nails, skin, etc, I'll just stock up on akina Cutex from Walmart before I go home; $50 should yield enough for a year;
Clad = same thing; clothing is so expensive in Kenya, I can't even afford some places that people laud like Ngara/Toi.. leave alone sijui Sarit.. so I'll stock up here hopefully..[/quote]

Aii @Waridi
Kwani unatumia stima gani ya 30k? Singles would barely finish 5k. Also get a cleaning lady for 3k or so per month she can only come on Mon Wed and Friday to clean and wash clothes. (Also create employment)
As a single for 50k youll be ballin'.
mnjoro
#24 Posted : Friday, April 15, 2011 9:22:45 AM

@Famooz Congrats!!!
You told this lady the truth.She could be a fake for all we care.@Waridi sorry to say it but Kenyans here have changed their opinions as regards "Diasporians".You stay there and think when you come back we go to wait for you guys at the airport(JKIA)for this matter.Nooooo we have been screwed by such pretenders with their twengs and wanting to be babayed all the time.Canyou imagine another relative saying that he could not see a Kenyan with a Kiraka(patch) on their trousers?
Get reall,if you wanna try it come here as an investor and not as a sucker.
#25 Posted : Friday, April 15, 2011 9:48:39 AM

waridi1 wrote:

For Athi, you can get a 3 bedroomed house for kindu 20-25k, your own compound. I think flats are less if you get.

Lets see what you have here...

BUDGET:

Rent = 0
Transp = prob sh. 1,000 a month to javv ONLY where I MUST - Make it 4k. with the fuel prices and not many people using internet to do business even in nairobi, moving around is a must realistically.
Stima, gas, maji, I'm thinking max sh. 30,000 a month. mmmmmmh... are you starting a welding shop? Even with maximum use, hii iko juu sana... say stima 6k, gas 2.5k (for around 3 months (i used the same for kindu 2 months and am not alone)maji is like 1k if you swim in it... i pay 600 and water vegetables too and have a 5000l tank
Mboch, dere = 0, I haven't had any for six years anyway; You may realise you can have alot done with 1-2k for a lady who comes and cleans for you say once a week for a month....
Salon = As you know, this is very important to us ladies. I can do my own hair, thankfully, kukiumana, KenMart to braid every 2 months; for my nails, skin, etc, I'll just stock up on akina Cutex from Walmart before I go home; $50 should yield enough for a year;$50? for a year? on hair? hata kinyozi hautapata na hiyo..
Clad = same thing; clothing is so expensive in Kenya, I can't even afford some places that people laud like Ngara/Toi.. leave alone sijui Sarit.. so I'll stock up here hopefully..

Total: Incidentally, it comes to about 50k. or less.

KUKIUMANA:

THINGS I WILL NOT ALLOW:

- Traversing the region to see people; nishavuka ocean kuwakaribia - do the least and panda a matatu if you really want to see me although I know what you probably want is to see what's in the suitcase.
- People visiting me and asking for bus fare back... okay I'll probably give if I have the cash but that is so not ungwana, jameni people have guts. Just change your attitude on this. Not everyone is a leech... Fortunately or unfortunately, holding your brother's hand one way or the other is very African.. bear with usSad

That's it Mr. Hill... I guess to be safe let's say $1,000, give or take. Have a lovely Friday people!

waridi1
#26 Posted : Friday, April 15, 2011 10:09:18 AM

waridi1 wrote:

For Athi, you can get a 3 bedroomed house for kindu 20-25k, your own compound. I think flats are less if you get.

Lets see what you have here...

BUDGET:

Rent = 0
Transp = prob sh. 1,000 a month to javv ONLY where I MUST - Make it 4k. with the fuel prices and not many people using internet to do business even in nairobi, moving around is a must realistically.
Stima, gas, maji, I'm thinking max sh. 30,000 a month. mmmmmmh... are you starting a welding shop? Even with maximum use, hii iko juu sana... say stima 6k, gas 2.5k (for around 3 months (i used the same for kindu 2 months and am not alone)maji is like 1k if you swim in it... i pay 600 and water vegetables too and have a 5000l tank
Mboch, dere = 0, I haven't had any for six years anyway; You may realise you can have alot done with 1-2k for a lady who comes and cleans for you say once a week for a month....
Salon = As you know, this is very important to us ladies. I can do my own hair, thankfully, kukiumana, KenMart to braid every 2 months; for my nails, skin, etc, I'll just stock up on akina Cutex from Walmart before I go home; $50 should yield enough for a year;$50? for a year? on hair? hata kinyozi hautapata na hiyo..

Total: Incidentally, it comes to about 50k. or less.

KUKIUMANA:

THINGS I WILL NOT ALLOW:

- People visiting me and asking for bus fare back... okay I'll probably give if I have the cash but that is so not ungwana, jameni people have guts. Just change your attitude on this. Not everyone is a leech... Fortunately or unfortunately, holding your brother's hand one way or the other is very African.. bear with usSad

Thanks Wendz!!! Totally gives me a better idea.

No, $50 to stock up on everything I'll need for a year. Walmart beauty section is a lifesaver. If I go to the salon for everything I'll probably need 3-4k a month.

Blessings on you for being more African than others and for holding your brother's hand. smile
3 Pages<123