wazua Thu, Feb 6, 2025

WHAT KIDS ARE LEARNING IN SCHOOL
brav
#1 Posted : Friday, April 08, 2011 7:26:30 AM

The school have closed and had a chance to peruse through bravlet's work and jana I wondered what these guys are teaching our poor kids the sentences are in a book called (sound and read)

ati:
read the sentences
1. Dad is a fat man
2. A cop can Rob
3. Dad has an ass
4. I will chop your head

mambo gani hii?

Ondiek
#2 Posted : Friday, April 08, 2011 7:57:06 AM

Its Friday. Do we take this with a pinch of salt or are you really serious?
Querry
#3 Posted : Friday, April 08, 2011 8:03:37 AM

the book was featured some time last year on a certain tv news feature: the writer profusely apologised and advised that the book had been edited.

may be you can confirm with the newer versions if the sentences are still there
#4 Posted : Friday, April 08, 2011 8:16:55 AM

bhangi.......
mdudu
#5 Posted : Friday, April 08, 2011 8:53:02 AM

And anyway why is this holiday tuition thing this rampant? I thought the number of subjects were reduced. Children from class 4 to 8 will be reporting back to school on Monday for holiday tuition.
#6 Posted : Friday, April 08, 2011 9:11:04 AM

@Brav and @query are right. There was a primary school book which was featured in gay 24 a while back. I know many of you rarely watch this TV station. The book had some of the most disturbing sentences and phrases which were supposed to be taught to children. I am told at that time the book was selling briskly in shops around town and was pushed by some teachers in primary schools. I recall from the TV documentary a phrase ' I want to drink some whiskey' and I was like WTH??
callaspade
#7 Posted : Friday, April 08, 2011 9:41:24 AM

brav wrote:
The school have closed and had a chance to peruse through bravlet's work and jana I wondered what these guys are teaching our poor kids the sentences are in a book called (sound and read)

ati:
read the sentences
1. Dad is a fat man
2. A cop can Rob
3. Dad has an ass

mambo gani hii?

....am sure all this are true but do you say?Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
#8 Posted : Friday, April 08, 2011 9:50:51 AM

NTV Uganda has a learning series for kids on holiday and i have always found it very educative but unfortunately our idiots here have nothing for the kids other than Garfield,Ben 10,sijui Afrosinema na matope ingine mingi....BK !
For Sport
#9 Posted : Friday, April 08, 2011 9:59:00 AM

brav wrote:

ati:
read the sentences
1. Dad is a fat man
2. A cop can Rob
3. Dad has an ass
4. I will chop your head

mambo gani hii?

very disturbing. Especially 2 and 4. what value systems are being imparted here. And I would stand in front of a class and say "read after me......" . something seriously wrong everywhere. from the writer, publisher, teacher etc.
#10 Posted : Friday, April 08, 2011 10:07:58 AM

mdudu wrote:
And anyway why is this holiday tuition thing this rampant? I thought the number of subjects were reduced. Children from class 4 to 8 will be reporting back to school on Monday for holiday tuition.

@Mdudu - Are you serious? You thought holiday tuition was about your kids' education? Think again! Its about the teachers getting paid. Even if the subjects were reduced to one, your kid will still be required to go for evening, weekend and holiday tuition. Uchimi iko mbaya; And the teachers gotta eat!

A friend of mine was complaining the other day. Her kid is in class one and is required to go for holiday tuition! At an extra cost of course.

Holiday tuition used to be for class seven and eight only - which made some sense. One day a maths teacher did a calculation of how much they would make if ALL students were required to attend holiday tuition, did a PowerPoint-less presentation to the other teachers at break time and the rest is history!
#11 Posted : Friday, April 08, 2011 10:14:14 AM

brav wrote:

ati:
read the sentences
1. Dad is a fat man
2. A cop can Rob
3. Dad has an ass
4. I will chop your head

mambo gani hii?

This sentences can help your kids 'protect' the family and it's honour. Picture your kid setting things with a classmate who's disrespecting you.

I know my dad is a cop and you know a cop can rob but that's not the point. If you say my dad is a fat man or my dad has an ass, which he has anyway, I will chop your head! Do we understand each other?
#12 Posted : Friday, April 08, 2011 10:15:11 AM

For Sport wrote:
brav wrote:

ati:
read the sentences
1. Dad is a fat man
2. A cop can Rob
3. Dad has an ass
4. I will chop your head

mambo gani hii?

very disturbing. Especially 2 and 4. what value systems are being imparted here. And I would stand in front of a class and say "read after me......" . something seriously wrong everywhere. from the writer, publisher, teacher etc.

I think also what we let our children watch at home is a contributor to some of these things.... so, when they make sentences in class and they are coming up with phrases like these, the teacher doesn't see anything wrong with putting it in a book. After all, the parents let them watch all these things on tele.

This term, there was a case where a classmate to my son had written a note to him and slipped it in his kiswahili book telling him if he does not kill his best friend (a boy who was not in very good terms with this classmate), the classmate (also a boy) would kill him (my son).... and he reported to the teacher who escalated it to the principle to a point where the parents were called.... And these are 7 year olds!
#13 Posted : Friday, April 08, 2011 10:21:06 AM

1. Dad is a fat man

3. Dad has an ass
[/quote]

whatever the the writers dad did to himd'oh!
#14 Posted : Friday, April 08, 2011 10:23:44 AM

[quote=MaichBlack][quote=mdudu]

A friend of mine was complaining the other day. Her kid is in class one and is required to go for holiday tuition! At an extra cost of course.

I was also wondering about the same thing- i never went for tuition and i turned out pretty fine. never did baby class A,B and C.............i see kids as young as 4 yrs waking up at 6 too pick up the school bus at 6.30am.......what is going on?!!! then they turn up in class and they are learning about my dad has an ass smile
#15 Posted : Friday, April 08, 2011 10:41:41 AM

@Brav,

Congratulations for taking time to check out what your kids are learning.I try to do that every day and you would be shocked at what they are being taught even by their colleagues.

Yesterday, I almost fell off my seat when my son was telling me how they went to a neighbours house to play something on a device called PSP ( what is this thing anyway). Apparently the game turned out to be quite pronographic going by what he was telling me. I am still unable to understand how a children's game can be as gross as he was telling me. He tells me that the kids father was the one who had bought the game. So I think I better get him his own PSP or Playstation ot whatever else they are watching and I can control the games they play. I have lost all respect for that mzee.

Now, to the guys who are just off the bench, which is the better games to buy, PSP, Playstation and what else do I buy? In my days, we had the video games fron 'Nintendo' ....... who was that I heard laughing...
Wa_ithaka
#16 Posted : Friday, April 08, 2011 10:54:01 AM

Holiday tution ni ya ku-raise extra income for teachers. And to occupy them.
Give your child a break.
The Governor of Nyeri - 2017
For Sport
#17 Posted : Friday, April 08, 2011 10:58:35 AM

@ Wendz, looks like bullying is starting earlier in school. Have also had to intervene twice – though nothing as drastic as “I will kill you”. You can imagine what a s 7 year old bully grows into if no one steps in to correct it at that stage.

@ bwenyenye
Umesahau wapi favourites zangu pacman na prince??
#18 Posted : Friday, April 08, 2011 11:07:25 AM

bwenyenye wrote:
Yesterday, I almost fell off my seat when my son was telling me how they went to a neighbours house to play something on a device called PSP ( what is this thing anyway). Apparently the game turned out to be quite pronographic going by what he was telling me. I am still unable to understand how a children's game can be as gross as he was telling me. He tells me that the kids father was the one who had bought the game. So I think I better get him his own PSP or Playstation ot whatever else they are watching and I can control the games they play. I have lost all respect for that mzee.

Don't be too hard on the mzee. I doubt he is a pervert. His only mistake is not paying attention to detail. In this case he might have had to read about the game online or somewhere, play the game or have the kid play the game to see exactly what is going on. But most of us don't have that kind of time.

I bought my nephew a Play Station and one of the games I got for him was Grand Theft Auto thinking it is a normal racing game [thanks to the dealer]. I was later to learn that there is more that goes on in that game than racing. See more here: Grand Theft Auto, here: Grand Theft Auto III and here: Grand Theft Auto - Vice City [Trust me, you really don't want your kid playing this one!]

The other day I was buying movies somewhere. A fellow walks in with his son - trying to be a nice dad - and tells the kid [probably in class 3/4] to choose the movies he wants - being nice/democratic I guess. The only problem is that the dad was not bothering to scrutinize the movies the kid was selecting. The kid started selecting some movies that left me asking, should a kid be watching that?
#19 Posted : Friday, April 08, 2011 11:24:44 AM

@Maichblack,

This is the game my kid mentioned they were playing. I comfounded when I read what is on the net on the 'sex minigame'....

Sasa PSP ndio nini?

So you think Play Station is better. Is that the one that plays with the TV? So which are the good games? and where can I get this stuff?
Ondiek
#20 Posted : Friday, April 08, 2011 1:24:31 PM

What ever became of games such as Donkey Kong, Western Bar, Rounders etc?