Investor
Stocks
TOP 3 GOOD BUYS...
Amateur investor..obviously... Need advice on top 3 good buys...n maybe even thoroughly reliable, user-friendly investment firms? Which to go for. “Every morning in Africa, a gazelle wakes up, it knows that it must outrun the fastest lion to survive or it will be killed. Every morning in Africa, a lion wakes up,it knows that it must outrun the fastest gazelle to survive or it will starve. It doesn't matter whether you are a gazelle or a lion, when the sun comes up, you had better be running!”
Top 3 good buys, based on what objectives? You need to start by properly defining what you want.
Buy equity bank,barclays bank and the one which is going to explode soon is CENTUM...
FUNKY wrote:Buy equity bank,barclays bank and the one which is going to explode soon is CENTUM... @FUNKY. Centum, KCB,KK. I'll think about BBK ex-split. The opposite of courage is not cowardice, it's conformity.
I have a time-line in mind of 9 months tops..though 3-4 would be ideal.. Returns don't have to b out of this world..anything modest will do.. So Obj 1 - To see a return in the next few months Obj 2- Modest returns..e.g 40 - 60%, if that can pass for modest. “Every morning in Africa, a gazelle wakes up, it knows that it must outrun the fastest lion to survive or it will be killed. Every morning in Africa, a lion wakes up,it knows that it must outrun the fastest gazelle to survive or it will starve. It doesn't matter whether you are a gazelle or a lion, when the sun comes up, you had better be running!”
Rank: Elder Joined: 9/23/2010 Posts: 2,221 Location: Sundowner,Amboseli
Kindly note the NSE is a Capital Market (Market for long term funds) so you need to have a long term view. Anything from 1 year upwards to me should be your time frame. With the current environment, where their is endless politicking and elections next year, you need to be long term.A return of 40-60% in 4-6 months under the current circumstances might prove difficult. You need to cultivate patience in this market as a virtue otherwise NSE is not your place! @SufficientlyP
Rank: New-farer Joined: 1/13/2010 Posts: 85 Location: Nairobi
EB-----Equity to offer Ksh 5bn loan to City Hall - Equity bank has broken into corporate debt market by striking a Ksh 5 billion loan deal with the City Hall. According to the Business Daily, the bank has also teamed up with six other lenders to offer a Ksh 13 billion loan to the Rift Valley Railways. Equity is said to contribute at least Ksh 1.5 billion. The entry in to the corporate debt market will provide an additional avenue for the bank to grow its loan book and subsequently boost its interest income.
BBK-exsplit
KQ---KQ to grow cargo revenues with acquisition of a freighter - Kenya Airways is set to acquire a cargo plane (freighter) by September this year. The Airline is looking to tap into the growing trade volumes between Africa, Asia and China to grow its revenues. The 737-300 freighter with a 19 tonnes capacity will be acquired on a lease agreement. The freighter will be deployed on its most heavy-demand routes in Africa and Asia. KQ carries Cargo and Passengers on the same plane which has limited growth in cargo business. Revenues from cargo dropped by 10% to Ksh 5.4 billion in the year to March 2010. Cargo transported by KQ last year dropped to 55,201 tonnes from 55,606 tonnes in the year to March 2009. The move will also reduce its reliance on passenger revenues which accounts for about 65% of its operating revenues. Our recommendation on the stock will soon be made public after completion of our analysis on the company.
Funky,Iborian n Jerry...DULY NOTED...!!!! i suppose most investment firms will do... “Every morning in Africa, a gazelle wakes up, it knows that it must outrun the fastest lion to survive or it will be killed. Every morning in Africa, a lion wakes up,it knows that it must outrun the fastest gazelle to survive or it will starve. It doesn't matter whether you are a gazelle or a lion, when the sun comes up, you had better be running!”
Philanga-thropic...timeline concern noted..and adjusted..I see your point. “Every morning in Africa, a gazelle wakes up, it knows that it must outrun the fastest lion to survive or it will be killed. Every morning in Africa, a lion wakes up,it knows that it must outrun the fastest gazelle to survive or it will starve. It doesn't matter whether you are a gazelle or a lion, when the sun comes up, you had better be running!”
Govmusili wrote:EB-----Equity to offer Ksh 5bn loan to City Hall - Equity bank has broken into corporate debt market by striking a Ksh 5 billion loan deal with the City Hall. According to the Business Daily, the bank has also teamed up with six other lenders to offer a Ksh 13 billion loan to the Rift Valley Railways. Equity is said to contribute at least Ksh 1.5 billion. The entry in to the corporate debt market will provide an additional avenue for the bank to grow its loan book and subsequently boost its interest income.
BBK-exsplit
KQ---KQ to grow cargo revenues with acquisition of a freighter - Kenya Airways is set to acquire a cargo plane (freighter) by September this year. The Airline is looking to tap into the growing trade volumes between Africa, Asia and China to grow its revenues. The 737-300 freighter with a 19 tonnes capacity will be acquired on a lease agreement. The freighter will be deployed on its most heavy-demand routes in Africa and Asia. KQ carries Cargo and Passengers on the same plane which has limited growth in cargo business. Revenues from cargo dropped by 10% to Ksh 5.4 billion in the year to March 2010. Cargo transported by KQ last year dropped to 55,201 tonnes from 55,606 tonnes in the year to March 2009. The move will also reduce its reliance on passenger revenues which accounts for about 65% of its operating revenues. Our recommendation on the stock will soon be made public after completion of our analysis on the company. So, why are you recommending KQ? Oh, I know - another cut and paste job. NKT! How much will purchase of 1 freighter add to their bottom line? They already have 31 planes, dude! Give some figures (EPS if possible) or some %. With analysis like this, our newbie is more likely to lose 20% rather than achieve his "modest" 40-60% return in 6 months!
"This is not a fish market, right?!" LOL-All the best.
Not too many people with the heart for business n and an eye on the bourse have a sense of humour..so kudos Cde Monomotapa.. “Every morning in Africa, a gazelle wakes up, it knows that it must outrun the fastest lion to survive or it will be killed. Every morning in Africa, a lion wakes up,it knows that it must outrun the fastest gazelle to survive or it will starve. It doesn't matter whether you are a gazelle or a lion, when the sun comes up, you had better be running!”
This newbie thinks Magnetic Touch raises a valid point..Bwana Musili, wat say u?? “Every morning in Africa, a gazelle wakes up, it knows that it must outrun the fastest lion to survive or it will be killed. Every morning in Africa, a lion wakes up,it knows that it must outrun the fastest gazelle to survive or it will starve. It doesn't matter whether you are a gazelle or a lion, when the sun comes up, you had better be running!”
For kicks, the biggest gainer for the day is AK! Where is this stock going! Dunia ni msongamano..
Rank: Member Joined: 6/21/2010 Posts: 514 Location: Nairobi
B.Timer wrote: For kicks, the biggest gainer for the day is AK! Where is this stock going!
There is something that they know that we don't! Demand for 5,699,200 shares at 8.65 with a supply of 185,600 shares at 8.60. SOmeone is taking over this thing right under our noses. 'They say money cannot buy me happiness but when i compare when i had none and now, i'm happier' Kevin O'leary
Rank: Member Joined: 1/3/2011 Posts: 264 Location: Nairobi
Son of a Chief wrote:Not too many people with the heart for business n and an eye on the bourse have a sense of humour..so kudos Cde Monomotapa.. Achana na cde, he'z been recycling that line for years. i am for the view that, although it is best to ask for guidance and emmulate the pros, have the initiative to learn, do your own research and modeling. Analyse your financial position formulate some goals. even the best of markej participants have a red scare(loss) that they took some time back. Otherwise, what would you have done if there was no wazua? ask mama mboga who got eveready at 16 bob? i would advise u read the april fools joke that was posted last week.
Rank: Chief Joined: 3/24/2010 Posts: 6,779 Location: Black Africa
40% in 6 months!? You need to adjust your mindset. Not that it is not possible. But you seem to be entering the NSE with thoughts that it is all about making easy money. Otherwise you would not term such gains modest. All the best GOD BLESS YOUR LIFE
Rank: Elder Joined: 9/25/2009 Posts: 4,534 Location: Windhoek/Nairobbery
Ya'll wrong the best advice to this guy is to open a fantasy market account let him practice there for 6 month then he will try the real market...the NSE will always be here bro...don't rush take time to learn.
@MWM, We' wacha I know u digg that Kimunya quote. The deal has a point & comrade YCSN as well. Choose 1.
Rank: Elder Joined: 1/21/2010 Posts: 6,675 Location: Nairobi
Son of a Chief wrote:Amateur investor..obviously... Need advice on top 3 good buys...n maybe even thoroughly reliable, user-friendly investment firms? Which to go for. Get into KPLC for value Get into centum, jubilee for growth Get into KK & KCB for both value and growth Mark 12:29 Deuteronomy 4:16
Investor
Stocks
TOP 3 GOOD BUYS...