wazua Sun, Jul 27, 2025

5 Pages<1234>»
can todays marriage be happy marriage?
#21 Posted : Friday, April 08, 2011 4:59:51 PM

This reminds me of a couple of quotes I have heard before:

First One

My wife and I were happy for 25 years. And then we met!!!

Second One

A certain man had been married for 20 years and a young man wanted to know what the secret was. The young man asked him "What is the secret to your long marriage?". The man answered "We eat out 3 times a week. She eats out on Monday, Wednesday and Friday and I eat out on Tuesday, Thursday and Saturday!!!"
#22 Posted : Friday, April 08, 2011 5:05:01 PM

bwenyenye wrote:
sometimes I think that arranged marriages are better.

True, they worked! Everyone knew their roles, wasn't about love - I wonder how many men know their roles now after all in this age men are presumed guilty unless proven otherwise then the cycle starts again. When I was a 'newly wed' I used to feel the urge to lie because even the simplest of question my wife would ask sounded like an accusation eg your boy will as you: "Chief uko mtaa gani?" while your wife will as: "Where are you?". Then I learned that that's how women talk.

#23 Posted : Friday, April 08, 2011 5:06:50 PM

@2012, Don't forget those influenced by the sabuni's (the bold and the beautiful, Alenjadro and Carina Etc) The picture depicted in these things is one of guys living happy ever after - may be on some beach - Guys driving a nice car, lady just looking beautiful to no end, kids playing on a nice green lawn Etc. Guys think this is the life, forgetting that all this is fake.

Fast forward after the nuptials and these things are no where, instead there are crying babies, schools, work, bosses, and soon guys wonder whether they made a mistake in the first place. Just keep it real and remember you are married to flesh and blood, which can make mistakes. Be quick to let go of grudges/forgive. My two cents...
Genghis Khan
#24 Posted : Friday, April 08, 2011 6:04:32 PM

I am very young & happily unmarried... feel free to judge me harshly.

Love is not a basis for any marriage. It is a feeling / emotion. Like anger, joy, sadness. It exists WITHIN us. It does not exist WITHOUT us. It therefore does no depend on who we marry but on us.

Some things are good for us... some are bad, eg. Tusker, Church, Drugs, Good exercise... we choose which of these we love and enjoy... you may find that you love, hate or find some of these boring. Our opinions will invariably differ.

Some people are good for us... some are bad... we choose who to love & who to be with... we may choose someone that we love but that is bad for us - like narcotics, or someone that we hate that is good for us - like exercise!

I think we can choose who is good for us and then love them... then tell them why you love them & why you married them so that they don't change!
"I'd rather be lucky than clever... every time!" - ME
"The problem is not what we don't know... it's what we know for sure that just ain't!" - MARK TWAIN
"Space we can recover... time never!" - NAPOLEON BONAPARTE
#25 Posted : Friday, April 08, 2011 7:07:58 PM

@Genghis, love is actually a verb. Its action - oriented.

I am happily married. I've come to understand there's a difference between what I need to feel and what I need to do.
story teller
#26 Posted : Friday, April 08, 2011 8:33:33 PM

The key to a a good/great marriage is communication. No communication, you will have problems up the wazuu. People say it all the time but when confronted with issues, communication is thrown out the window pap...Patience and forgiveness very important too..

On another note,in our time, the best place to get a mate was on campus. Most of the guys who got their wives while on campus are still together today.. Koinange Street was not an issue then...
It's not hard to make decisions when you know what your values are.
#27 Posted : Saturday, April 09, 2011 12:06:55 PM

This issue on marriage is one that i've of late found this topic on marriage quite intriguing particularly on why so many marriages these days don't last compared to those of our forefathers. I even tried to get a few opinions on the net and some of the reasons given were;the internet thru porn sites and dating sites is destroying trust, abuse of drugs and alcohol, independence of women esp. Financially, lower moral standards today, etc. I still need to be convinced on what exactly is happening to our society today that has so destroyed the value and meaning of marriage
KenyanLyrics
#28 Posted : Saturday, April 09, 2011 1:08:08 PM

I'm not married, but I've thought now for a long time that modern people's quest for an equal partner is their eventual undoing in marriage. It is my understanding that equality is an ideological farce that, when achieved, creates chaos. In any partnership, a heirarchy is necessary so as to maintain order. Hence, when looking for a partner, for order's sake you should look for one who's not on the same level as you in key areas, especially finance. Do the more experienced wazuans agree with this point of view?
#29 Posted : Saturday, April 09, 2011 1:27:33 PM

'user' wrote:

Kwanza mabibi wamesoma na wenye kazi !!! bad news they can make you go mad.

Kama hujaoa , go to the village get mmoja amemaliza form 4, uzimzoeshe Nai asichanuke , wacha hakae kulekuleeee

Kenyalyrics and all bachelors ,

I repeat again.

An independent woman is much likely to rule the house with impunity unless you want to divorce her and even then she will want to go with a good share of your fortune.Chunga sana
2012 is here.Kenya is Ours.Be Part of The Peace Keeping Mission To Protect Our Motherland.Say No To Violence and Tribal Hatred .If you can read this,wewe ni mtu amesoma, usifikirie kama mtu hajaenda shule .Ni Hayo Tu
#30 Posted : Saturday, April 09, 2011 2:32:14 PM

Haiya, no wazua lady is happily married?
#31 Posted : Saturday, April 09, 2011 3:41:52 PM

'user' wrote:

Kama hujaoa , go to the village get mmoja amemaliza form 4, uzimzoeshe Nai asichanuke , wacha hakae kulekuleeee

I repeat again.

An independent woman is much likely to rule the house with impunity unless you want to divorce her and even then she will want to go with a good share of your fortune.Chunga sana

I have never really understood what exactly it means when people refer to a woman as independent. In general ,i see it as a woman who has her act together;an independent thinker.She knows who she is and where she is going

I think most of the time when peope use this word,it is in the -ve,i could be wrong but i do not think that is how it is supposed to be.

petro08
#32 Posted : Saturday, April 09, 2011 9:10:14 PM

'user' wrote:

I repeat again.

@user,
I am one person who would have disagreed with you a few years back. I believe I have a lot of respect for hardworking women who are doing well. I have a few lady friends wamesoma and was thinking of taking it further with one of them. But I continue to hear the kind of advise you have given here from many married men.

So, I am taking your advise seriously. I have heard this from many responsible married men. But then, sasa huyu wa form four...tutakuwa na story gani...si we will bore each other vibaya. Ama how do well educated men go about having happy times na huyu wa form four? Please let me know your answer.
#33 Posted : Saturday, April 09, 2011 10:38:35 PM

Love is NOT about what you get from your partner; it is about what you GIVE, without expecting anything in return. Thus it is a decision you make to commit to give to your partner for the rest of YOUR life (even if your partner dies before you, you continue giving until you dies!!)
#34 Posted : Saturday, April 09, 2011 10:39:57 PM

So, quite complaining that there is no love in your marriage and start giving to your partner...without expecting them to give anything back.
KenyanLyrics
#35 Posted : Saturday, April 09, 2011 10:45:50 PM

@user nakufeel hapo. I have always dated ladies from developed towns like Meru, Machakos, Naks etc due to stories I have heard. So far, the ladies have been very good to me, I felt very well treated while it lasted. However, I have started my first serious relationship with a Nairobi woman, and my my my... I have never felt such love-hate feelings in a relationship before! I won't go into details for I am not one to air dirty laundry, but lemme just say it is a way bigger rollercoaster ride with this Nairobian than it has been with town women. Time will tell whether I enjoy this ride or not
#36 Posted : Saturday, April 09, 2011 11:00:48 PM

Mwende ako wapi? Mbona hajatoa maoni?
#37 Posted : Monday, April 11, 2011 9:28:11 AM

petro08 wrote:
'user' wrote:

I repeat again.

@user,
I am one person who would have disagreed with you a few years back. I believe I have a lot of respect for hardworking women who are doing well. I have a few lady friends wamesoma and was thinking of taking it further with one of them. But I continue to hear the kind of advise you have given here from many married men.

So, I am taking your advise seriously. I have heard this from many responsible married men. But then, sasa huyu wa form four...tutakuwa na story gani...si we will bore each other vibaya. Ama how do well educated men go about having happy times na huyu wa form four? Please let me know your answer.

Form four is a reasonable education level.Just make sure you take her out sometimes to big hotels .Na outing za kwanza usiende na marafiki.You may be served the starter soup with a serviette na yeye aanze kula hiyo serviette na soup Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly na aulize marafiki zako' na hii inaonjaje?.... mbona nyingi amkuli hii(na ni servitte)Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
Train her how to behave on different occasions and you will be treated like a king .

Wazua Ladies THIS IS THE DESIRE OF EVERY MAN.

2012 is here.Kenya is Ours.Be Part of The Peace Keeping Mission To Protect Our Motherland.Say No To Violence and Tribal Hatred .If you can read this,wewe ni mtu amesoma, usifikirie kama mtu hajaenda shule .Ni Hayo Tu
petro08
#38 Posted : Monday, April 11, 2011 9:50:55 AM

'user' wrote:

Form four is a reasonable education level.Just make sure you take her out sometimes to big hotels .Na outing za kwanza usiende na marafiki.You may be served the starter soup with a serviette na yeye aanze kula hiyo serviette na soup Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly na aulize marafiki zako' na hii inaonjaje?.... mbona nyingi amkuli hii(na ni servitte)Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
Train her how to behave on different occasions and you will be treated like a king .

@user,

Hahaha...very funny. Had to laugh. But thanks...I am taking your advise seriously.

runjam
#39 Posted : Monday, April 11, 2011 10:11:35 AM

petro08 wrote:
'user' wrote:

@user,

Hahaha...very funny. Had to laugh. But thanks...I am taking your advise seriously.

@user you have really cracked me upLaughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly

does that mean that those of us who have gone beyond form four are doomed as far as getting marriage partners is concerned ?
#40 Posted : Monday, April 11, 2011 10:22:44 AM

runjam wrote:

does that mean that those of us who have gone beyond form four are doomed as far as getting marriage partners is concerned ?

Some educated women regard marriage as slavery. They should just remain single instead of going into relationships and making a man's life hell-on-earth. THEY SHOULD ALSO GIVE UP HAVING KIDS!!