The American dream
Rank: User Joined: 6/27/2008 Posts: 709 Location: Velayat-e Faryab
famooz wrote:Njung'e wrote:@Famooz, What i meant is that you do not have to break your back chasing dream riches.Think of that lady who works for 16 hours a day.Does she even have time to smile or share jokes with her loved ones leave alone being landed on?  ......As someone said,you may complain all your life that you may never ever get money to buy a pair of shoes......until you meet someone without legs. heheheheh ai ok guys!!!! I think i need a disclaimer I think what i am saying is that it is not good to talk only about the negative,we need to look at the good and bad points. It feels to me that people are quick to point at the negatives . May be my arguments are informed by the what i knew then and what i now know. Being away from home,Do i miss home? yes,i miss nyama choma,going to the hawkers,i miss my family and friends.but i make a point to go back home every 3-4 months. I am happy,yes,am i financially independent,yes. Did i have this opportunity when i was in kenya ? no.Have i learnt something new- yes,everyday. Have i grown in my career? yes. See what i mean. Case by case basis Please do not quote me again! @Famooz If you get to go abroad at the strength of a company, you will enjoy yourself thoroughly. Ask Ricdees. If you get a good job out in America, you are sawa. Like you can afford to travel home 3 to 4 times a year. Girl, aint you lucky? It means you have a good job going on or your abroad is Rwanda. My cousin is finally coming home after twenty yrs in America. Now, aged 40, he has no wife nor children. When your wife goes, she seeks custody of the kids. When he lands at the airport, the real airport, only a hand-full of guys will welcome him. In the states, he worked four jobs, some fifteen miles apart. He is more or less like a Robot. In the fifteen yrs he live with his wife, they became strangers. Landings were only once in a blue-moon and the wife devised ways of coping. Most of the time, you are forced to take a second, third or fourth job in order to be able to pay bills, mobile phone bills, car loans, house loans and that does not include food, junk food to be precise. A lady friend of mine went there recently on a green-card. She cant find a job but is taking nursing courses so that she can get employed as a health worker. Job description, Washing 90 yr olds, unblocking the old mens plumbing system using a carrot when blocked and massaging those who spend a lot of time on wheel chairs. She plans to collect a tidy sum of dollars, send them to me for investing and when she is ready, come back home to enjoy the same. I have for many yrs told her that life is not a rehearsal. You live as you earn. She is likely to return back here when she is old and likely will die before most of her savings or investments have been exhausted. She will thus be working for her young brats who will destroy the investments in a span of two yrs. Enjoy your life now, not tomorrow, but spare something for tomorrow. Go overdrive in purchasing the goods when there's blood on the streets, expecially if the blood is your own
famooz wrote:heheheheh ai ok guys!!!! I think i need a disclaimer I think what i am saying is that it is not good to talk only about the negative,we need to look at the good and bad points. It feels to me that people are quick to point at the negatives . May be my arguments are informed by the what i knew then and what i now know. Being away from home,Do i miss home? yes,i miss nyama choma,going to the hawkers,i miss my family and friends.but i make a point to go back home every 3-4 months. I am happy,yes,am i financially independent,yes. Did i have this opportunity when i was in kenya ? no.Have i learnt something new- yes,everyday. Have i grown in my career? yes. See what i mean. Case by case basis Please do not quote me again! @famooz - Are you working in an African country. I'm guessing you are. Either that or Dubai, but I'll go with an African country. You need to understand one thing. It is not that you are out of your country, it is where you went to and how. Some Kenyans leave the country and become expatriates. I have in mind doctors and engineers in Botswana, lecturers in South Africa etc. Other Kenyans leave the country and become immigrants. Most - not all - Kenyans in western capitals fall in this category. They will be found doing odd jobs that the locals can't be caught doing while they could just collect welfare. We all know the perks and/or challenges associated with being an expatriate or an immigrant. One more thing, if it is a company that posted you to another country, chances are that you will be okay regardless of the destination country. Never count on making a good sale. Have the purchase price be so attractive that even a mediocre sale gives good returns.
@ Maich! you have quoted me again!  . Nope i am not in Africa,nor am I in Dubs. but you have a small point which justfies my whole argument,but i dwell more on how someone went out of the country- the process ( this includes a lot of stuff such as learning about the country where one is going,getting conversant with the regulations of work,which leads one to know the certification or validation process/ work permit,cost of living etc etc
Rank: Elder Joined: 9/7/2010 Posts: 2,148 Location: elderville
I'm a white male between the ages of 18 and 49 with a gun. I AM the American Dream. - Anthony (Tony) DiNozzo. He who can express in words the ardour of his love, has but little love to express. - Petrach, Son. (That men by various ways arrive at the same end. - Montaigne, The Essays of.)
Surealligator wrote:famooz wrote:Njung'e wrote:@Famooz, What i meant is that you do not have to break your back chasing dream riches.Think of that lady who works for 16 hours a day.Does she even have time to smile or share jokes with her loved ones leave alone being landed on?  ......As someone said,you may complain all your life that you may never ever get money to buy a pair of shoes......until you meet someone without legs. heheheheh ai ok guys!!!! I think i need a disclaimer I think what i am saying is that it is not good to talk only about the negative,we need to look at the good and bad points. It feels to me that people are quick to point at the negatives . May be my arguments are informed by the what i knew then and what i now know. Being away from home,Do i miss home? yes,i miss nyama choma,going to the hawkers,i miss my family and friends.but i make a point to go back home every 3-4 months. I am happy,yes,am i financially independent,yes. Did i have this opportunity when i was in kenya ? no.Have i learnt something new- yes,everyday. Have i grown in my career? yes. See what i mean. Case by case basis Please do not quote me again! @Famooz If you get to go abroad at the strength of a company, you will enjoy yourself thoroughly. Ask Ricdees. If you get a good job out in America, you are sawa. Like you can afford to travel home 3 to 4 times a year. Girl, aint you lucky? It means you have a good job going on or your abroad is Rwanda. My cousin is finally coming home after twenty yrs in America. Now, aged 40, he has no wife nor children. When your wife goes, she seeks custody of the kids. When he lands at the airport, the real airport, only a hand-full of guys will welcome him. In the states, he worked four jobs, some fifteen miles apart. He is more or less like a Robot. In the fifteen yrs he live with his wife, they became strangers. Landings were only once in a blue-moon and the wife devised ways of coping. Most of the time, you are forced to take a second, third or fourth job in order to be able to pay bills, mobile phone bills, car loans, house loans and that does not include food, junk food to be precise. A lady friend of mine went there recently on a green-card. She cant find a job but is taking nursing courses so that she can get employed as a health worker. Job description, Washing 90 yr olds, unblocking the old mens plumbing system using a carrot when blocked and massaging those who spend a lot of time on wheel chairs. She plans to collect a tidy sum of dollars, send them to me for investing and when she is ready, come back home to enjoy the same. I have for many yrs told her that life is not a rehearsal. You live as you earn. She is likely to return back here when she is old and likely will die before most of her savings or investments have been exhausted. She will thus be working for her young brats who will destroy the investments in a span of two yrs. Enjoy your life now, not tomorrow, but spare something for tomorrow. @Surealligator, hapo umesema ukweli kabisa.. Guys in Kenya don't know just how lucky they are..Why do you think expatriates never want to leave Kenya ? They have an incredible life only found on the movie screens over here ..gardener, several house girls,, a driver, a security guard all affordable man! Hapa its only people like Oprah who can the afford that..5 bedroom mansion in some gated community.. Nyumbani kuna watu wengi wanaishi namna hii..Most of my former campus mates wanaishi Runda na Karen.On the other hand over here , girls are hitting 40 years and above are still single and have no man and no child..why? When they first arrived, they ignored Kenyan guys like the plague. Pretty soon time is flying fast..before they know it, they are forty, single , no child !! Now what kind of a life is that..sorry i am just being honest. Now the same are trying to get back with those Kenyans they ignored (who are by now happily married) coz they want a baby eiiiiish! Mambo ya dunia ni ngumu.. It's not hard to make decisions when you know what your values are.
Little knowledge is dangerous. Some people have nailed it right, while some still don't know that things aren't always what they seem. However, those who care to read and enlighten themselves have a chance of enriching themselves with knowledge. To be foretold is to be forewarned. Being equipped with the right information, makes one make informed decisions. I love literature and going back to the American dream, theres is one book called "Death of a Sales Man" by Arthur Miller. Its a good read, so if you care enough get hold of a copy before you sell your house in order to go to america. Its worth your time to research the author or the book itself. If you really are interested might bring you a free copy when i come back home in 2months time. There's nothing wrong with dreaming, but if you do harbour a stunted vision of the American dream then you could be a statistic like the others.
The American dream