Investor
Stocks
bbk split??
Rank: New-farer Joined: 1/13/2010 Posts: 85 Location: Nairobi
Hey guyz, when exactly is bbk splitting, im very interestd for the very short term. I want to buy at 59, do u guyz think i shuld buy b4 or after the split???
@Govmusili, Books closure 30-May-2011. Shares Split available for trading on 13-Jun-2011.
The decision to buy should be yours and yours alone.
Stop trying to carry out an opinion poll, so that you can blame someone else if you do not achieve your goal.
Rank: Elder Joined: 12/9/2009 Posts: 6,592 Location: Nairobi
Please indulge me for a minute and correct me if I'm wrong. BBK wants a 4:1 yaani to split each share by 4, meaning they'll have over 5.4b shares second to scom in number of issued shares right? Now, why would they want to do this? Is it to create some for staff? BBI will solve it :)
Nada, they just want to have more shares than any other bank on the NSE. They pride themselves in having the biggest y'know what! Biggest in profits etc. They are mad that KCB is the biggest in assets while Equity has the most customers. So they wanted to be the biggest in something. Is that good enough for you? 2012 wrote:Please indulge me for a minute and correct me if I'm wrong. BBK wants a 4:1 yaani to split each share by 4, meaning they'll have over 5.4b shares second to scom in number of issued shares right?
Now, why would they want to do this? Is it to create some for staff?
Magnetic Touch wrote:@Govmusili, Books closure 30-May-2011. Shares Split available for trading on 13-Jun-2011.
The decision to buy should be yours and yours alone.
Stop trying to carry out an opinion poll, so that you can blame someone else if you do not achieve your goal. nugu, how can i blame some1 yet no1 put agun to my head. Im simply tryin 2 c if pple are seeing things the way iam or if there r other schools of thought. You my frend have helped me with neither!!!NKT
im going to buy anyway. Im liking banks right now coop n eb especially
Suppose you express yourself bila kutumia matusi? Nothing great was ever achieved without enthusiasm.
Govmusili wrote:nugu, how can i blame some1 yet no1 put agun to my head. Im simply tryin 2 c if pple are seeing things the way iam or if there r other schools of thought. You my frend have helped me with neither!!!NKT OK, BBK's profits will grow when compared to last year's first quarter. The split is a bit far off , so if you are looking to make money in the very short term, it may not be that easy. ATM, Barclays is more of a defensive stock. I would buy it closer to the split. So now what are you ae going to call me if the price goes up after I said you should not buy it to speculate? A bigger nugu?
"Stop trying to carry out an opinion poll, so that you can blame someone else if you do not achieve your goal."
This is the part i called u nugu for, If i dont buy based on ur advise and the price rises ill not call u a bigger nugu coz like i said u didnt put a gun to my head. And if i do chose not to buy it wont be solely coz of ur recomedation, what kind of investor wuld i be if I start makeing decisions based solely on the thoughts of some1 i dont kno.
Lakini sincerely thankx 4 ur thoughts, but u must also admit ur 2nd post was more helpful than the 1st ama??
Rank: Member Joined: 1/3/2011 Posts: 264 Location: Nairobi
Govmusili wrote:Hey guyz, when exactly is bbk splitting, im very interestd for the very short term. I want to buy at 59, do u guyz think i shuld buy b4 or after the split??? Suppose there was no wazua? what would you have done? go to loliondo? call me nugu and prove that the opinion am starting to formulate in my head is correct!!
I thought this is what went down Barclays Bank announced a Share Split in the ratio 4 for every 1 held on 22-Feb-2011. Books closure 30-Mar-2011. Shares Split available for trading on 13-Jun-2011.
Rank: Member Joined: 10/25/2010 Posts: 519 Location: nairobi
jkmaich wrote:I thought this is what went down Barclays Bank announced a Share Split in the ratio 4 for every 1 held on 22-Feb-2011. Books closure 30-Mar-2011. Shares Split available for trading on 13-Jun-2011. They changed dates... @Gov...Personally, I wouldnt want to buy bbk @ 59, I would rather buy after split...just my opnion...
lovely2010 wrote:Personally, I wouldnt want to buy bbk @ 59, I would rather buy after split...just my opnion... Hata mimi. BBI will solve it :)
Rank: Member Joined: 2/13/2011 Posts: 284 Location: Nairobi
2012 wrote:lovely2010 wrote:Personally, I wouldnt want to buy bbk @ 59, I would rather buy after split...just my opnion... Hata mimi. i disagree, at 59 wld be a good deal. am lookin at it this way; bbk will be more affordable 2 'wanjiku'at a price of around 14 bob n its stability n prestige may drive wanjiku to hv a piece of it...jus my view
Rank: Chief Joined: 3/24/2010 Posts: 6,779 Location: Black Africa
Gadaffi wrote:2012 wrote:lovely2010 wrote:Personally, I wouldnt want to buy bbk @ 59, I would rather buy after split...just my opnion... Hata mimi. i disagree, at 59 wld be a good deal. am lookin at it this way; bbk will be more affordable 2 'wanjiku'at a price of around 14 bob n its stability n prestige may drive wanjiku to hv a piece of it...jus my view When Equity split at 130, it stayed at 13 for quite a while. But from there we all know where it went.. GOD BLESS YOUR LIFE
The closure date came and went and nothing changed,meaning?So what are we buying and selling now?Pre-splits,post-splits,splits or none of those?Arrgh....someone educate me!This bookclosure date meant what?Thought by now the share would have gone ex-split at the price of around fifteen bob. And what would happen if at the AGM the shareholders say no to the split?
youcan'tstopusnow wrote:Gadaffi wrote:2012 wrote:lovely2010 wrote:Personally, I wouldnt want to buy bbk @ 59, I would rather buy after split...just my opnion... Hata mimi. i disagree, at 59 wld be a good deal. am lookin at it this way; bbk will be more affordable 2 'wanjiku'at a price of around 14 bob n its stability n prestige may drive wanjiku to hv a piece of it...jus my view When Equity split at 130, it stayed at 13 for quite a while. But from there we all know where it went.. Equity doesn't have 5.4b shares. BBI will solve it :)
Rank: Member Joined: 2/13/2011 Posts: 284 Location: Nairobi
just love the new bbk robocop-ndombolo advert, reminds me of the gud old days...
More shares basically increase liquidity, meaning more buying and selling, this doesn't necessarily mean the price will go up. i think it has/had a better chance of going up pre-split. too many sellers is a problem The investor's chief problem - and even his worst enemy - is likely to be himself
The closure date came and went and nothing changed,meaning?So what are we buying and selling now?Pre-splits,post-splits,splits or none of those?(Q asked on 6th April 2011)Arrgh....wacheni kuniassume,this query is still not yet answered!!!Na kama limewakanganya wanawazua,pasi hapa giza ni totoro....Kiswahili kitukuzwe wanahisa!!!
Investor
Stocks
bbk split??