wazua Thu, Feb 6, 2025

Kenya's National Anthem
#1 Posted : Monday, April 04, 2011 8:47:36 PM

Great content. Made in the 60's, the tune was well in line with zilizopendwa, popular tunes back in the day. In today's age of genge n dancehalls, the tune is just boring. Kids can chant away 'coupe de calle' n 'one mo nite' comfortably, but not one verse of our Kenyan Identity. Myself too, due to the low exposure. Maybe DJ Pinye/bunduki should be allowed to remix the Anthem to popularize it among the youth, n all watering holes made to play it esp to signify closing time hehe
vin
#2 Posted : Tuesday, April 05, 2011 11:18:28 AM

Great content. Made in the 60's, the tune was well in line with zilizopendwa, popular tunes back in the day. In today's age of genge n dancehalls, the tune is just boring. Kids can chant away 'coupe de calle' n 'one mo nite' comfortably, but not one verse of our Kenyan Identity. Myself too, due to the low exposure. Maybe DJ Pinye/bunduki should be allowed to remix the Anthem to popularize it among the youth, n all watering holes made to play it esp to signify closing time hehe

Side effects of prolonged glue sniffing.
Advice is like snow.The softer it lands the harder is sticks.
#3 Posted : Tuesday, April 05, 2011 11:23:29 AM

Reminds me of KBC do they still play the anthem when closing the studio or nowadays they dont close
#4 Posted : Tuesday, April 05, 2011 11:31:40 AM

@ vin, I think I have a point. Nowadays the exposure to the poetic piece is almost nil. Trust me nikikamata glue hautaamini.
vin
#5 Posted : Tuesday, April 05, 2011 11:39:25 AM

@ vin, I think I have a point. Nowadays the exposure to the poetic piece is almost nil. Trust me nikikamata glue hautaamini.

I get the point bro,i still think some things are better left in their original state.Enyewe kama you were writing this one ukiwa sober,glue effects zitakumaliza.
Advice is like snow.The softer it lands the harder is sticks.
#6 Posted : Tuesday, April 05, 2011 12:20:53 PM

Actually, not to change the real thing, but to have a remixed version that the youth can easily identify with and at least grasp the lyrics. Was shocked when my 3 year old niece recited the bongo hit "kidato kimoja" to the last word..............imagine 'najua mtu halazimishwi kupendaaaa....anapenda mwenyewe' from such a tiny soul!
gogeta
#7 Posted : Wednesday, April 06, 2011 8:11:39 AM

i agree. i think i would want it to sound more....21st century...Would it require some legal authority stuff to mix it?
Think the unthinkable but wear a dark suit
#8 Posted : Wednesday, April 06, 2011 11:51:13 AM

gogeta wrote:
i agree. i think i would want it to sound more....21st century...Would it require some legal authority stuff to mix it?

@thimioni and @gogeta...i almost thought this was it, especially starting at 0;25....

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ftEuuOq11js
#9 Posted : Wednesday, April 06, 2011 2:39:37 PM

@Simo,

Wewe endelea 'kuchoma' tu.

Utachikwo,ufinywo, ukonyorwo kishwa kabisa ni sirikari tukufu