wazua Sun, Jul 27, 2025

bbk split??
Govmusili
#1 Posted : Tuesday, April 05, 2011 10:01:40 AM

Hey guyz, when exactly is bbk splitting, im very interestd for the very short term. I want to buy at 59, do u guyz think i shuld buy b4 or after the split???
Magnetic Touch
#2 Posted : Tuesday, April 05, 2011 10:11:38 AM

@Govmusili, Books closure 30-May-2011. Shares Split available for trading on 13-Jun-2011.

The decision to buy should be yours and yours alone.

Stop trying to carry out an opinion poll, so that you can blame someone else if you do not achieve your goal.
#3 Posted : Tuesday, April 05, 2011 10:44:37 AM

Please indulge me for a minute and correct me if I'm wrong. BBK wants a 4:1 yaani to split each share by 4, meaning they'll have over 5.4b shares second to scom in number of issued shares right?

Now, why would they want to do this? Is it to create some for staff?

Iborian
#4 Posted : Tuesday, April 05, 2011 10:50:08 AM

Nada, they just want to have more shares than any other bank on the NSE. They pride themselves in having the biggest y'know what! Biggest in profits etc. They are mad that KCB is the biggest in assets while Equity has the most customers. So they wanted to be the biggest in something. Is that good enough for you?

Please indulge me for a minute and correct me if I'm wrong. BBK wants a 4:1 yaani to split each share by 4, meaning they'll have over 5.4b shares second to scom in number of issued shares right?

Now, why would they want to do this? Is it to create some for staff?

Govmusili
#5 Posted : Tuesday, April 05, 2011 12:00:24 PM

Magnetic Touch wrote:
@Govmusili, Books closure 30-May-2011. Shares Split available for trading on 13-Jun-2011.

The decision to buy should be yours and yours alone.

Stop trying to carry out an opinion poll, so that you can blame someone else if you do not achieve your goal.

nugu, how can i blame some1 yet no1 put agun to my head. Im simply tryin 2 c if pple are seeing things the way iam or if there r other schools of thought. You my frend have helped me with neither!!!NKT
Govmusili
#6 Posted : Tuesday, April 05, 2011 12:09:01 PM

im going to buy anyway. Im liking banks right now coop n eb especially
#7 Posted : Tuesday, April 05, 2011 12:10:31 PM

Govmusili wrote:

nugu

Suppose you express yourself bila kutumia matusi?
Magnetic Touch
#8 Posted : Tuesday, April 05, 2011 12:12:00 PM

Govmusili wrote:
nugu, how can i blame some1 yet no1 put agun to my head. Im simply tryin 2 c if pple are seeing things the way iam or if there r other schools of thought. You my frend have helped me with neither!!!NKT

OK, BBK's profits will grow when compared to last year's first quarter. The split is a bit far off , so if you are looking to make money in the very short term, it may not be that easy.

ATM, Barclays is more of a defensive stock. I would buy it closer to the split.

So now what are you ae going to call me if the price goes up after I said you should not buy it to speculate? A bigger nugu?Shame on you
Govmusili
#9 Posted : Tuesday, April 05, 2011 1:53:01 PM

"Stop trying to carry out an opinion poll, so that you can blame someone else if you do not achieve your goal."

This is the part i called u nugu for, If i dont buy based on ur advise and the price rises ill not call u a bigger nugu coz like i said u didnt put a gun to my head.
And if i do chose not to buy it wont be solely coz of ur recomedation, what kind of investor wuld i be if I start makeing decisions based solely on the thoughts of some1 i dont kno.

Lakini sincerely thankx 4 ur thoughts, but u must also admit ur 2nd post was more helpful than the 1st ama??
Muthawamunene
#10 Posted : Tuesday, April 05, 2011 2:33:14 PM

Govmusili wrote:
Hey guyz, when exactly is bbk splitting, im very interestd for the very short term. I want to buy at 59, do u guyz think i shuld buy b4 or after the split???

Suppose there was no wazua? what would you have done? go to loliondo?

call me nugu and prove that the opinion am starting to formulate in my head is correct!!
jkmaich
#11 Posted : Tuesday, April 05, 2011 2:54:36 PM

I thought this is what went down Barclays Bank announced a Share Split in the ratio 4 for every 1 held on 22-Feb-2011. Books closure 30-Mar-2011. Shares Split available for trading on 13-Jun-2011.
lovely2010
#12 Posted : Tuesday, April 05, 2011 3:03:14 PM

jkmaich wrote:
I thought this is what went down Barclays Bank announced a Share Split in the ratio 4 for every 1 held on 22-Feb-2011. Books closure 30-Mar-2011. Shares Split available for trading on 13-Jun-2011.

They changed dates...

@Gov...Personally, I wouldnt want to buy bbk @ 59, I would rather buy after split...just my opnion...
#13 Posted : Tuesday, April 05, 2011 3:23:20 PM

lovely2010 wrote:
Personally, I wouldnt want to buy bbk @ 59, I would rather buy after split...just my opnion...

Hata mimi.

Gadaffi
#14 Posted : Tuesday, April 05, 2011 6:09:18 PM

lovely2010 wrote:
Personally, I wouldnt want to buy bbk @ 59, I would rather buy after split...just my opnion...

Hata mimi.

i disagree, at 59 wld be a good deal. am lookin at it this way; bbk will be more affordable 2 'wanjiku'at a price of around 14 bob n its stability n prestige may drive wanjiku to hv a piece of it...jus my view
#15 Posted : Tuesday, April 05, 2011 7:33:04 PM

Gadaffi wrote:
lovely2010 wrote:

Hata mimi.

i disagree, at 59 wld be a good deal. am lookin at it this way; bbk will be more affordable 2 'wanjiku'at a price of around 14 bob n its stability n prestige may drive wanjiku to hv a piece of it...jus my view

When Equity split at 130, it stayed at 13 for quite a while. But from there we all know where it went..
miser
#16 Posted : Wednesday, April 06, 2011 10:43:22 AM

The closure date came and went and nothing changed,meaning?So what are we buying and selling now?Pre-splits,post-splits,splits or none of those?Arrgh....someone educate me!This bookclosure date meant what?Thought by now the share would have gone ex-split at the price of around fifteen bob.
And what would happen if at the AGM the shareholders say no to the split?
#17 Posted : Wednesday, April 06, 2011 11:12:19 AM

youcan'tstopusnow wrote:
Gadaffi wrote:
lovely2010 wrote:

Hata mimi.

When Equity split at 130, it stayed at 13 for quite a while. But from there we all know where it went..

Equity doesn't have 5.4b shares.

Gadaffi
#18 Posted : Wednesday, April 06, 2011 6:05:57 PM

just love the new bbk robocop-ndombolo advert, reminds me of the gud old days...
Aguytrying
#19 Posted : Wednesday, April 06, 2011 7:47:22 PM

More shares basically increase liquidity, meaning more buying and selling, this doesn't necessarily mean the price will go up. i think it has/had a better chance of going up pre-split. too many sellers is a problem
The investor's chief problem - and even his worst enemy - is likely to be himself
miser
#20 Posted : Wednesday, April 13, 2011 11:20:36 AM

The closure date came and went and nothing changed,meaning?So what are we buying and selling now?Pre-splits,post-splits,splits or none of those?(Q asked on 6th April 2011)Arrgh....wacheni kuniassume,this query is still not yet answered!!!Na kama limewakanganya wanawazua,pasi hapa giza ni totoro....Kiswahili kitukuzwe wanahisa!!!