wazua Mon, May 4, 2026

Relocating to Kenya
waridi1
#11 Posted : Wednesday, April 13, 2011 9:05:48 AM

Thank you so much @Robinhood.

@JasonHill, asante sana. $500 a month should do it. One of the best things our parents did for us was to invest in houses for us so I don't have to worry about rent. If I have a home office, that minimizes transport costs.

My plan was to get my citizenship and then just close my eyes and move. That way if things don't work out I can just run away (or can I)... but I'm still trying to figure out dual citizenship.

@Ondiek thanks!!
gohill
#12 Posted : Wednesday, April 13, 2011 9:39:54 AM

@Famooz. easy gal. Each one of us even you will have to relocate to where the sun never sets and the stars never fades. Hata wewe tu takuadvise.Pray smile
Forester
#13 Posted : Wednesday, April 13, 2011 9:51:30 AM

Ondiek wrote:
famooz wrote:
i find these kind of posts very pretentious...........

Pretend you did not see the post if you have no advice to give.

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly wuuuuiiii!
Build your own dreams, or someone else will hire you to build theirs - Farrah Gray.
#14 Posted : Wednesday, April 13, 2011 9:51:56 AM

waridi1 wrote:
After living in the US for about six years, I have decided I want to move back home. I've always believed that Kenyans can make it in Kenya and while I protested when my parents decided that we move here, I am very glad that I came - it's broadened my horizons and my knowledge and I am thankful for this.

I believe Kenya has plenty of potential and that entrepreneurship is the way to go for our country, but I want to hear from you guys - what would you recommend? Is moving back a wise idea? Am I of more use to my country from out here? I have a pretty good job, thank God I have never really had to do "odd jobs" but I know people who have those and are able to educate their families at home.

What steps should I take before I leave? Aside from things like finding a place to live. I have a small business idea that I am planning to implement... I think my networks are pretty healthy... but should I do this? What do I need to have done first? I feel like the political situation is really exaggerated for us out here, but it's started to concern me. Should I wait and see how the next elections go?

My dear waridismile ,
Here is my advise,

-Evaluate your monthly expenditure.
-Cut down on unnecessary expenditure eg reduce entertainment expenditure over there.
-Save , save save until there is nothing more to save.Have atleast savings that can cover 1 year expenditure since you will experience some culture shock when you come back and the custom 6 months may not be enough.
-Open a cds account with a Kenyan stockbroker and start puting some money in shares. Shares are easy to liquidate and you can sell then if you get financially stuck when you get home.
-Invest in a Kaplot at home somewhere in the outskirts of Nairobi and if possible build so you wont have to pay rent when you come back .This brings sense of security.

2012 is here.Kenya is Ours.Be Part of The Peace Keeping Mission To Protect Our Motherland.Say No To Violence and Tribal Hatred .If you can read this,wewe ni mtu amesoma, usifikirie kama mtu hajaenda shule .Ni Hayo Tu
#15 Posted : Wednesday, April 13, 2011 10:08:34 AM

waridi1 wrote:
After living in the US for about six years, I have decided I want to move back home. I've always believed that Kenyans can make it in Kenya and while I protested when my parents decided that we move here, I am very glad that I came - it's broadened my horizons and my knowledge and I am thankful for this.

I believe Kenya has plenty of potential and that entrepreneurship is the way to go for our country, but I want to hear from you guys - what would you recommend? Is moving back a wise idea? Am I of more use to my country from out here? I have a pretty good job, thank God I have never really had to do "odd jobs" but I know people who have those and are able to educate their families at home.

What steps should I take before I leave? Aside from things like finding a place to live. I have a small business idea that I am planning to implement... I think my networks are pretty healthy... but should I do this? What do I need to have done first? I feel like the political situation is really exaggerated for us out here, but it's started to concern me. Should I wait and see how the next elections go?

For a start drop all notions on mapping your life changing decisions on what is best for your country. If you come back to Kenya with the thinking that you are doing it for your country then you would be beating it out of here faster than famooz can rattle you.
#16 Posted : Wednesday, April 13, 2011 10:12:40 AM

waridi1 wrote:

For a start drop all notions on mapping your life changing decisions on what is best for your country. If you come back to Kenya with the thinking that you are doing it for your country then you would be beating it out of here faster than famooz can rattle you.
#17 Posted : Wednesday, April 13, 2011 10:12:44 AM

Am also relocating,..................

Yes to Athi River..............
Not Githurai..............

Any good place to stay for a married bachelor?
#18 Posted : Wednesday, April 13, 2011 10:38:08 AM

waridi1 wrote:
famooz wrote:

I can't even believe I'm spending time trying to prove myself to you but umenikasirisha sana. Takes one to know the other, so we know who's pretentious here. Sijui nini inakuwasha. Nkt.

But you're still entitled to your opinion.

...Easy, easy girl...Here you learn what to take in and what to discard. Some of us who are throwing barbs at you tumenyimwa visa na tuko na uchungu mwingi sana...Welcome home girl. Nakukaribisha tena sana...Na uniletee Tshirt ile imeandikwa, 'Magigi - Airport Champion'...
#19 Posted : Wednesday, April 13, 2011 10:52:15 AM

Tebes wrote:
Am also relocating,..................

Yes to Athi River..............
Not Githurai..............

Any good place to stay for a married bachelor?

There are so many housing projects that have come up that side. it depends on what you want. There is the interior athi river at the ka-town that doesnt seem to be growing and there is the "athi river" that is along mombasa road (the gated community houses along the highway). Depends on what exactly you are looking for.
Marty
#20 Posted : Wednesday, April 13, 2011 11:18:12 AM

waridi1 wrote:
famooz wrote:

I can't even believe I'm spending time trying to prove myself to you but umenikasirisha sana. Takes one to know the other, so we know who's pretentious here. Sijui nini inakuwasha. Nkt.

But you're still entitled to your opinion.

...Easy, easy girl...Here you learn what to take in and what to discard. Some of us who are throwing barbs at you tumenyimwa visa na tuko na uchungu mwingi sana...Welcome home girl. Nakukaribisha tena sana...Na uniletee Tshirt ile imeandikwa, 'Magigi - Airport Champion'...

@waridi1,

Some basic business principles work irrespective of location. You may need to arm yourself with such.
1. Understand what people want
2. Understand what u can offer people.
3.Don't think about the money, think about what u can do with the money
4.If u really want to have something, have it, dont fantasize about having it.
5. Proper midset.
When I admire the wonder of a sunset or the beauty
of the moon, my soul expands in worship of the Creator.