#1 Posted : Saturday, April 09, 2011 4:26:49 PM

Who needs education ???? atleast they didnt ::: lol

http://www.businesspundi...llege-dropouts-on-earth/
For Sport
#2 Posted : Saturday, April 09, 2011 4:57:52 PM

QW25071985 wrote:
Who needs education ???? atleast they didnt ::: lol

http://www.businesspundi...lege-dropouts-on-earth/

Or rephrase to: Who needs to go to school to get an education.
KenyanLyrics
#3 Posted : Saturday, April 09, 2011 5:00:28 PM

Isn't it amazing what the lack of the proverbial safety net can do for some people
mgeman
#4 Posted : Saturday, April 09, 2011 6:03:35 PM

An interesting observation! Despite not completing their degree programs, they all qualified to join some of the prestigious colleges in the world. They realised early that they were smart enough and didn't need employment-for that is what the formal education is meant for.
I am an African

-Thambo Mbeki Speech
sanity
#5 Posted : Saturday, April 09, 2011 6:37:59 PM

sometimes Life's strange.you spend so much on education yet you are no better than those who never went to school.take the UN for example.a proffesional 3 (P3) staff member in a peace keeping mission earns a base salary + allowances of at least Usd 10000!to become a P3 you require a masters degree and above plus several years experience.On the other hand a Field service officer of level 5(FS 5) in the same mission earns the same amount per month.Now to become Fs 5 ,all you need is high school education and several years experience. For more info check the UN website.
Hope is not a strategy
#6 Posted : Saturday, April 09, 2011 9:52:41 PM

Beware with this kind of evidence: the world is littered with millions of extremely poor college drop outs....and a few billionaire college drop outs.
#7 Posted : Saturday, April 09, 2011 10:26:59 PM

I agree with mukiha on this. Formal education does open doors. I know of people who thought they would follow in Bill Gates steps and are now regretting after quitting school. Most of these successful drop outs did not drop out because they hated masomo, but because opportunity had sprung up that required they do so
jasonhill
#8 Posted : Sunday, April 10, 2011 6:20:05 AM

School worth it? Depends...

For what school costs in Kenya, go, and go until you can't go anymore. If you get a scholarship there or abroad, use it, and go. Learn all you can. Get a graduate degree. Then enter your field. Don't think that Kenyan schools are subpar. They aren't they are fine schools. All that is lacking is the education on how to hustle and take it from the classroom to the street, and to the boardroom, and that is lacking in schools everywhere. That's something you simply learn in the trenches... as long as you believe in yourself and your countrymen and WORK TOGETHER.

For the hundreds of thousands of dollars it costs to go to many schools in the US, eh, you're better off putting that money into land, housing, or something that will appreciate back home. Here, you can easily spend $250,000 on a Bachelors from, say, USC, and come out and make $30k a year... IF you can find a job, and without a green card, you can give that up. Get your toilet paper ready, and prepare to wipe some old Mzungu behinds! Investment-wise, 250k for 30k ain't smart, especially because it will cost you $40k a year to live (hello debt).

Now, if you work your butt off and send money home, where it can go farther, and if you take a few, eh, ahem, risks while abroad and get as much cash as you can, go home and then go to school for a few grand, you've made out well. It's just so very hard to get trapped in the debt cycle here in the US... then comes alcohol, bhangi, and next thing you know, you are on welfare or doing manoki work, begging some Mzungu to marry you for papers. Avoid that, and do like the Russians and Nigerians do and GET MONEY, STAY FOCUSED. To jump in the ghettos made for Acatas, spending all your money trying to impress people back home into thinking you are doing great is a darn shame and a disaster, KCSE scores long past. That's not a pleasant place to be.

Now if you are in a high-paying field, then, that's different. You can go abroad, make 100k a year and live off of 30k, sending the rest home, and then you will have a nice retirement after 20 years IF you can stay focused and not start thinking that you are an Mzungu that needs to drive german cars and live in 4000 sq ft houses. I know a chick that did this after ten years, now living in Lavington and enjoying life. She sold securities for a big investment firm here. And left her school debt, credit cards, loans, etc sitting in the US UNPAID LOLOLOLOL. liquidated, and went home with seven figures... selling securities makes good money here. Smart girl.

And if you are not abroad, listen to all the intelligent advice from all the people here on Wazua. And don't wish to be abroad... it ain't fun wiping old peoples *arses.

Hill
For Sport
#9 Posted : Sunday, April 10, 2011 9:51:01 AM

@ jasonhill,say something about the american dream. Seeing as u're there.
http://www.wazua.co.ke/f...spx?g=posts&m=165281
For Sport
#10 Posted : Sunday, April 10, 2011 10:04:22 AM

Its erroneous to stop at calling some of them school drop outs. Take Bill Gates for example. There was a lot going for him back then. You dont just get up and decide "I'm not going to college". Your bases must be covered, somehow - in the sense that there's something u've been working towards, or an opportunity that has presented itself.
http://www.ceobraintrust...epreneur-as-risk-taker/
#11 Posted : Monday, April 11, 2011 12:34:42 PM

You need the education! You'll notice that all these billionaires had two things an idea or concept and strong will.
Now if you don't have these then you need the education so you can go and work for them and I doubt they'll go recruiting other high school drop outs.
The plan is to get the great idea and then employ someone more brighter than you to implement and run it.

#12 Posted : Tuesday, April 12, 2011 12:53:00 PM

Lets just say, if your father is not rich, very rich, you are not gifted with creativity, you come from kenya where who knows who gets the contracts or funding to push their ideas to the market, then you better be sweating your backside off in a class!
#13 Posted : Tuesday, April 12, 2011 3:15:04 PM

jasonhill wrote:
I know a chick that did this after ten years, now living in Lavington and enjoying life. She sold securities for a big investment firm here. And left her school debt, credit cards, loans, etc sitting in the US UNPAID LOLOLOLOL. liquidated, and went home with seven figures... selling securities makes good money here. Smart girl.

Hill

That is not smart by any measure; it is simple outright THEFT!!! I find it disturbing that you would admire her.
#14 Posted : Tuesday, April 12, 2011 3:23:44 PM

mukiha wrote:
jasonhill wrote:
I know a chick that did this after ten years, now living in Lavington and enjoying life. She sold securities for a big investment firm here. And left her school debt, credit cards, loans, etc sitting in the US UNPAID LOLOLOLOL. liquidated, and went home with seven figures... selling securities makes good money here. Smart girl.

Hill

That is not smart by any measure; it is simple outright THEFT!!! I find it disturbing that you would admire her.

indeed
Cde Monomotapa
#15 Posted : Tuesday, April 12, 2011 11:59:11 PM

Lets just say, if your father is not rich, very rich, you are not gifted with creativity, you come from kenya where who knows who gets the contracts or funding to push their ideas to the market, then you better be sweating your backside off in a class!

Funny..but very true.
jasonhill
#16 Posted : Wednesday, April 13, 2011 7:17:54 AM

kyt wrote:
mukiha wrote:
jasonhill wrote:

Hill

indeed

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Predatory_lending

In addition, in the US you can claim bankruptcy every 8 years and legally, legitimately discharge all your debt! This is based on biblical principals! So if it's legal to do every 8 years, how is that theft?

Have you seen the level of debt that people in the US are under? I'm not saying what she did was right. I never said that. I just laughed. But to each their own.
gogeta
#17 Posted : Wednesday, April 13, 2011 7:51:08 AM

i agree..nowadays you must be really lucky to get employment anywhere just because you have good papers.
Think the unthinkable but wear a dark suit
#18 Posted : Wednesday, April 13, 2011 8:40:52 AM

If you had a son or daughter, would you have him or her sit at home instead of attending university and go - argghh, s/he doesn't need a degree, in any case Larry Ellison didn't get one- ?
#19 Posted : Wednesday, April 13, 2011 8:50:48 AM

mukiha wrote:
Beware with this kind of evidence: the world is littered with millions of extremely poor college drop outs....and a few billionaire college drop outs.

Well put mukiha!
on the flip side, Google's founders all went to school and did their masters and almost completed their PhDs.
its no a formula! some people like Ambani joined their father's business. wewe jaribu uone!
#20 Posted : Wednesday, April 13, 2011 8:53:54 AM

p.s Steve Ballmer is a billionaire coz HE GOT EMPLOYED