wazua Fri, Mar 27, 2026

How to beat inflation
Stealth
#11 Posted : Saturday, April 02, 2011 1:33:26 PM

manziwamtaa wrote:

3. Tithing - this is a wonder worker, for me. I give 10% of my gross pay as tithe and this I believe makes the balance go much further than if I thought I was too poor to give.

It works, trust me.
Stealth
#12 Posted : Saturday, April 02, 2011 1:40:17 PM

Many time we overspend simply because we find it hard to let go of old habits (refusing to let go of brands we are used to) when there are many to choose from.

A trick I learnt when buying the likes of cocoa and carbury's chocoloate. The tinned one (100grams) goes for some amount say 120sh, yet a sachet of 50grams cost 45sh. I buy 2 sachets totalling to 90sh. I go home fill up the cocoa tin.

Similar method can be used when buying washing detergent etc. You'll be surprised at how much you pay for containers that you will definitely throw away once the contents are over.
#13 Posted : Saturday, April 02, 2011 2:33:03 PM

@Njunge, Laughing out loudly! Buy items at wholesale price. I save 5bob per piece on toilet soap by shopping from wholesalers.
XSK
#14 Posted : Sunday, April 03, 2011 1:13:22 PM

Time to be very keen when shopping.Just hit me.A year ago,i was buying a 10 litre cooking oil jar for 1090.It's now at 1833 and so have other items sky-rocketed.The lady almost got me shouting in the supermarket when she picked a ten pack white toilet rolls for 325 while there is a 250 pack just close by.....Kwani kuna toilet paper Kamau na ingine Njoroge?...Pick the green one at 170.My arse has no eyes damn!

@Njung'e

LOL

Let her have her way especially on tissue paper. The cheaper ones expose you to the risk of you finding your fingers in some odd places after your are done with your act in the post office! This is real. BTW when do find time to go shopping with Mama Mburu when you are allover the EA Region? siulikuwa bungoma jana?
You will know that you have arrived when money and time are not mutually exclusive "events" in you life!
Seles83
#15 Posted : Monday, April 04, 2011 10:16:06 AM

To beat inflation you much have a ROI of 20% on your investments or more than 10% Annual salary increment. Realistically speaking, change of lifestyles do have marginal savings.

The real question is who do we maintain the same lifestle and expense brackets as we continue to grow our income and revenue streams...

Showering with cold water, packing lunch, alot window shopping is a just a shallow way of approaching financial freedom...The Real Question should Be, How do i grow my income and optimise my expenses?? Everyday our governments devalues our monies, oil will keep rising, Taxes for(Ocampo 6) and etc.....
More monies, more problems...
#16 Posted : Monday, April 04, 2011 10:33:07 AM

Seles83 wrote:
To beat inflation you much have a ROI of 20% on your investments or more than 10% Annual salary increment. Realistically speaking, change of lifestyles do have marginal savings.

Not always, most people lifestyles go up with increments (bigger car, higher loans etc) plus which employer is going to give you that kind of increment every year? People need to change their lifestyles to have enough savings to cushion them from inflation and emergencies.

#17 Posted : Monday, April 04, 2011 4:00:46 PM

My take,

To me, cutting down on the cost of 'tissue' may not make much gains. But I believe the best place to buy daily things ni kwa 'Kiosk ya mtaa' Where you go and shout, ' Wewe Otieno, harakisha mkate and maziwa mbili sikuja hapa kukaa.. ( well between 28th and 5th of the month" Nothing else tempmts you to be bought. Huko ndani kuna giza mingi anyway.

The main cause of our financial mess (freedeom) is really in the stupid mistakes we do in December or April ( Easter). Too many guys spend too much and even take out loans to finance 'keeping up with the Joneses' You end up paying for money wasted in 'Mtwapa' for the next nine months then Barcclays comes up with ' Mkopo Wa Salo Reloaded' halafu wewe ndiye huyooooo.. top up and the cycle repeats itself.
manziwamtaa
#18 Posted : Monday, April 04, 2011 4:55:15 PM

You are so wrong on the 'kiosk ya mtaa' buying. First, the kiosk guy is usually unwilling to pass on the benefits- e.g bogof offers during the milk glut, secondly, he will offer you useless credit facilities while he's actually ripping you off for "convenience". Third, buy your groceries in the markets- for example, a cabbage at Muthurwa market is 25 bob, quarter cabbage at mama mboga's outside my house is 15 bob, meaning that she will make 60 bob out of this "convenient arrangement". Think about it
Bettertry
#19 Posted : Tuesday, April 05, 2011 12:07:57 AM

One of the ways l try to minimize my power bill from shooting thru the roof and beyond my budget is to make sure that ironing of clothes and boiling of H2O using the elec kettle only takes place when the fridge is off,ironing and boiling H2O doesn't happen at the same time, and last but not least ironing of clothes is done during daytime and not at night!!! It may take a little while for it to work coz of resistance from some family members... but trust me once it takes off you'll notice the difference in ur power bills.
We Will Either Find a Way or Create One - HANNIBAL
Querry
#20 Posted : Tuesday, April 05, 2011 8:05:05 AM

@Njunge, Laughing out loudly! Buy items at wholesale price. I save 5bob per piece on toilet soap by shopping from wholesalers.

@Lolest i agree with you; buying bulk from wholesalers saves alot and where are wholesalers located in Nairoi?